Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: 6700k code 55

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jeff Kicks PC Specs
    Jeff Kicks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)g46vw
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x@4.275 6700k@4.5
    Memory (part number)16gb gskill 3000 32gb kingston 2400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X 970 SSC
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    MonitorSamsung 55" 4K Curved
    Storage #1Samsung 840 evo 1tb Sm951 120gb
    CPU CoolerCosair H100i
    CaseCorsair 760T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500i Corsair 760
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    6700k code 55

    Got my 6700k yesterday. Spent all day setting up sm951 and installing drivers. This morning I got up and applied the xmp and ran real bench. System crashed. Looping code 55 after that. Tried different ram kit and motherboard. Bad luck I guess.

  2. #2
    21 year computer builder Array jbhowlesr PC Specs
    jbhowlesr PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface 2
    MotherboardASUS X99-A II
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5820K, Asus 5-way Optimized at 4.487 ghz
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4C3200C16 (8 x 4gb) = 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Editions
    Sound CardSoundblaster Recom 3D
    Monitor2 ASUS VG248 144Hz 1080p 3D (Dual Screen)
    Storage #1Samsung SM951 128gb M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Seagate FireCuda 1T Hybrid Drive
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom Cooling Loop, EKWB X99 Monoblock, EKWB GeForce 1070 FE Full cover water block
    CaseThermaltake Core X71
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860 Platinum
    Keyboard Razr Blackwidow Ultrimate Stealth
    Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
    Headset Sound Blaster Tactics Alpha 3D
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech
    OS WIndows 10 Pro 64 bit
    Network Routerpfsense/snort/pfblockerNG
    Accessory #1 Steam Game Pad
    Accessory #2 EKWB Coolstream PE 360 Radiator, EKWB D5 Pump, EK 250 reservoir

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Your CPU is Not DEAD

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff Kicks View Post
    Got my 6700k yesterday. Spent all day setting up sm951 and installing drivers. This morning I got up and applied the xmp and ran real bench. System crashed. Looping code 55 after that. Tried different ram kit and motherboard. Bad luck I guess.
    So, I'm going to propose to you a solution. Ditch you ASUS board and buy an MSI Gaming series Board. Here is why.

    I upgraded from a Z97 board to a Z170-AR last week with a i5-6600k. Upon first boot, got all kinda weird indications and looping boots combined with asus anti-surge errors. First I thought power supply so I dropped $200 for a corsair platinum and still had the same issues. So I returned board and CPU as defective and replaced them with a MAXIMUS VIII Hero and an i5-6500. Popped them in my cases with same DDR4 memory and everything else. Same exact issues as with the previous board. I posted on here and folks replied that the DDR4 that I was using; Corsair Vengeance LPX was not right for my board and recommended G.Skill memory that is purpose made forZ170. So I ordered some and popped them in and it solved my original looping boot error but after a day, my computer randomly shutdown again and when it rebooted, I got the code 55 meaning "No memory installed". SO I hard reboot, all was well for about 40 minutes and wallah, it randomly rebooted again with the same code 55.

    Now, being that my frustration had reached a boiling point since this meant a 3rd trip to fry's electronics to replace these parts, I was done with ASUS for the time being until they fix these bunk ass z170 boards. When I got there I exchanged the maximus VIII for an MSI Z170A Gaming M7 and put it all back together when I got home; same cpu, same g.skill memory, same everything. Booted it up and loaded everything back on. I gotta tell you, I have been iffy about MSI boards for a long time but this thing works like it should, using all the same parts that two Asus boards were tripping out over. I mean, I have been on this thing for 4 hours straight since first boot and it has been flawless so far.

    What this all means to me is that somewhere during the design process at ASUS, they have incorporated an inferior design or a substandard part. Their products, a long time favorite of mine, has finally let me down. Plus search the web and you find countless people experiencing the same issues as I had and you are having now. As many people are wasting away trying to figure out these error codes and conditions that out right lie about the actual cause, I think it is safe to say that their z170 boards flat out just don't work as advertised. Hell, I was getting Q Codes that were not even listed in the user guide.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array DamianStr PC Specs
    DamianStr PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core I7 6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 970 Strix OC 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX 2015
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X61
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe White
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    DamianStr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Did you try te clear the bios to default with the Cmos button

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array DamianStr PC Specs
    DamianStr PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core I7 6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 970 Strix OC 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX 2015
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X61
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe White
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    DamianStr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    And disable the switch on motherboard to off the tpu and xmp if it's on

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Jeff, could you please list all your components so we can help you, most DDR4 kits were designed specifically for the X99 platform and work OK at default 2133mhz but not at XMP settings, clear your cmos by pushing the clr cmos button and load default setting to see if that gets you back up and running

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    If i remember i had the same thing, i just let the computer start/restart itself or reset manually when seem stuck and after 5-10 minutes it worked..

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jeff Kicks PC Specs
    Jeff Kicks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)g46vw
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x@4.275 6700k@4.5
    Memory (part number)16gb gskill 3000 32gb kingston 2400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X 970 SSC
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    MonitorSamsung 55" 4K Curved
    Storage #1Samsung 840 evo 1tb Sm951 120gb
    CPU CoolerCosair H100i
    CaseCorsair 760T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500i Corsair 760
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    maximus viii gene, gigabyte g1 gaming, kingston 32gb 2400 cl12, g skill 3000, tried all sorts of combinations. i tried cmos, board swaps. battery removal, cpu reseats like 30 times, different ram sticks all slots. i also have a rampage 5 with a 5960x this aint my first. this 6700k is dead lol.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jeff Kicks PC Specs
    Jeff Kicks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)g46vw
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x@4.275 6700k@4.5
    Memory (part number)16gb gskill 3000 32gb kingston 2400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X 970 SSC
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    MonitorSamsung 55" 4K Curved
    Storage #1Samsung 840 evo 1tb Sm951 120gb
    CPU CoolerCosair H100i
    CaseCorsair 760T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500i Corsair 760
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    i believe in asus and always have. gigabyte motheboard did not help at all either. ASUS FTW!

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    i have no probs with my 6600k setup i just built with HyperX fury ddr4 2400 ram... didnt check the designated ram page to see if it worked but this ram does.
    im about to build a 6700k and ill see how that goes.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jeff Kicks PC Specs
    Jeff Kicks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)g46vw
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x@4.275 6700k@4.5
    Memory (part number)16gb gskill 3000 32gb kingston 2400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X 970 SSC
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    MonitorSamsung 55" 4K Curved
    Storage #1Samsung 840 evo 1tb Sm951 120gb
    CPU CoolerCosair H100i
    CaseCorsair 760T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500i Corsair 760
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    newegg approved my cpu return. now to wait for the new one.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •