Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array faisal994 PC Specs
    faisal994 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme (X99) Bios ver. 1501
    Processor5930K i7 @4.5 Ghz 1.3V BCLK 127.3
    Memory (part number)CORSAIR Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M4A2800C16B 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4 DRAM 2800MHz C16 B
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GV-N980G1 GAMING-4GD G1 Gaming, GeForce GTX 980, 4GB GDDR5
    Storage #1Samsung 850pro SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB SSHD
    CPU CoolerCorsair h115
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyCorsair RM860
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
    Mouse Logitech G700s Wireless mouse
    OS Windows 8.1 pro
    Accessory #1 WD 3TB My Book HDD
    Accessory #2 2 USB wireless receivers for the mouse and keyboard

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    optical surround sound problem

    Hi, I have a pioneer A\V receiver and its connected to my PC with optical audio using the motherboard's built in sound card(supreme FX I guess) and the 5.1 surround was working fine before I upgraded to WIN 10 from 8.1. I used to select the default format to use 5.1 DTS Interactive, but now when I select it and click on test, a pop up windows says "failed to play test tone" and no sound comes out from anything(games,browsers,windows sounds.... etc) I don't know what is the problem.... And with windows 8.1 when I play something with DTS, my receiver displays "DTS" logo showing that it is detected. Yeah and another thing, on windows playback devices settings, a tab "supported formats" with "DTS audio" and "Dolby digital" when I click test on them they work fine! all my speakers and sub work. SOO WTH IS WRONG??? Please help!! And yes i have the latest realtek updated, just installed it minutes ago.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jezjohnson PC Specs
    jezjohnson PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix X570-F
    ProcessorRyzen 3900x
    Memory (part number)Crucial Ballistix 64GB DDR4-3600 (4x16GB)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080ti
    MonitorLG 32UD99
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket NVME 4.0 2TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 1TB
    CPU CoolerWatercooled EK Supremacy EVO
    CaseCustom Dual Loop - Laing D5 / BlackIce360 / GT1850 on each
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus AX86U

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    192

    This is a Microsoft issue with windows 10, there is a fix which will be rolled out soon hopefully.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Has anyone gotten this fixed? I still have the same error in windows 10

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by jezjohnson View Post
    This is a Microsoft issue with windows 10, there is a fix which will be rolled out soon hopefully.

    Has there been a fix? I also have 1 5.1 Bose soundbar and I cannot get it to process DTS or 5.1 sound. I can do this through my samsung 4k TV no problem. Can someone help please?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array QuinValen PC Specs
    QuinValen PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE V EXTREME/U3.1
    Processori7-5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 64GB 8x8GB Kit #834
    Graphics Card #12x XFX R9 390
    MonitorASUS PB278Q
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate
    CaseThermaltake Chaser MK-I
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitec G510S
    Mouse Logitec G502
    Headset Turtle Beach Stealth
    Headset/Speakers Creative T77007 7.1 Surround
    OS Win10 Pro, Win7 Ultimate, Slackware/Slack64 14.2 Linux
    Network RouterAsus TM-AC1900
    Accessory #1 Front Base or OC Panel II
    QuinValen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    19

    Have you let your computer go into full sleep mode?

    Sound Blaster X-Fi had similar issue, and the fix that worked : put the computer in full standby/sleep to resolve the issue both Windows 7 & 10 and the drivers had. Had to sleep it again if driver updated. Something about how drivers reacted when waking vs booting.
    Last edited by QuinValen; 03-09-2016 at 01:45 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by QuinValen View Post
    Have you let your computer go into full sleep mode?

    Sound Blaster X-Fi had similar issue, and the fix that worked : put the computer in full standby/sleep to resolve the issue both Windows 7 & 10 and the drivers had. Had to sleep it again if driver updated. Something about how drivers reacted when waking vs booting.
    nothing to do with sleep mode. I have shut down and restarted so many times its not even funny. I have even tried hacked drivers.

    On my Rampage V extreme all I need is for DTS to work via the optical out.... It works fine in windows 7

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array smokeintheeye PC Specs
    smokeintheeye PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme (X99) Bios 3101
    ProcessorI7 5820K @ 4.6GHz @ 1.285v
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX XMP @ 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI R9-290 Gaming @ 1100/1375
    MonitorPhilips 4K BDM4065UC
    CPU CoolerSupr EVO X99 + 360 Rad + 1000ml Res + Swiftech MCP655
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 AMBI lighting
    smokeintheeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    279

    well have to say after reading this im in the same boat. i have a 4.1 sound bar over optc and cant get DTS to work at all on windows 10. realtek drivers are all upto date but cant do out with DTS in any settings yet i have a DTS sound bar. be nice to know if theres a fix or what to do to get it working.


    Any Reputation is welcome. thanks

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jezjohnson PC Specs
    jezjohnson PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix X570-F
    ProcessorRyzen 3900x
    Memory (part number)Crucial Ballistix 64GB DDR4-3600 (4x16GB)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080ti
    MonitorLG 32UD99
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket NVME 4.0 2TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 1TB
    CPU CoolerWatercooled EK Supremacy EVO
    CaseCustom Dual Loop - Laing D5 / BlackIce360 / GT1850 on each
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus AX86U

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    192

    Hi, see my post on the other thread, might help.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post580149

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •