Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Maximus VIII Ranger and Wake on Lan

    Hi all,

    Hoping this is an easy one - I can't get Wake on Lan to work when my PC is powered down , works fine from sleep though.

    Running Windows 10, fast startup is disabled, and I have also disabled fast boot in BIOS - is there another setting in BIOS I need to be looking for?

    Cheers,

    pk

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Nevermind - found it!!

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi

    can you tell me how did you solve it ?

    With windows 8.1 I didn't have problem with wake on lan, but when I upgrade to windows 10 it stopped to work and I didn't find
    any solution....

    thank you in advance and sorry for my bad english

    Massimo

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Hi,

    Bios > Advanced > APM Configuration - Set "Power On by PCI-E/PCI" to enable and that should do it.

    You need to disable fast startup in Win 10 still thought - http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4...dows-10-a.html

    Cheers,

    pk

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi pk

    unfortunately I enabled Power On by PCI-E/PCI and disabled fast startup...but it didn't solve the problem; I don't know what I can do.

    Do you have any idea?

    Anyway thank you

    Massimo

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Have you definitely got right drivers for LAN? When I upgraded to Win 10, the drivers Windows installed didn't work for WoL, but it was fine once I installed the proper Asus drivers.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    210

    I just got a ranger board, have any of you updated to bios 0801, and if so did you update in the bios using ez flash 3, because i tried updating but keep getting selected file is not a proper bios!, i tried renaming file to M8R.CAP and not renaming file and leaving at MAXIMUS-VIII-RANGER-ASUS-0801.CAP, but still no go any ideals ?
    Last edited by Daytrader; 09-22-2015 at 08:59 PM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    A little off topic, since you guys are also using the Ranger VIII.
    Do your motherboards also make a single click noise when it's booting up?

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array DamianStr PC Specs
    DamianStr PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core I7 6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 970 Strix OC 4GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX 2015
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X61
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe White
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    DamianStr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by Skiwa View Post
    A little off topic, since you guys are also using the Ranger VIII.
    Do your motherboards also make a single click noise when it's booting up?
    That is the relay on the SupremeFX 2015

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •