Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array mark0409mr01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Hi,

    Looking at the album you created on imgur the thing that stands out it the drive should show up in the Advanced\NVMe Configuration screen in the BIOS and your drive is not showing up. I have the SM951 NVMe version and as you can see from the screenshot of my BIOS it shows up in this screen which means the BIOS can see it and therefore is able to install Windows to it.

    I would again check that the drive is fully seated in the slot. Also I note that the version of the drive you have seems to be a Lenovo specific part number MZVKV512HAJH-000L1 vs MZVPV512HDGL-00000 I have which seems to be the most commonly available part. It is possible that the specific part number you have is just not compatible with the motherboard and I would advise the return the part you have and get the MZVPV512HDGL-00000 version.

    Hope this helps!


  2. #12
    New ROGer Array Magikq PC Specs
    Magikq PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage v extreme
    Processor5930k
    Memory (part number)32(4x8)ddr4G.Skill
    Storage #1Samsung m.2 sm951
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AX1500i
    OS windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I had the same problem , changed bios for older (on mother bord swich for secound bios) restart and its pop up in bios
    doesnt make any sens to me but its start working then i swiched bios to new and could instal system

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array MarcosMK PC Specs
    MarcosMK PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Titan X SC
    Graphics Card #2Titan X SC
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i GTX
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse GX1000
    Headset Senheiser PC 363D
    Mouse Pad ROG GX1000

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    14

    Thanks, I will try switching out the bios and my problem is that I doubt the seller will accept returns after a month, especially if he has to wait another month to get it shipped back to the US.
    If that doesn't fix it, I'm thinking of trying out different older bios or installing windows 10 on another drive and seeing if it detects it then.
    I know that last one has little logic behind it, but I'm kind of desperate.
    Last edited by MarcosMK; 09-11-2015 at 11:03 AM.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array MarcosMK PC Specs
    MarcosMK PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Titan X SC
    Graphics Card #2Titan X SC
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i GTX
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse GX1000
    Headset Senheiser PC 363D
    Mouse Pad ROG GX1000

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    14

    I changed it to the second bios, version 0901, but no dice.
    Should I try changing the bios one after another and try my luck?
    Also, could someone confirm if the build date on my 1701 version is ok?

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Hi Marcos,

    you'll have to update the second BIOS to get NVME compatibility. But i think, the problem is the Lenovo firmware on the drive, sorry. Maybe the seller has also performed a secure erase on the drive - this is often a reason for bricked samsung XP941 and also SM951 drives.
    MB: Rampage V Extreme
    CPU: Intel Core i7 5960X (@4,2 / Adaptive Voltage 1,23V)
    RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 4 (32GB-Kit 2666-15-15-15-35 @1,2V)
    GPU: EVGA Geforce GTX Titan X Superclocked and Geforce 480 GTX
    PSU: Corsair AX1500i
    M2: Samsung XP941
    SSD: 2 x Samsung 840 pro
    HD: HGST He8 8TB
    Display: Asus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Keyboard: Cherry MX Board 6.0
    Mouse: Steelseries Sensei MLG Edition/ Zowie ZA12
    OS: W8.1 pro

    CPU and GPUs watercooled

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array MarcosMK PC Specs
    MarcosMK PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Titan X SC
    Graphics Card #2Titan X SC
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i GTX
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse GX1000
    Headset Senheiser PC 363D
    Mouse Pad ROG GX1000

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    14

    Thanks, that was also what I was afraid of, especially since he isn't answering my messages.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array MarcosMK PC Specs
    MarcosMK PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Titan X SC
    Graphics Card #2Titan X SC
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i GTX
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse GX1000
    Headset Senheiser PC 363D
    Mouse Pad ROG GX1000

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    14

    I kept looking around and I'm sure I made my usb 3.0 be a GPT Partition, since I read that was what I had to do, but in disk manager it says NTFS.
    Is that ok, is it GPT even though it says NTFS, or did I messed up and it should say GPT?
    Hoping this might be it . . . maybe.





    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GPT NTFS.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	219.1 KB 
ID:	51622

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Hi Marcos,

    GPT is a standard for partitions. The old Partition format was MBR. NTFS, FAT, exFAT, etc. is your filesystem, that u used for formating your drive. So you can have a MBR, or a GPT partition and format it with NTFS, or another filesystem. So the partition table format is something different, then your formated filesystem. I think you have done all right. You have a GPT partition and as filesystem NTFS.

    But so its also a negative to your hope, that this is your problem. Its definitly not. The drive MUST be available in the UEFI NVME menu! Without that, you cannot go forward to the installation! It is definitly a firmware problem. So have you tried to update the second BIOS to the newest version? NVME support is only provided from 1302 and above. But i think its a firmware problem of the drive- as i wrote before, sry! Either the lenovo firmware makes problems, or the firmware has a problem after a secure erase. In both cases, you cannot use this drive. Sorry!
    MB: Rampage V Extreme
    CPU: Intel Core i7 5960X (@4,2 / Adaptive Voltage 1,23V)
    RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 4 (32GB-Kit 2666-15-15-15-35 @1,2V)
    GPU: EVGA Geforce GTX Titan X Superclocked and Geforce 480 GTX
    PSU: Corsair AX1500i
    M2: Samsung XP941
    SSD: 2 x Samsung 840 pro
    HD: HGST He8 8TB
    Display: Asus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Keyboard: Cherry MX Board 6.0
    Mouse: Steelseries Sensei MLG Edition/ Zowie ZA12
    OS: W8.1 pro

    CPU and GPUs watercooled

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array MarcosMK PC Specs
    MarcosMK PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Titan X SC
    Graphics Card #2Titan X SC
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i GTX
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse GX1000
    Headset Senheiser PC 363D
    Mouse Pad ROG GX1000

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    14

    Thanks, I will try updating the seconday bios to 1302 and above, one at a time and if none works I will give up.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array MarcosMK PC Specs
    MarcosMK PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Titan X SC
    Graphics Card #2Titan X SC
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i GTX
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse GX1000
    Headset Senheiser PC 363D
    Mouse Pad ROG GX1000

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    14

    UPDATE!!!

    So After 2-3 week, I finaly got my hands on the asus adapter (first pic) and guess what . . . It worked!
    It automaticaly detected it, as shown on the second picture and I now installed windows 10 on it.

    Any idea why it doesnt detect it on the M.2 port?

    The last pic, is how it looks now XD



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG-20151002-WA0007.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	329.7 KB 
ID:	51948



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG-20151002-WA0011.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	509.1 KB 
ID:	51949



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG-20151002-WA0014.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	685.3 KB 
ID:	51950

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •