Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Goucho PC Specs
    Goucho PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage V Extreme X99
    Processori7 5820K 3.6 Ghz Default Boost Clock
    Memory (part number)32GB Crucial 2133Mhz Default Clock
    Graphics Card #1Inno3D HerculeZ x4 GTX 980 Air Boss @ 1527.5Mhz Constant Boost Clock
    Graphics Card #3Realbench system score @ default settings = 84338
    Sound CardSupreme FX On Board
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA350
    Storage #11=2x250GB RAID0 - 2=2x120GB RAID0
    Storage #21x 640GB WD Black - 2 x 1TB WD Blue in RAID0 - 1 x 2Tb Seagate HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1000W '80 Plus Gold'
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Coolermaster Storm Inferno
    Headset AKG K612 Audiophile Headset
    Mouse Pad MDF Table Top ;)
    Headset/Speakers Samsung Soundbar
    OS Windows 8.1Enterprise 64Bit
    Network RouterVirgin Media 152 Mb/s + some ;)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft HD-3000 720p Webcam/Samsung S5 Cam
    Accessory #2 Behringer XM8500 thru XenyX Q502 Mixer
    Accessory #3 AMW 19" 4:3 LCD 2nd Monitor
    Goucho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    How many RAID0 drives can i set up?

    Hi there i am noob to RAID and all that but at the moment i have two old SSD's in RAID0 as my boot up drive.

    I want to add two new 250GB drives in RAID0 to give me a fast 500Gb drive to boot a fresh install of windows 10 on.

    Is it possible to do this? Have two separate RAID0 drives?




    My intention is to keep my old raid0 as a dual boot keeping all my present settings etc and have the new RAID0 drive as a clean windows 10 install. I would just change the boot order when i want to go from one to the other. Eventually i will turn the old drive into a games RAID0 drive
    All replies to my posts are really appreciated, thank you

    Overclock results:-

    GTX980 @ 1527.5MHz Core/7603MHz Memory

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Goucho PC Specs
    Goucho PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage V Extreme X99
    Processori7 5820K 3.6 Ghz Default Boost Clock
    Memory (part number)32GB Crucial 2133Mhz Default Clock
    Graphics Card #1Inno3D HerculeZ x4 GTX 980 Air Boss @ 1527.5Mhz Constant Boost Clock
    Graphics Card #3Realbench system score @ default settings = 84338
    Sound CardSupreme FX On Board
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA350
    Storage #11=2x250GB RAID0 - 2=2x120GB RAID0
    Storage #21x 640GB WD Black - 2 x 1TB WD Blue in RAID0 - 1 x 2Tb Seagate HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1000W '80 Plus Gold'
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Coolermaster Storm Inferno
    Headset AKG K612 Audiophile Headset
    Mouse Pad MDF Table Top ;)
    Headset/Speakers Samsung Soundbar
    OS Windows 8.1Enterprise 64Bit
    Network RouterVirgin Media 152 Mb/s + some ;)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft HD-3000 720p Webcam/Samsung S5 Cam
    Accessory #2 Behringer XM8500 thru XenyX Q502 Mixer
    Accessory #3 AMW 19" 4:3 LCD 2nd Monitor
    Goucho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    Thanx m8
    All replies to my posts are really appreciated, thank you

    Overclock results:-

    GTX980 @ 1527.5MHz Core/7603MHz Memory

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    106

    The maximum drives you can RAID using the Rampage V Extreme (X99) board I am sure is 6 drives.

    I have two pairs of SSD drives and a pair of normal Hard Drives configured in RAID.

    You can't RAID anymore than this due to the Intel® X99 platform Chipset not supporting any more than 6 drives in RAID.
    Intel i7 5960X @ OC 4.5GHz, Asus R5E, XSPC AX360, G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000MHz, BeQuiet 1200W PSU, Cooler Master Cosmos 2, Zotac GeForce GTX 980 AMP, Creative X-Fi Titanium, 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 250GB RAID 0, 2 X Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB RAID 0, LG BH10LS30

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    That's correct.

    Per Intel's specifications, only 6 of the 10 SATA ports support RAID on the X99 platform.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    106

    The one thing I find very annoying is if you've used the first 6 Intel SATA ports for RAID, the other 4 ports don't support
    plug and play which means if you use an external hard drive in any of those 4 Intel ports left, your external hard drive
    won't be recognised within windows until you boot the system with the external hard drive connected and powered up.
    Intel i7 5960X @ OC 4.5GHz, Asus R5E, XSPC AX360, G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000MHz, BeQuiet 1200W PSU, Cooler Master Cosmos 2, Zotac GeForce GTX 980 AMP, Creative X-Fi Titanium, 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 250GB RAID 0, 2 X Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB RAID 0, LG BH10LS30

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Goucho PC Specs
    Goucho PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage V Extreme X99
    Processori7 5820K 3.6 Ghz Default Boost Clock
    Memory (part number)32GB Crucial 2133Mhz Default Clock
    Graphics Card #1Inno3D HerculeZ x4 GTX 980 Air Boss @ 1527.5Mhz Constant Boost Clock
    Graphics Card #3Realbench system score @ default settings = 84338
    Sound CardSupreme FX On Board
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA350
    Storage #11=2x250GB RAID0 - 2=2x120GB RAID0
    Storage #21x 640GB WD Black - 2 x 1TB WD Blue in RAID0 - 1 x 2Tb Seagate HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1000W '80 Plus Gold'
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Coolermaster Storm Inferno
    Headset AKG K612 Audiophile Headset
    Mouse Pad MDF Table Top ;)
    Headset/Speakers Samsung Soundbar
    OS Windows 8.1Enterprise 64Bit
    Network RouterVirgin Media 152 Mb/s + some ;)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft HD-3000 720p Webcam/Samsung S5 Cam
    Accessory #2 Behringer XM8500 thru XenyX Q502 Mixer
    Accessory #3 AMW 19" 4:3 LCD 2nd Monitor
    Goucho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    mmmmmmmmmm might go for 3 raid0 arrays then.

    2x250GB/500GB SSD Evo 850's
    2x120GB SSD Kingston whatevers
    2x1TB HDD WD

    Should give me quite a boost speed wise across the board. Good for gaming, video processing and moving large files around etc

    Should i update bios from 1501 or will that do the trick. BTW which sata ports do i use ..... start left or start right lol
    All replies to my posts are really appreciated, thank you

    Overclock results:-

    GTX980 @ 1527.5MHz Core/7603MHz Memory

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array GoNz0- PC Specs
    GoNz0- PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 9530
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930
    Memory (part number)[Ripjaws 4] F4-2666C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    CPU CoolerEk Evo Supremacy
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEnermax 1250w revolution 85
    Keyboard Logitech 710+
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    Headset Sennheiser PC350
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68u

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    568

    when I ran 3 raid0 arrays it dropped drives at random, good luck. 2 raid 0 and 2 drives running in sata have been fine.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Goucho PC Specs
    Goucho PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage V Extreme X99
    Processori7 5820K 3.6 Ghz Default Boost Clock
    Memory (part number)32GB Crucial 2133Mhz Default Clock
    Graphics Card #1Inno3D HerculeZ x4 GTX 980 Air Boss @ 1527.5Mhz Constant Boost Clock
    Graphics Card #3Realbench system score @ default settings = 84338
    Sound CardSupreme FX On Board
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA350
    Storage #11=2x250GB RAID0 - 2=2x120GB RAID0
    Storage #21x 640GB WD Black - 2 x 1TB WD Blue in RAID0 - 1 x 2Tb Seagate HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1000W '80 Plus Gold'
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Coolermaster Storm Inferno
    Headset AKG K612 Audiophile Headset
    Mouse Pad MDF Table Top ;)
    Headset/Speakers Samsung Soundbar
    OS Windows 8.1Enterprise 64Bit
    Network RouterVirgin Media 152 Mb/s + some ;)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft HD-3000 720p Webcam/Samsung S5 Cam
    Accessory #2 Behringer XM8500 thru XenyX Q502 Mixer
    Accessory #3 AMW 19" 4:3 LCD 2nd Monitor
    Goucho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    Anyone else have issues with 3 x raid0 ?
    All replies to my posts are really appreciated, thank you

    Overclock results:-

    GTX980 @ 1527.5MHz Core/7603MHz Memory

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    106

    I don't have any issues with my 3 x raid 0.
    Intel i7 5960X @ OC 4.5GHz, Asus R5E, XSPC AX360, G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000MHz, BeQuiet 1200W PSU, Cooler Master Cosmos 2, Zotac GeForce GTX 980 AMP, Creative X-Fi Titanium, 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 250GB RAID 0, 2 X Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB RAID 0, LG BH10LS30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •