Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Exclamation Windows 10 Clean Install Inquiry

    Now that i have upgraded my ASUS ROG G750JM-DS71 to Windows 10 Home, i want to clean install it. But I'm hesitant because I'm not sure if the BIOS will remain. (Sorry for being a newbie here) I like seeing the ROG LOGO on the system load time. I dont want to not see it after clean installing windows. Please, I need help! Thanks

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    309
    Posts
    7,702

    Win10 does not overwrite the BIOS. What you see now is exactly the same as what you'll see when you clean install. Note that there is a factory reset function within Windows 10 that gives you virtually the same thing as a clean install. You might consider that first before going to the trouble of wiping and starting over.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,651

    To keep your RoG logo for when you boot up, just re-enable FastBoot and SecureBoot in the BIOS once you've finished upgrading. ;d
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    81

    I don't have any of them and I have a retail version of Windows ( not oem - cheaper that way here ) and a costum bios and I still get the logo.

    So most likely you don't have to worry about that.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Honami PC Specs
    Honami PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6900K @ 4.0 Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 3000Mhz (4X16)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
    Sound CardASUS Strix Raid Pro
    MonitorDELL U2715H
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GBX2 Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 760T
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum 860W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Specurum
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 700
    Headset Sennheiser HD8-DJ
    Mouse Pad Roccat Hiro+
    Headset/Speakers Microlab SOLO 9C
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    I wounder if i can use the asus 3rd party programs from windows 8.1 on 10 X64

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    would a clean install erase all of the necessary pre installed drivers and software and whatnot? Or would it re-install/ keep things that came installed by Asus?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Maxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    598

    I went with the update. Do not hibernate or sleep and you'll be fine. Otherwise, you'll have TDR issues with the graphics card (been there and it sucks).
    If you can live without those 2 things, Win 10 is awesome! I love the multiple desktops and speed

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Maxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    598

    Quote Originally Posted by Honami View Post
    I wounder if i can use the asus 3rd party programs from windows 8.1 on 10 X64
    yes

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Maxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    598

    Quote Originally Posted by MelvinZ View Post
    would a clean install erase all of the necessary pre installed drivers and software and whatnot? Or would it re-install/ keep things that came installed by Asus?
    clean install is clean. No ASUS software. You can download the win 8.1 64-bit for that. They work fine.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    81

    I want to do a clean install as well, but my concern is this one:

    How does Windows 10 perform? What are the known problems that it causes, how can they be fixed (if possible) and do games work better than in W8.1?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •