Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Question Screen of G751JY is not working properly.

    I got my G751JY recently and it has been working fine. However, whenever I start the computer after having shut it down, the screen stays black but I can see the blacklights go on. Nothing happens with the screen and it just changes brightness. I can still log in to my desktop but I can't see anything. After a couple restarts the screen works perfectly fine again. Is this a software problem or is the screen glitchy? Because it works perfectly after a restart or 2.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Every G751JY has this problem as far as I know (Mine does). Rediculous if you ask me.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Yeah, pay like 2K for this machine. It's good, just really annoying to start up. Even just putting it on hibernate doesn't give this problem. Weird. Tedious for booting up ><

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    533

    Quote Originally Posted by Kimmix View Post
    Every G751JY has this problem as far as I know (Mine does). Rediculous if you ask me.
    For what it is worth I've never experienced this problem and I only do full shutdowns. I've disabled my ability to hibernate to reclaim the 24GB of HDD space.

    Sorry no further help on a solution, perhaps killing off hibernation is the change that make the difference? Would be a stretch but I'm not doing many things different from a default config.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Where would I be able to kill of said hibernation (using windows 10 and was previously on windows 7, on my old computer). It's worth a shot!

    I can hear the hard drive going beep beep (at least I'm assuming its that) when I boot it up.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    533

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2...dows-10-a.html

    Here is a link I just skimmed it, it looks like a good guide.

    To note after it is disabled you can clean up hyberfil.sys which is about the size of your RAM taking up a good chuck of drive space. Also fast startup will be disabled.

    Reading the descriptions of the issue again, this actually makes a lot of sense if fast startup is part of the cause here as if you don't have a screen, you are likely not shutting down cleanly and you wouldn't be using the fast startup on the next boot.
    Last edited by joshindaphils; 08-11-2015 at 09:03 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •