Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs up Z170 VIII Hero can't use some peripheral card???

    Maximus VIII Hero and Ranger can't use some peripheral card on PCIEX4_3 or PCIE X8 _ 2
    It can't be detected in OS when I put some card in PCIEX4_3 or PCIE X8 _ 2 slot.
    (BIOS 0401 / 0508 have the same situation)

    The cards I had try are as below

    Avermedia H727 (TV/Video Capture card)......................Fail
    Compro E900F (TV card)............................................. ...Fail
    Compro E500(TV card)............................................. ......Fail
    Creative sound blaster ZxR ...........................................Pass
    this motherboard is so cool I have used for peripheral card. =.=

    How can I use the peripheral card on PCIEX4_3 ???

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I don't know about your TV cards but when you have a card in slot PCIEX4_3 it disables 2 of the PCIEX1 slots

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	6 
Size:	119.0 KB 
ID:	51398

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    but my TV cards are original PCI-E x1 spec., so the PCIEX1_2 / PCIEX1_3 should not be disable when I put it on PCIEX4_3.
    (and I have a sound card still work on PCIEx1_3)

    these TV card only work on PICEx1 but they can't work on PCIEx4_3 or PCIEx8_2
    PS: these card work fine on every PCIE slots of Maximus VII Hero before.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Sorry I don't have an answer for you, maybe someone else will be able to help

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    it's ok
    thanks for your reply.

    customer service also have no idea for this problem. ><

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array aceado PC Specs
    aceado PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (x570)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)Crucial Ballistix Sport LT (2x8GB) 16GB 3200 mhz (BLS8G4D32AESBK)
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 (8GB)
    MonitorBenq GW2765HT (27")
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 500GB / Corsair Force MP510 960GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB / Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i (2xNoctua NF-F12 PWM)
    CaseNZXT Phantom 410
    Power SupplyXFX XTR 650w
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech G933
    OS Windows 10 (x64)

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    not to high jack this thread but i had issues myself with my 3 tv cards whiles using only 0503 yet with both 0214 and 0401 it worked fine in pciex8_2 also you might wanna check here for more details on what i noticed https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...os-bug-in-0508

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    thank you.


    update:

    0902 BIOS fixed this PCI-E problem

    If you guys have the peripheral card can't be detected, you can update 0902
    it's fine for this issue.

    https://www.asus.com/tw/Motherboards...Desk_Download/

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I'm having the same problem with z170m-plus bios 412. Two different 100% functional x1 PCIe DVB-T TV tuners are not detected by this MB. First is Dvico dual express and second one is some dual-tuner Avermedia. I'm not using any other PCIe slot on MB. It gets more wierd. I also have 5 different USB DVB-T dongles which are working on every other non-z170 computer. In this one they are detected, installed but Windows will crash or freeze when I scan for channels. Other than that computer will pass every single torture test with no problems. I'll try x1 network adapter and x16 vga in those slots and check if they are working or not. What do you guys think? Bad board or bad BIOS?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by nevven View Post
    I'm having the same problem with z170m-plus bios 412. Two different 100% functional x1 PCIe DVB-T TV tuners are not detected by this MB. First is Dvico dual express and second one is some dual-tuner Avermedia. I'm not using any other PCIe slot on MB. It gets more wierd. I also have 5 different USB DVB-T dongles which are working on every other non-z170 computer. In this one they are detected, installed but Windows will crash or freeze when I scan for channels. Other than that computer will pass every single torture test with no problems. I'll try x1 network adapter and x16 vga in those slots and check if they are working or not. What do you guys think? Bad board or bad BIOS?
    Problem persists with new 0503 BIOS. PCIe slots are working with USB 3.0 add-on PCIe card.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •