Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    G73JH-A1 WIndows 10 Clean install - A Media driver your computer needs is missing

    Hello there.

    I've run into an odd problem when trying to clean install Windows 10 64-Bit on my G73JH-A1 using a USB Flash Drive and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

    I can boot the G73JH-A1 from my USB Flash Drive that was created by the Media Creation tool located at: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10

    When setup starts I can get past where you select your language and keyboard type but then I run into an error that says: A media driver your computer needs is missing. This could be a DVD, USB or Hard Disk driver. If you have a CD, DVD or USB flash drive with the driver on it Please insert it now. Note: if the installation media is in the windows DVD drive or on a USB drive, you can safely remove it from this step.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Driver Missing.jpg 
Views:	304 
Size:	23.7 KB 
ID:	50897

    Any idea how to get around this?

    I was reading some other posts about this issue that other people are having on other computers and one solution was to use the 32-Bit version instead but I want to use the 64-Bit version.

    Just for some background info, I was running Windows 8.1 on my G73JH-A1 and upgraded to Windows 10. It upgraded just fine and activated. I am not having any problems per say however I would feel a whole lot better running a clean install over and above an upgrade.

    When I clean installed Windows 8.1 on my G73JH-A1 using my USB Flash Drive, I never ran into any issues.

    Any help for this issue clean installing Windows 10 using my USB Flash Drive would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Edit.....

    So I recreated my USB Flash Drive to include both 32-Bit and 64-Bit and sure enough the 32-Bit selection works and does not report any missing drivers however the 64-Bit one behaves the same reporting missing drivers. What driver is missing in the 64-Bit that is present in the 32-Bit? Any ideas?
    Last edited by The Cool Dude; 08-07-2015 at 01:41 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array C4RN1 PC Specs
    C4RN1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G51VX, G71G, G73, G74SX, G53SX, G53JW, G46VW, X501A, X401A
    MotherboardASUS M5A88-V EVO
    ProcessorAMD FX-4350 Vishera Quad 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB 4x4gb Mushkin Black Line
    Graphics Card #1HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #2HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #3HD Radeon 5970
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA450 x2 (Provided by HP)
    Storage #1Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital 1.5 TB HDD
    CaseAntec 900
    Power SupplyKingwin Lazer 1000W
    Keyboard HP OEM
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 7, Windows 8.1
    Network RouterLinksys E-1000 (DDWRT)
    C4RN1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    262

    That's the problem when you try to load windows from a usb3.0 flash drive without the driver. You can just disable 3.0 in the bios or use the standard 2.0 port.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Hi. Thanks for your response but my G73JH-A1 does not support USB 3.0 and the USB Flash Drive I am using is USB 2.0.
    Last edited by The Cool Dude; 08-07-2015 at 01:42 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array C4RN1 PC Specs
    C4RN1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G51VX, G71G, G73, G74SX, G53SX, G53JW, G46VW, X501A, X401A
    MotherboardASUS M5A88-V EVO
    ProcessorAMD FX-4350 Vishera Quad 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB 4x4gb Mushkin Black Line
    Graphics Card #1HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #2HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #3HD Radeon 5970
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA450 x2 (Provided by HP)
    Storage #1Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital 1.5 TB HDD
    CaseAntec 900
    Power SupplyKingwin Lazer 1000W
    Keyboard HP OEM
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 7, Windows 8.1
    Network RouterLinksys E-1000 (DDWRT)
    C4RN1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    262

    If you don't have USB 3.0 then the only other issue would be communication with the storage device. I assume you're using a sata drive since it's a older model. The sata/raid drivers should be controlled by the Intel Matrix Storage Manager.

    Here's a couple links for you to check out.

    Driver from asus
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/nb/...64_8921002.zip

    Driver from Intel
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/dow...torage-Manager

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Sadly neither of those drivers worked. When I point Windows 10 Setup to the folders that I extracted the drivers to, I get a message saying driver not found.

    I'm just not sure what it needs exactly.

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Hello there.

    Just wanted to post back that I found a solution to this issue.

    When installing with a USB Flash drive, when it asks for driver, click Cancel. Then insert the USB drive to a different USB port. Then click Install Now to install and then it worked!

    Strange solution for a strange issue!

    After the Windows 10 clean install was complete, Windows 10 activated successfully on it's own without me having to enter in a license key.

    My G73JH-A1 is using the default Windows 10 drivers that Windows 10 installed on it's own except for the ATK package for the Hot Keys. Here is the link that works as of 08/12/15

    http://www.asus.com/supportonly/ATK_...Desk_Download/

    I can't control the screen brightness however everything else works perfectly so far.

    Hope this helps other G73JH-A1 users.

    Thanks again.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    113

    The screen brightness on my G74SX-3DE works fine, did you enable OSD in ATK?

    From the FAQ:
    http://www.asus.com/event/2015/osupg...html#ap-driver

    AP/Driver Name Issue Description How to fix?
    ATK Package After upgrade to Windows 10 from Windows 7, OSD cannot display. Need to update ATK Package to v1.0.0038 or above via ASUS Support Site, and enable OSD through "Start-->All apps-->ASUS-->ASUS On-Screen Display".

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Hi there.

    Yes I did enable the OSD in ATK. When I try to change the brightness, I see the OSD come up with the bar to show the brightness level however the brightness doesn't actually change.

    A user in this thread found a solution to this issue for Windows 8 however I have not tried it on Windows 10.
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...tall-w-Drivers

    I'd like to run as is for a little while longer to make sure I have absolutely no issues with Windows 10 before I go messing with the registry. As it stands, I'm at 6 days without an issue. I've even tried some light gaming. I installed the original Far Cry and it seems to work best at Medium settings. I tried it at High and Very high however there were several areas where it got really choppy.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Hello again.

    Well, I was 18 days into my test with Windows 10 on my G73JH-A1 and then out of the blue, it started freezing..... Bad.... I could get to the desktop and then it would freeze without me doing anything. When I say it would freeze, it was a hard freeze, can't move the mouse pointer, or anything. Only powering off and on again would get it going again. This happened to me on Windows 8.1 occasionally as well. The only solution I had at the time was to reinstall. I thought perhaps my laptop was dying so I went back to Windows 7 and it never froze once. So then I started thinking it was a Windows 8.1 issue and that Windows 10 would resolve the freezing. I was wrong..... because Windows 10 freezes too.

    Fortunately I have discovered a new solution. I solved my freezing issues in Windows 10 by uninstalling the ATI Catalyst Control Center only. Leave the ATI display drivers alone. You need them. Only uninstall the ATI Catalyst Control Center. It's nice to have but not 100% necessary. I got this tip from a friend who had some issues with HP computers running ATI graphics cards and freezing.

    Anyway, I tried it (uninstalling the ATI Catalyst Control Center) and I was lucky enough to be able to uninstall this without the machine freezing and then I rebooted. Now everything is running fine again. So now I'm at 9 days without any issues..... Let's keep our fingers crossed!
    Last edited by The Cool Dude; 09-15-2015 at 03:09 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by The Cool Dude View Post
    Hello again.

    Well, I was 18 days into my test with Windows 10 on my G73JH-A1 and then out of the blue, it started freezing..... Bad.... I could get to the desktop and then it would freeze without me doing anything. When I say it would freeze, it was a hard freeze, can't move the mouse pointer, or anything. Only powering off and on again would get it going again. This happened to me on Windows 8.1 occasionally as well. The only solution I had at the time was to reinstall. I thought perhaps my laptop was dying so I went back to Windows 7 and it never froze once. So then I started thinking it was a Windows 8.1 issue and that Windows 10 would resolve the freezing. I was wrong..... because Windows 10 freezes too.

    Fortunately I have discovered a new solution. I solved my freezing issues in Windows 10 by uninstalling the ATI Catalyst Control Center only. Leave the ATI display drivers alone. You need them. Only uninstall the ATI Catalyst Control Center. It's nice to have but not 100% necessary. I got this tip from a friend who had some issues with HP computers running ATI graphics cards and freezing.

    Anyway, I tried it (uninstalling the ATI Catalyst Control Center) and I was lucky enough to be able to uninstall this without the machine freezing and then I rebooted. Now everything is running fine again. So now I'm at 9 days without any issues..... Let's keep our fingers crossed!
    I am wondering since I have installed windows 10 tree times ... is it still working?
    Realy appretiate your work!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •