Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array marpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    bios flash gone wrong

    hi everyone on this forum,

    somehow i've managed to bork my bios through a bad flash or i did it incorrectly. i tried to boot up with the disk that came with the MB and it says that bios 0506 was succesfully installed. So, i power it back on, i get into the bios and it says "invalid input range", hit OK to continue, then it freezes from there. gotta do a hard shutdown. all this was done with 1 stick of mem in the slot farthest from cpu with everything else removed except KB and one graphics card.

    ok, i order a new bios chip (with bios 0903)from ebay thinking that would solve it. now it powers on but it get stuck at cpu led. if i press "memok" button the cpu lights solid and the dram is flashing and thats where it hangs.

    is my newly bought bios chip faulty or is my board toast?
    MB:Asus Crosshair V Formula, CPU:FX 8320, MEM:8GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz, GPU:Asus HD7970 Direct CU2, PSU:Seasonic X-850, Monitor: Dell U2410

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array oldbrave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    240

    Have you tried clearing the CMOS ? Un plug the power cord from the PSU then push the clr cmos button on the IO pannel in the back, plug the power cord back in and see what you get !
    Electronic Smoke Signals From my TechnoTeepee
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ 990FX, 1703 bios
    AMD FX 8350 Vishera @ 5162Mhz [21x245] 1.546v
    Water Cooled - Koolance EX2-1055, CPU 370 WB, Idle=22c Load=52c
    32Gb G.Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 8G X 4 , 9-9-9-24 @ 1.55v
    ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5, Cat 13.5 beta 2, Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600
    SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD SATA 6Gb, 250Gb SATA 6Gb, 1Tb SATA 6Gb x2
    Win 7 Ultimate 64bit, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX1000w PSU

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array marpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    yes i tried that - same results - with original bios chip it hangs after message of "invalid input range" and with newly bought bios chip it doesn't even get to the bios.
    MB:Asus Crosshair V Formula, CPU:FX 8320, MEM:8GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz, GPU:Asus HD7970 Direct CU2, PSU:Seasonic X-850, Monitor: Dell U2410

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    You'll have to shell out the money and buy a new flash chip from Asus.
    IMHO getting one from eBay is insane. Who knows what code is on that chip. That's the ideal method to install a nice virus or rootkit. I wouldn't trust the system any more now.
    FX-8150@230x19.5@1.3875V--Crosshair V 1102--4xKVR1333D3E9S/4GEC@1866@1.45V--ECS GT430
    Noctua NH-D14--Delta AFC1212DE-PWM--Shroud--Delta AFB1212HHE-PWM
    4xST33000651AS RAID 10--Corsair Force GT 120GB--Samsung TS-H653J
    Fractal Design Define XL--Seasonic X750 Gold--2xAcer S273HL
    Debian Squeeze with 3.2 kernel--Windows 7

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Quote Originally Posted by rrohbeck View Post
    You'll have to shell out the money and buy a new flash chip from Asus.
    IMHO getting one from eBay is insane. Who knows what code is on that chip. That's the ideal method to install a nice virus or rootkit. I wouldn't trust the system any more now.
    Agreed, that bios chip from E-bay is probably borked as well.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array marpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Hmmm, never thought about a virus. this is the only seller on ebay when you type in "bios chip crosshair v" looks legit. Now i'm wondering will getting a bios chip from asus allow me to boot properly? I suppose it's worth a try. Short of a RMA i'm at a loss of what of what else to try.
    Last edited by marpole; 12-15-2011 at 06:25 PM.
    MB:Asus Crosshair V Formula, CPU:FX 8320, MEM:8GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz, GPU:Asus HD7970 Direct CU2, PSU:Seasonic X-850, Monitor: Dell U2410

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    I would get the replacement bios chip from ASUS first, then you can troubleshoot from there.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array marpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    just checked the asus estore and they are out of stock for the CHV bios chip. so, i'll have to wait but will post back to this thread when i get a new chip.
    MB:Asus Crosshair V Formula, CPU:FX 8320, MEM:8GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz, GPU:Asus HD7970 Direct CU2, PSU:Seasonic X-850, Monitor: Dell U2410

  9. #9
    87th_striker
    Guest
    Try with a ECC Dram if you have one. To reset the CMOS, take out the battery, unplug all power connections, also from PSU to motherboard, then reset CMOS trough buttons and jumpers, I also had the CPU out when running the procedure. First with CPU in, then with CPU out. I also waited and retried several times. Also added some extra fans on the CPU optional to check if the Mobo really was detecting my CPU fan.
    My DRAM was Crucial DDR3 1066MHz 1GB, CL7, ECC, CT12872BA1067. If you are able to move from there you might experience other issues, like disks not being detected.

    The Crosshair V is a classic case of "Don't buy the A-model of anything!" I'm pretty sure Asus have figured out what the problem is, but I suspect we will never know. Legally RMA, no questions asked, is the safe road for any producer.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array marpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    thanks for the suggestions. don't have any ECC ram. when i use the new bios chip i get nothing on screen and the motherboard CPU led stays lit solid with the DRAM led blinking. this all with everything unpluged save for the vid card and KB. one stick of ram far slot from cpu.
    MB:Asus Crosshair V Formula, CPU:FX 8320, MEM:8GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz, GPU:Asus HD7970 Direct CU2, PSU:Seasonic X-850, Monitor: Dell U2410

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •