Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    windows 10 - msconfig stuck on 'Selective Startup'

    After i installed windows 10 successfully,
    i noticed that now msconfig is always set to 'Selective Startup'.
    i cant change it back. and all the services and all the startup items are enabled.
    is having 'selective startup' always selected now the new norm?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    177

    Try changing from Selective to Normal while in Safe Mode.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    yeah i read that somewhere, i tried that already, doesnt work.
    i can boot into safe mode, change msconfig, but when restart,
    msconfig is back to selective startup.


    i uninstalled some apps that came with windows 10,
    maybe thats the problem?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    ..three years later, countless windows updates, and it still wont go back to Normal Startup.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    779

    I think that the second you change any startup item to be disabled OR change powercfg config OR change any service from auto to manual/disable - "selective startup" shows up.
    if everything else is working ( i.e services, startup items etc ) why do you care how fraking MS is calling the stuff ?

    Although i'm a "flashholic" / "formatholic" person - I learned that sometimes if a system is stable & working without bugs - there's NO NEED TO CHANGE its settings nor to update it.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    startup was set to 'normal' until i updated to windows 10 or updated windows 10 - i forget its been a long time.. but i couldnt update my rig until i disabled some services.. anyways, after the update, i have been unable to set it back to 'normal' startup though all services and all startup items are enabled... and still even now all major windows 10 updates i have to download the .iso or else update fails.
    Last edited by GoAsusGo!; 09-22-2018 at 08:26 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    366

    Quote Originally Posted by GoAsusGo! View Post
    ..three years later, countless windows updates, and it still wont go back to Normal Startup.
    Found something that might help.
    GregH

    06 Sep 2015
    #19

    Update: Although my motherboard (ROG Maximus Hero VI) vendor site (Asus) has updated Win 10 drivers, one that they do not have listed for my Board under Win 10 is ASMedia. Under Win 7 I had installed such a driver. So I went and downloaded one from Asus for a later version of my motherboard (Hero VIII) from the Asus website. It installed fine and the Device Manager now correctly identifies the ASMedia controller, not just a generic SATA controller with a MS driver.

    After this, MSCONFIG is showing NORMAL STARTUP again. I can only assume that this is not coincidence and that this driver addressed that issue. Happy camper!

    Source: https://www.tenforums.com/software-a...-start-up.html

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    .thank you for your reply.

    I do not think my laptop has anything from ASmedia. I do not know what that is, tbh.
    In device manager, everything looks good. there seems to be nothing missing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •