Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    RIVE Displayport causes overcurrent

    Im going nuts and can't figure out why. Every time i use Displayport my PC get USB overcurrent during boot and shut my PC down. But if I use HDMI or DVI no problem. I thought maybe my Asus Strix 980Ti is bad, so i went and replaced it with another one. I even went as far as unplugged all USB devices inside the case and outside, but still same issues???
    Last edited by CharlieHQ; 08-27-2015 at 03:44 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Okie i figured out that the DP cable have pin 20 providing 3.3V that cause over current issue. The weird part is that with EVGA video card didn't have this issue until i got Asus Strix.

  3. #3
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    Sounds like the EVGA card is not fully pinned out at the DP connector whereas the Strix is. Good job on the troubleshooting though.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Hello

    Sounds like the EVGA card is not fully pinned out at the DP connector whereas the Strix is. Good job on the troubleshooting though.
    yeah. I end up borrowing my wife tweezer and brake off pin 20. Everything is working perfectly. No more over current or motherboard lit up when PC is already shutdown. Well supposedly after lots of reading not many DP cable are Vesa compliant. Cause in order to be it needs not to have Pin 20.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array kenito PC Specs
    kenito PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RAMPAGE IV BLACK EDITION
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930k
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 ROG Strix Gaming
    MonitorAsus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 840 pro 250gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 evo 500gb
    CPU Coolernoctua nh-d14
    CaseHAF X big tower
    Power Supplyxfx 1250w black edition
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Asus Echelon
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 623
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC51U

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Had the exact same problem! My GTX 970 from MSI worked perfectly, and then I installed a 1070 Asus strix and got "overcurrent" I didn't know it was the DP before I read this, thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •