Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: CPU Strap usage

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Denna PC Specs
    Denna PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD8GX3M2A2133C9
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 140XL
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 350D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    125

    Question CPU Strap usage

    Using a Maximus VI Gene (BIOS 1603) with a 4790K.

    After days of testing, I've gotten a stable overclock of 5.04 GHz for 40 minutes with an average temperature of 43C using the following.

    CPU Strap = 100

    BCLK = 101

    CPU Turbo Ratio = 50 with Group Tuning

    CPU Cache Ratio = 43

    CPU Core Voltage = 1.45

    CPU Cache Voltage = 1.45

    CPU Input Voltage = 1.92

    DRAM Voltage = 1.55

    Is there a way to keep the CPU speed at this level, while reducing voltages and temperature ?

    After rebooting multiple times with a CPU Strap of 125, BLCK of 100 and a CPU Core Ratio of 40, the result is a CPU speed of 4 GHz.

    What parameters do I need to set for the CPU Strap to be used ?
    Last edited by Denna; 08-25-2015 at 05:29 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,689

    Hi Denna,

    Can you say what average temp means...or where you are reading it....because 43 is not a load temp at 5GHz unless you are using exotic cooling..

    leaves me wondering about throttling etc...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Denna PC Specs
    Denna PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD8GX3M2A2133C9
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 140XL
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 350D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    125

    Arne,

    Thanks for the quick response.

    The temperature reading is from the opening screen in AI Suite III and fluctuates between 41 and 44C.

    Intel Speedstep is enabled.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,689

    Right, well really you want to use a monitoring program that gives you core temp readings...something like realtemp shouldn't conflict with AI suite....I hope...

    Does AI suite give core temps?...i know it gives CPU Temp which is about 10 degrees lower.

    At that voltage and high clocks I would expect very high temps which may throttle the CPU?

    Does CPUz show you at 5.0 ghz when running stress test like realbench?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Denna PC Specs
    Denna PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD8GX3M2A2133C9
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 140XL
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 350D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    125

    Arne,

    I haven't been using Realbench since the download size is greater than the amount of data usage left on my limited data plan. I'll have to wait until Sept. 2 to download them when the billing period restarts.

    So far I've been using one instance of a Powershell script to push the processor to the maximum speed (5.04 GHz) and monitoring the voltages and temperature in AI Suite III. Below is the script. At 5045 MHz, it's running for 41m44s and usually produces 16-17% CPU utilization per instance.

    Measure-Command {$result = 1; foreach ($number in 1..2147483647) {$result = $result * $number}}

    Right now, AI Suite III is displaying ~45C at 5045 MHz with a CPU Core Voltage of 1.456v. CPU-Z is showing a Core Voltage of 1.456v with a Core Speed of 5139 MHz.

    I'll download Real Temp now and report back with the results.
    Last edited by Denna; 08-26-2015 at 04:14 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,689

    I think you'll find that RealBench loads up the CPU a lot more than what you are using.

    I don't mean to say that it is the only stress test out there or that what you are using is not valid...stress testing is basically a personal thing...if the PC does 5GHz stable with what you want it to do then all good but if you stress test with a light load then maybe you will find instability playing games etc or using video encoding etc etc

    At that voltage and frequency I fully expect RealBench to give you very high temps on that cooler and the CPU might throttle...keep an eye on frequency....or the CPU will fail and you get a BSOD. Maybe for RealBench start lower voltage and lower frequency.

    I saw Nate recommended 1.3 or 1.35 for that cooler and I would say he's spot on....

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Denna PC Specs
    Denna PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD8GX3M2A2133C9
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 140XL
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 350D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    125

    Question

    Arne,

    Hope these screenshots are useful.

    The first screenshot was taken while the script had been running a while. The second screenshot was taken after XS Bench was run.

    With both programs running at the same time, why does AI Suite III show the BCLK as 100.9 and CPU speed as 5045 MHz and CPU-Z shows 104.01 and 5200.29 MHz ?
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Script.png  

    XS Bench Score.png  

    Last edited by Denna; 08-26-2015 at 09:55 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,689

    Running monitoring programs at the same time as AI SUite can really scramble readings...not a fan of AI myself..

    What did you set in BIOS?...oh yeah first post 101....so I guess real temp is not so happy running with AI suite after all...

    Those temps are fine but those programs, while they ramp up processor to turbo speed, do not put anywhere near a full load on the processor.

    How have you set up the OC manually or is it one of the profiles or....?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Denna PC Specs
    Denna PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Gene
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD8GX3M2A2133C9
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 140XL
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 350D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    125

    Arne,

    The BIOS settings are lower than those listed above for booting purposes.

    The settings above are entered manually into TurboV Core.

    While the script is running, only CPU-Z, TurboV Core and Real Temp are open.

    I can PM you the BIOS profile and .OC file I'm using in TurboV Core if you like.

    Currently, 5.06 GHz is stable with the script running in 41 minutes 5 seconds.

    I've switched to Adaptive voltage and reduced Load Line Calibration to Level 4 to get the voltages and temperature down.

    The script may not reflect the load RealBench would create, but then again, I'm not running software that would cause high loads for extended periods on multiple cores with multiple threads.
    Last edited by Denna; 08-26-2015 at 06:38 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,689

    Roger that...like I say if it's stable for what you want to do with it that's great....all good.

    I have always done my OCing in the BIOS...never used software so I'm probably not the best person to talk over that...

    Just watch your temps if you run anything stressful at those voltages and clocks I guess is what I'm trying to say...

    RE the readings....when software is talking to BIOS to OC I think it's probably normal to get some readings missing...especially when more than one program is doing the monitoring....not a worry...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •