Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    Unhappy Asus Strix 980ti 2 way sli - fan profile not working :(

    I just purchased 2 Asus Strix 980ti graphics cards to go in SLI. I am useing the included soft 2way SLI bridge that comes with the motherboard.

    Now I have fresh drivers installed and SLI is enabled via the nvidia control panel.

    I am using GPU Tweak 2 v1.0.6.9

    Now I can use the gaming mode and the OC mode just fin, they both OC great. But what happens now is the the Primary card (top) all of a sudden stops responding to the fan setting and the fans wont turn on, so the bottom card is at a nice 45 but the top card shoots to 90 and the fans are not turning on.

    Now I tried swapping the cards around and again the same thing happens to the primary card in the top slot, the fans are not able
    to controlled, even unlinked I can't get the top card to respond to fan settings. So I do not know what to do or how to fix.

    As you can see below, on the right window the fans not even spinning. and the temps on the left show top card 61 and bottom just 38.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gpu tweak.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	104.9 KB 
ID:	51233
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gpu tweak1.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	145.7 KB 
ID:	51234

    PC Specs

    CPU- Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3
    Motherboard- Asus MAXIMUS VII HERO
    RAM- Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz
    GFX Card- 2 x Asus GeForce GTX980ti 6GB STRIX - SLI
    SSD- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB
    HDD- WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm
    CPU Cooler- Corsair Hydro Series H100i
    PSU- Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

    Just tested the witcher III and have the sli saturation (green bar) turned on from the nvidia control panel, and just noticed as the game is running and the SLI meter shows the 2 cards being saturated that there is a distinctive electrical buzzing sound, but stops when you bring up menues etc. could this be the sli bridge?

    please help
    Last edited by siliconart; 08-20-2015 at 11:24 AM.
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    432

    The second card is always by nature much hotter than the first card. Did you check if manual fan settings work?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    Yes, and unfortunately its still unresponsive

    Even if I switch the card, the card in the top slot becomes unresponsive to the fan profiles.

    As you can see the fan is all erratic (blue line)
    Last edited by siliconart; 08-20-2015 at 11:12 AM.
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    Now with an update

    The fan on the 2nd card seems to be the problem (as per the video here)
    https://youtu.be/bzHG_8cAPBc

    Going to take it back to the store, what do you guys think?
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Hello siliconart

    Before taking your gpu back let's try a few things, first uninstall that version of gpu tweak and go here and install the latest version and see if that might help.

    http://support.asus.com/download.asp...hashedid=n%2fa

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    hmm, I thought about that... but this is GPU Tweak II vs GPU Tweak 1.

    Oh also im on Windows 10 and GPU Tweak 1 is not showing support for it.
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    ok here we go, got a new card and they are both boosting to 1455, but i can set the boost clock to more then 1370.

    What can i adjust to keep increasing?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	oc.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	952.6 KB 
ID:	51245

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	firestrik.png 
Views:	3 
Size:	251.7 KB 
ID:	51246
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Hey great !

    Do both gpu's work with the fan profile?

    I'm not sure what else there is to increase besides the GPU Boost Clock, seems strange it would stop you there. I know NVidia has the voltage locked and 1.21v is probably the highest you can go with it, I wonder if they capped the speed too? I would say unlikely.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array siliconart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    136

    Yes, both cards work with the fan profiles

    Now This is the 1st time I have had SLI cards and overclocking like this. From what I have read, if you GPU boost to a frequency then you should be able to dial that in right?
    - Intel Core i7 4770K OC @ 4.3 - MAXIMUS VII HERO - Gskill TridentX 16GB (2x8) DDR3 2400Mhz - 2x Asus Geforce GTX980ti DirectCU II OC 6G in SL I- Samsung 840 PRO SERIES 256GB - WD 4TB Caviar Black 7200rpm - Corsair Hydro Series H100i (Fans upgraded to: Air Series SP120 HP) - Corsair AX1200i Platinum Power Supply

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Well I use precision x 16 to overclock my gpu's but yeah your gpu boost clock is the same as my gpu clock offset. You just keep raising that a little at a time when playing a game until the driver crashes then back it off a notch or two.

    I don't know why yours stopped at 1370, it looks like there is plenty left on the slider, I see you're boosting to 1480MHz in the graph.

    Nice !

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •