cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maximus VIII Hero Big Difference Between CPU VID and CPU Core

Feng_Io
Level 7
I am a fairly novice builder so I apologize if I am doing something silly/have a silly question. I am configuring a VIII Hero motherboard with i5-6600K and am very concerned about the voltages. Namely the values I set in BIOS seem to be largely ignored and there is a rather large gap between CPU Core and VID when the system is running.

So starting at the default BIOS values all I changed was the voltage mode. I set it manually to 1.2, booted up (win10 if that has an impact), and checked CPU-Z (ROG Version) and HWMonitor. At idle I see anywhere between .02-.1 additional value for VCore (1.22v to 1.3v). At load I see a deeply concerning 1.35v being set of VCore. I thought maybe I had a bad chip so I checked the CPU VID. As I understand it this is the voltage the cores are requesting and here I see much more reasonable values well below 1.2v.

Am I just confused about what these numbers and terms mean? Do I have some setting in BIOS set incorrectly? The .1-.2v difference between VID and VCore is freaking me out a little. In addition I can't seem to fix the peak voltage supplied correctly in order to setup the OC. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Edit: I did some more experimenting: It seems I am missing something major as I seem to have no control at all over VCore. I set BIOS value to manual at 1.25 and increased the multiplier. When I stress the CPU the VCore jumps to rather scary 1.4V. I double checked I am on latest BIOS v401 and all the monitors tools are up to date and supposedly support this platform.
6 REPLIES 6

Raja
Level 13
Don't use CPU-Z to check Vcore on this platform. It needs an update. If you are setting Vcore manually (manual mode), the Vcore is close to VID.

Don't use CPU-Z to check Vcore on this platform. It needs an update. If you are setting Vcore manually (manual mode), the Vcore is close to VID.