cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for Help! AMD 9590 Black on Crosshair Formula-V

CWCordell
Level 7
I'm new to building a gaming PC. I've built two PCs before but neither were gaming and it's been fifteen years. I'm desperate to figure out why my PC locks up (freezes). I can usually boot and launch programs normally for a period of time. Eventually though it freezes. It seems to freeze faster when playing Civilization V, about 20 minutes in from the initial boot of the day. I can reset and it comes back fine for a period of time. If I launch Civ V again it will freeze about 15 minutes into the game and will continue the cycle of resetting and freezing 15 minutes in on each play. If I'm doing other things, such as watching youtube or just leave the PC idle, then it will take longer but will eventually freeze. I've also had it freeze while in the BIOS a few times and once on the splash screen after changing RAM settings in the BIOS.

There is one BIOS update but it is a USB update, so I wouldn't think that is the problem. I've tried switching video cards, tested the RAM, unplugged peripherals, and tweaked RAM setting in BIOS. I even took the PC to a shop to get hardware tests done ($70) and found nothing. I have not tried another processor, power supply, or motherboard but PC shop said these were okay. I've monitored the temperatures and all look well below capacity.

I've been digging around on the web and have found folks with a similar issue on new gaming rigs. Now I'm thinking and hoping that this is a common issue with the 9590 processor and someone has found a solution. Please keep in mind that I'm a novice at dealing with a gaming PC. At this point I'm not concerned with overclocking and just want a stable PC so that I may play a game without anticipation of the PC freezing.

Here is a list of my components:
AMD FX 9590 Black
Cooler Master Nepton CPU Water Cooler
ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z
Gigabyte Windforce 290X 4GB