Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    "Init VGA Data Fail. Please Restart GPU Tweak" ?

    Hello,
    I've installed GPU Tweak II ver1057.
    Every time I try to launch it I get this error in a window pop up: "Init VGA Data Fail. Please Restart GPU Tweak".

    I have tried the following:

    Installed early versions (GPU Tweak I). Every time I try to launch these older versions, nothing happens. I see the GPUTweak.exe service start under windows services, but it disappears after 3-5 seconds.

    Update nvidia drivers.

    Installed on different hard drives and different folders from the default.

    Tried in SLI and single card mode.

    Turned off AI Suite 3

    Ran application on different windows users.

    Turned CPU OC off.

    Are there any logs the application keeps for troubleshooting?
    Any ideas?
    Thanks

    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
    i7-5820k - OC'd
    Strix GTX980 OC (SLI)
    AI Suite 3 is installed
    GeForce driver ver 353.62

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hi same here!
    Board: Hero VII
    Card: GTX980TI

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I have same problem. My board is H97-Pro Gamer and card is strix r9380. Does anyone get a solution to fix it? Thx.
    Last edited by Brian Chen; 08-17-2015 at 01:45 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array ChikNoods PC Specs
    ChikNoods PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G74
    MotherboardMaximus HERO VII
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)HyperX 8GB
    Graphics Card #1STRIX 970
    MonitorVG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerH100i
    Case750D
    Power SupplyCorsair 760
    Keyboard Leopold FC900R LED
    Mouse Deathadder
    Headset Kraken Pro
    OS Windows 7x64

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    39

    I had this error a few days ago when explorer.exe crashed. rebooting fixed mine. im sure you tried that already

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array DeathtoGnomes PC Specs
    DeathtoGnomes PC Specs
    MotherboardSabertooth 990FX Rev2.0
    ProcessorAMD-9370 @4.4 not OC'd
    Memory (part number)2x8g G.skill
    Graphics Card #1R9280X-DC2T-3GD5
    Sound Cardon-board
    Monitor2x Dell 2440L
    Storage #160SP 240G SSD
    Storage #22TB + 1TB + 1TB platter drives
    CPU CoolerCM Nepton 280L
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo w/10 fans
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G700s
    Headset Cool something....
    Mouse Pad Vanguard:SOH image one
    Headset/Speakers Spks: AC43
    OS win10
    DeathtoGnomes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    84

    If you open the GpuT2 file location [.....Program Files (x86)/Asus/GPU TweakII ], look for "InitData_Card1.ini". Open/Edit it with your favorite text editor. The very first section Titled "[VGACardInfo]" contains your card, if this is different than what you actually have, then ya you will have issues.

    In the same folder is 3 other files with similar name ending Card1.ini to Card4.ini, i am thinking that if you installed your card in a different slot you might have one of these other files as the active settings file, I dont know for sure. (I find GpuT2 clumsily programmed to begin with, so it wouldnt surprise me to see this. )

    I dont recommend this but, I renamed the unused InitCard2 - 4.ini files. I did this while I was looking for useless files. I dont know why ASUS includes ATIWinflash and files, ASUS doesnt even use Liveupdate, AFAIK its only in there as a marketing feature. Personally, I would never use auto-update for anything besides Windows Update.

    Here is an example of mine:
    [VGACardInfo]
    DeviceID=0x679A
    SSID=0x47E
    ModelName=R9280-DC2 TOP
    NV_BIOSString=NULL
    AMD_OEMString=113-AD65700-100
    BIOSDate=02/18/14 04:29

    You can confirm some of these with a program like Speccy or other source you can get detailed System Information.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •