cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Build Recommendations and LCS

archangeljess
Level 7
Good day!

I am new to this forum and I am building my very first personal PC. To this date, these are the parts I already bought :
NZXT Phantom 410 chassis
Cougar 500ST power supply
ASUS B85 Pro Gamer motherboard
Western Digital Blue 1TB hard drive

I am now about to purchase my processor. I am considering Intel Pentium G3258 20th anniversary edition.
Within the next two months I am also planning on buying an 8 or 16GB GSkill Ripjaws 1600MHz DDR3 and an ASUS STRIX GTX 960 2GB video card.

What I need to know is is this build good enough? This is a budget build as I don't have that much money and prices are a quite high
here in Cebu City, Philippines.

Also, being a newbie, I would also like to ask if purchasing a closed loop LCS would be better than a custom loop.
I am planning to replace my processor with an I5 haswell refresh early next year so I am considering LCS.
I am puzzled with the choices that I have and I do not have any experience in building LCS. If I go with a closed loop for my CPU, would I be able to use it should i decide to custom loop and also cool my gpu?

Thank you and God bless.

Jess
5 REPLIES 5

Arne_Saknussemm
Level 40
Hi archangeljess 🙂

Good enough is hard to answer without knowing what you want to do with the PC...but in general terms yes...will be a good budget build. You wont be able to max out settings on all games but with a few adjustments like high instead of ultra settings you will be OK.

A closed loop cooler in general can not be integrated later into a custom loop so decide carefully. Custom loop will always be better but will be a lot more expensive. A closed loop cooler on CPU and air cooled GPU will work great and is better for the wallet...

archangeljess
Level 7
Thank you Arne for the reply.