Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    G74SX: i7-2630QM v i7-2670QM

    Hey guys,
    Looking at getting a G74SX for Christmas and really can't wait, just had a few questions about it. I have the option of two different models which have either the i7-2630QM or i7-2670QM processor. Both have turbo boost but the 2670QM is .2 GHz faster. Will this make any noticeable difference in terms of gaming performance?
    Also, the 2630QM is the only one with Intel HD graphics on the processor itself, but will this matter as both have the GTX 560M graphics card?
    Thanks for your help guys, I just really want to have no regrets with this awesome piece of kit!

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array panth3ra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    24

    there will be no noticeable difference between them. also this lappy doesn't have Nvidia Optimus, so you can not
    switch between 560M and Intel HD graphics.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    20

    when using 3dmark you will get a better number on the 2670 but as said above the performance wise in games is not even visible!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Agreed, +200 MHz will not be visible in day-2-day ops or games, but only in benchies. Get the 2630, spend the difference on an immediate RAM upgrade, or towards an SSD which will have an incredible impact on performance.

  5. #5
    TeamROG Overclocking Member Array The Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    84

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    Agreed, +200 MHz will not be visible in day-2-day ops or games, but only in benchies. Get the 2630, spend the difference on an immediate RAM upgrade, or towards an SSD which will have an incredible impact on performance.
    +1, it's what I did.
    Praetor
    » i7 990X 3101A239
    » Asus Rampage III Black Edition
    » Asus GTX 470 & 570 Tri-SLI or Three Sapphire 5850's CFX
    » 6GB Corsair Dominator GT TR3X6G1866C7GTF
    » Corsiar Force Series 180GB
    » CORSAIR Professional Series AX1200 1200W
    » Microcool Banchetto 101
    Defiant
    » G74SX » 16GB ram » Corsiar Force Series 180GB » 750GB Seagate » Blu-ray


  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Im on the 2670. 16gb ram. installing ssd tml.

    .2 GHz doesnt really makes alot of diff.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by panth3ra View Post
    there will be no noticeable difference between them. also this lappy doesn't have Nvidia Optimus, so you can not
    switch between 560M and Intel HD graphics.
    What is Nividia Optimus?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Optimus is technology to auto-switch the graphics chip from the discrete GPU card to the integrated GPU on the CPU die. The idea is it is a power-saving feature since the on-board graphics chip is much lower wattage than a dedicated card is. Therefore the battery life is extended by switching to the onboard during times when heavy GPU processing power is not needed. The G74 + NVIDIA GTX560 combo was not built for optimus, and so even though the core i7 2630QM and 2670QM CPUs have onboard graphics capability, these will never be used in these notebooks.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation

    There is a major difference...the i7-2670qm can address up to 32MB of RAM, while the i7-2630qm can only address up to 16GB of RAM

    I HATE TO NECRO but felt it was an important but easily overlooked detail when people are comparing those chips. This will at least help someone else googling this issue.

    Yes, performance will be mostly negligible. However, if your editing huge vectors (or large datasets), 32GB of RAM will be your friend!
    Last edited by chriscosta77; 11-07-2012 at 11:15 PM. Reason: Spelling

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array zsld0423's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    168

    Quote Originally Posted by chriscosta77 View Post
    There is a major difference...the i7-2670qm can address up to 32MB of RAM, while the i7-2630qm can only address up to 16GB of RAM

    I HATE TO NECRO but felt it was an important but easily overlooked detail when people are comparing those chips. This will at least help someone else googling this issue.

    Yes, performance will be mostly negligible. However, if your editing huge vectors (or large datasets), 32GB of RAM will be your friend!
    Actually, ROG'er Fostert proved that you can put 32GB of RAM in the 2630qm :P So it is possible, but ASUS decided not to let that be known. But to my knowledge, your RAM speed will automatically go to 1333mhz, and won't go over that. The only way to go over that is to use 2 8GB sticks to get the 1600/1800mhz speeds, and I'm guessing Asus isn't going to provide any kind of BIOS update to help with that at all
    Sager NP9370
    256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 750GB 7200RPM Secondary HDD
    nVidia GeForce GTX 680M 4GB VRAM
    Intel Core i7-3630QM 2.40GHz
    16GB RAM
    Mouse: MadCatz R.A.T. 7
    Keyboard: Razer Lycosa Mirror
    Additional Monitors: 24" 1080p Insignia LED/LCD TV and 21" Acer LCD Monitor
    Windows 7 Ultimate

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •