Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    71

    G750JW won't start after a reset

    Hello, my Asus G750JW won't startup after I tried to reset windows 10 on it. It keeps sending me to a Blue Screen of Death that says I have an inacessable boot device. I don't know what caused this since I was just trying to reset windows. I have an SSD as my usual boot drive
    and I'm able to get into the BIOS but despite changing to from ACHI to IDE (and reverse) it will not load to Windows. The drives are detected in the BIOS however. I also have a Asus Backtracker restore on a flash drive but it said error when I loaded it.

    What can I do to boot my PC? Please help.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    71

    Bump. Can anyone help? I'm currently trying to restore it via Recovery Drive

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    177

    With the thumb drive containing the factory image inserted, you're pressing the Esc key during POST, then selecting the UEFI: thumb drive as the boot device? A different approach is to see if you can access the recovery partition by pressing F9 during POST. When at the Options menu, select Troubleshoot--> Reset your PC--> Only the drive where Windows is installed--> Just remove my files. Either method will wipe your drives.
    Last edited by redduc900; 08-07-2015 at 04:29 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    71

    Quote Originally Posted by redduc900 View Post
    With the thumb drive containing the factory image inserted, you're pressing the Esc key during POST, then selecting the UEFI: thumb drive as the boot device? A different approach is to see if you can access the recovery partition by pressing F9 during POST. When at the Options menu, select Troubleshoot--> Reset your PC--> Only the drive where Windows is installed--> Just remove my files. Either method will wipe your drives.
    I already tried that, I think it wiped my drive but didn't restore windows. I no longer get a bluescreen, just a boot loop.
    When I load from the factory image, I get this.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WIN_20150807_13_00_34_Pro.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	82.2 KB 
ID:	50924

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    71

    Now it just goes into a boot loop.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    71

    Tried everything. Probably going to RMA.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Maxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    598

    get UBCD (ultimate boot cd), start up via UBCD, use the software inside to wipe the hard drive. Restart with the stick inside and it should go correctly. As a side note, I have the JW and had to revert to Win 8 (then upgrade to 8.1). Windows 10 and the nvidia drivers don't match in our computer yet. I had non-stop kernel mode crash. It's unfortunate... maybe in a couple of months they'll figure it out. It seems Windows 10 doesn't know how to provide the right amount of energy to the GPU. This issue always happened when switching from battery mode to plug into outlet mode.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Maxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    598

    btw, you should be on ACHI (maybe set everything on the BIOS to default). You also have the latest BIOS installed, right? v208

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    71

    Quote Originally Posted by Maxter View Post
    get UBCD (ultimate boot cd), start up via UBCD, use the software inside to wipe the hard drive. Restart with the stick inside and it should go correctly. As a side note, I have the JW and had to revert to Win 8 (then upgrade to 8.1). Windows 10 and the nvidia drivers don't match in our computer yet. I had non-stop kernel mode crash. It's unfortunate... maybe in a couple of months they'll figure it out. It seems Windows 10 doesn't know how to provide the right amount of energy to the GPU. This issue always happened when switching from battery mode to plug into outlet mode.
    So I talked to them about an RMA and the guy said it would cost $640 to repair which is ridiculous. I picked up and iso from microsoft and installed it on my HDD. How can I transfer that copy over to the SSD without using backtracker? It says it doesn't support my system anymore.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Maxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    598

    wait... so it works with your HDD and not the SSD?! are you sure AHCI is enabled? it could be a faulty SSD if this is true.
    I wouldn't clone from HDD to SSD (the SSD should've come with software for that - alternatively, you could use macrium reflect to create and image of the HHD).
    Cloning causes so many problems (have yet to hear from someone that it works flawlessly). I would always go backtracker for clean install.
    Also, you can install into SSD the same way you did for HDD (just switch them)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •