Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crasje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    GTX980Ti doesn't show PC startup

    Hi,

    just installed the new Strix GTX980Ti with a new displayport 1.2 cable to my PG280Q.

    when I start-up, I see nothing till my windows loginscreen comes up.

    Do I have to do something in my BIOS set-up so I get the text press F1 with the normal startup bla bla?

    thanks for any tips.

    robert
    Cooler Master Cosmos II (with glass side panel)
    Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid 1300W ATX
    ROG Asus Maximus IX Formula
    Intel Core i7-7700k
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i CPU Cooler
    Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB 3000Mhz
    Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVME M.2 SSD
    Crucial SSD M500 480GB
    Seagate Firecuda 1TB
    Samsung SH-224DB (SATA, 24x)
    ROG Strix Gaming GTX980Ti DC30C 6GD5
    Monitor 1: ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
    Monitor 2: Samsung HDTV T27D590
    ROG Claymore
    ROG Spatha
    ROG Balteus Qi
    Windows 10

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Once the Desktop is up login and then open Monitor settings Menu.
    Select preference and switch between G-sync on/off, also check Nvidia Control Panel settings.
    This behavior has to do with a PlugnPlay Monitor not being detected in POST.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crasje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    Hi,

    to add... I found out that on my secondary (DVI) monitor, my bootup does show. But since thats my TV is seldom on as secondary screen.

    I have checked in windows, my main screen is no 1, and thats correct. And my G-Sync is always on, I will try and turn that off. Reboot and turn it on again.

    I must say, it seems that during boot-up my motherboard seems to think my secondary display is my main display and once windows 10, start, thats corrected and it jump to my primary screen (HDMI).

    thanks for your input, i will try tonight.
    Cooler Master Cosmos II (with glass side panel)
    Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid 1300W ATX
    ROG Asus Maximus IX Formula
    Intel Core i7-7700k
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i CPU Cooler
    Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB 3000Mhz
    Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVME M.2 SSD
    Crucial SSD M500 480GB
    Seagate Firecuda 1TB
    Samsung SH-224DB (SATA, 24x)
    ROG Strix Gaming GTX980Ti DC30C 6GD5
    Monitor 1: ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
    Monitor 2: Samsung HDTV T27D590
    ROG Claymore
    ROG Spatha
    ROG Balteus Qi
    Windows 10

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Hi Crasje,

    Also try disconnecting the secondary and only using the Monitor.
    One at a time.
    If the screen works during POST still check your settings in the On Screen Menu options.

    " I must say, it seems that during boot-up my motherboard seems to think my secondary display is my main display and once windows 10, start, thats corrected and it jump to my primary screen (HDMI). "

    In order to test another type of connection, USB is the only other option for ROG Swift 27" Monitor.
    Only test one type of connection at a time. Example DP or USB.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Ohh ... And you are welcome!

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crasje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    I am now moved to the PG348Q and I still have the same issue. During boot, my second screen is seen as my main screen.

    There is an option to select that in the Nvidia software, but it's not clickable *

    I think it's a bug....*
    Cooler Master Cosmos II (with glass side panel)
    Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid 1300W ATX
    ROG Asus Maximus IX Formula
    Intel Core i7-7700k
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i CPU Cooler
    Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB 3000Mhz
    Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVME M.2 SSD
    Crucial SSD M500 480GB
    Seagate Firecuda 1TB
    Samsung SH-224DB (SATA, 24x)
    ROG Strix Gaming GTX980Ti DC30C 6GD5
    Monitor 1: ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
    Monitor 2: Samsung HDTV T27D590
    ROG Claymore
    ROG Spatha
    ROG Balteus Qi
    Windows 10

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    This happens to me too, especially if you have another monitor using the DVI connection. See to it that you only use that particular monitor and if it fixes your problem. If not, you may want to configure it as your "primary" monitor because sometimes it is not configured to be the main monitor by default.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crasje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    133

    Well, the second monitor is a 27" TV monitor, so I watch TV on but also use it als my second screen, my main screen is the PG348Q... bit strange to make that my second screen....

    btw... when I start my PC, my TV monitor doesn't start automatically, I have to change the input from TV to Computer. I even think, that when everything of and my TV monitor is on input PC, it wont start automatically when I turn on my tv....
    Cooler Master Cosmos II (with glass side panel)
    Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid 1300W ATX
    ROG Asus Maximus IX Formula
    Intel Core i7-7700k
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i CPU Cooler
    Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB 3000Mhz
    Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVME M.2 SSD
    Crucial SSD M500 480GB
    Seagate Firecuda 1TB
    Samsung SH-224DB (SATA, 24x)
    ROG Strix Gaming GTX980Ti DC30C 6GD5
    Monitor 1: ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
    Monitor 2: Samsung HDTV T27D590
    ROG Claymore
    ROG Spatha
    ROG Balteus Qi
    Windows 10

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •