Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Windows 10 start menu pops up on it's own

    As per title,

    I installed windows 10 as soon as I got the laptop but the start menu has a mind of it's own, it has even windowed me out of a full screen game.

    Anyone else have a problem?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,151

    Well no that you have upgraded you can clean install most likely will solve the issue. I f this is the only issue You also might want to install Classic Shell much better start menu and free.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    oh I just posted a thread about this, although I'm running on Windows 8.1 - I have the same issue

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I did have that same issue once. Do you use Chrome? Have a look at your Chrome extensions, and remove those you think could be malware.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by direkJay View Post
    oh I just posted a thread about this, although I'm running on Windows 8.1 - I have the same issue
    I just looked at your thread, it doe's appear to be phantom Windows key presses. I have the JT model bought in the UK from Overclockers.co.uk

    I was hoping it was a Windows 10 thing but if you have the same problem it's unlikely to be the cause.

    @Clintlgm I do have chrome plus extentions

    1. Adblock
    2. Google play music
    3. Netflix Ultrawide Support.

    I have these extensions on my desktop running Windows 10 without any issues although the difference between my desktop and laptop is my desktop doesn't have a Windows Key (Ducky Shine 2 Tenkeyless)

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    109

    My Task bar refreshes its self (reloads I think) And Some Times while gaming it minimizes my games (about once per game).
    I have Chrome turned on while gaming for the most part. Could this be the issue?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Possibly, it happened while playing BF4 so chrome was open for battlelog, it happens often while browsing too

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I've just made sure Chrome is default app and un-checked Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed.

    So far so good but too early to be sure

    *didnt work*
    Last edited by oHOWEo; 08-14-2015 at 07:48 PM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Found a Solution.... Uninstall Asus screen saver program.... no more pop ups for me...
    Last edited by _thebird; 09-17-2015 at 06:44 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by _thebird View Post
    Found a Solution.... Uninstall Asus screen saver program.... no more pop ups for me...
    Mine hasn't done it for ages now so it seems fixed, I had also removed the screen saver program so that could of been the cause.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •