Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    im having problems with my LAN now.. it goes to limited connectivity about every ten minutes..

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Audiobyte View Post
    soooooooo if i reboot after installing 353.62 my laptop turns into a potato? so what if i just never reboot.....
    Wait what? No, of course not.... you will be fine.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ravenholme PC Specs
    Ravenholme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G20AJ-US009S
    MotherboardAsus H97
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4790
    Memory (part number)16GB - Kingston DDR3 1600MHz CL11 1.35v SODIMM - KVR16LS11/8
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 - Founders Edition (ASUS)
    MonitorBenQ BL3201PH (4K/UHD IPS LED)
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 500GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate SSHD 1TB
    CaseAsus G20AJ
    Power SupplyAsus 180W PSU AC Adapter + Dell Y90RR 330W PSU AC Adapter
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Headset Turtlebeach
    Headset/Speakers (The BenQ)
    OS Windows 10
    Accessory #1 ASUS (SBC-06D2X-U) Slim External 6x Blu-ray Combo Drive
    Accessory #2 Asus GPU Tweak II - OC: 2050 Mhz, 90°C max, 120% Power, vsync off
    Accessory #3 http://rog.asus.com/realbench/show_comment.php?id=8796
    Ravenholme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    169

    anyone craving potato chips? fries? potato soup? vodka? >_> no? guys I hope you can hook up an hdmi port and see if things boot up, by default windows 10 for some reason goes to a basic video card after updating (even with the new NVidia driver installed before update). I found it strange. but I reinstalled the drivers and it works.

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array mattfd69 PC Specs
    mattfd69 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus G20AJ
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-4460
    Memory (part number)8GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Well, I updated the BIOS, updated the graphics driver, and I can get the HDMI from the graphics card to work when I move the plug over from the motherboard graphics. The problem now is that using the graphics card HDMI, the desktop shows up but without icons or all the tray icons. I also can't open any windows. I'm also unable to boot to the graphics card graphics. It just gives me the black screen. I can only boot from the motherboard graphics and I've tried 15 different ways to pull up the BIOS but I can't figure that out either. Any suggestions so that I can boot this thing to the graphics card? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by mattfd69 View Post
    Well, I updated the BIOS, updated the graphics driver, and I can get the HDMI from the graphics card to work when I move the plug over from the motherboard graphics. The problem now is that using the graphics card HDMI, the desktop shows up but without icons or all the tray icons. I also can't open any windows. I'm also unable to boot to the graphics card graphics. It just gives me the black screen. I can only boot from the motherboard graphics and I've tried 15 different ways to pull up the BIOS but I can't figure that out either. Any suggestions so that I can boot this thing to the graphics card? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
    I'm guessing you've only got one monitor? Sounds like it actually thinks you've got two monitors and it's using the motherboard graphics as the primary display.

    Connect the monitor to your motherboard HDMI port, go into BIOS and set the graphics card as your primary video card.

    ETA: Then turn it off, plug the monitor into the graphics card and boot up.
    Last edited by icwhatudidthere; 08-02-2015 at 08:14 PM.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    You can solve this in a few way, let me explain what is happening just omake sure I am ont he right track

    1. When you boot you are plugged into the CPU graphics
    2. Windows also sees the graphics card and makes that a second screen
    3. Windows doesn't want to relinquish the primary desktop to the graphics cards..

    You can verify this by looking in the display settings....

    you can either use the display settings and turn off the HDMI port on the CPU (choose : Disconnect monitor) OR a better way (because it will turn of the GPU in the CPU and lower CPU temps as well as provide a bit of bandwidth space on the control plane (pointless really but ... ok)

    Wait wait ... I know some of you are going to say (but doesn't the CPU turn it off if the GPU is recognized)

    well no... you need to turn it off in the bios (you can thank that stupid eco **** that was using in this PC) as the bios is designed to run them both....

    There are a few other ways of dealing with that but .... yeah just turn it off in the bios.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array mattfd69 PC Specs
    mattfd69 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus G20AJ
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-4460
    Memory (part number)8GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Thank you so much for helping me with this. I really appreciate it. I'm going to look into it further when I get home this evening. One more thing...how do I access the BIOS while booting up? Startup happens so quickly the darn thing goes straight to the windows login screen. Thanks again!!!

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    38

    Start hitting the Delete key as soon as you power up.

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Thanks for all the help everyone! I still have an issue though, after installing Windows 10 I'm missing a SM Bus Controller driver. I can't seem to find it in the support page (I have a g20). Does anyone know where it is?

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GoHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    Quote Originally Posted by stormer83 View Post
    Thanks for all the help everyone! I still have an issue though, after installing Windows 10 I'm missing a SM Bus Controller driver. I can't seem to find it in the support page (I have a g20). Does anyone know where it is?
    Make sure that you have the very latest Intel Chipset driver installed.
    - Asus ROG G20AJ, Intel i5-4460 CPU, Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR3L, 2x Corsair 128GB SSD's (RAID 0), Nvidia Geforce GTX 670, 180W and 230W Power Supply Bricks, Acer GN246HL 24" Monitor, Windows 10 (x64)

    - Alienware Aurora R4, Intel i7-4820K, 20GB DDR3, 2 TB HD, Nvidia GeForce GTX 760, Windows 10 (x64)

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •