Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Optimus2 PC Specs
    Optimus2 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Ranger
    Processor6600K
    Memory (part number)16Gb 2400 Kingston Fury
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro R390
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 250Gb
    Storage #2WD 1Tb Blue
    CPU CoolerScythe Kotetsu
    CaseR4 Define windowed
    Power SupplyEvga 750 G2
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Maxmimus VIII Ranger installation

    Hi,

    Sorry if this is in the wrong place. I am about to build my 1st PC and I am a little unsure about how to install what and in what order.

    I have heard some issues regarding the Ranger and often the fix mentioned is to update the BIOS. When I have ran my first POST test, should I update the BIOS at that point and then install OS followed by drivers?

    My plan is to do it this way, install 8.1, then upgrade to W10.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    You don't have to but it may be best to update your bios before you install your OS, either using bios flashback or EZflash methods, instructions are in the manual, your plan is solid

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Stick with your shipping BIOS for now. If you later find out that your system is unstable and a newer BIOS can fix it, then update.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Optimus2 PC Specs
    Optimus2 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Ranger
    Processor6600K
    Memory (part number)16Gb 2400 Kingston Fury
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro R390
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 250Gb
    Storage #2WD 1Tb Blue
    CPU CoolerScythe Kotetsu
    CaseR4 Define windowed
    Power SupplyEvga 750 G2
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hey,

    So, I managed to get the CPU installed and cooler and RAM and did a post test with my GPU. All OK, but the keyboard wasn't detected.. I used a USB to PS/2 connector as well. This might be a problem.

    My main issue now is getting the board INTO the case. I have a Fractal R4 Define w/window. I cannot get the USB 3.1 to line up with the IO Shield. I am getting quite scared that I damage the mobo trying to line it up with the standoffs and pushing the ports into the IO Shield. There is padding on the IO Shield, but apparently that should stay there?

    Any help appreciated. This and the news that my Scythe Kotetsu may cause damage to my CPU is not making this go smoothly at all...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Try not to overtighten the screws and you should be fine. If not, change it for another heatsink. Regarding the I/O Shield, it should line up with the motherboard. Verify that your motherboard is seated correctly on the standoffs in your case.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Optimus2 PC Specs
    Optimus2 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Ranger
    Processor6600K
    Memory (part number)16Gb 2400 Kingston Fury
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro R390
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 250Gb
    Storage #2WD 1Tb Blue
    CPU CoolerScythe Kotetsu
    CaseR4 Define windowed
    Power SupplyEvga 750 G2
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    125

    Hi again,

    Managed to get everything built. I had to apply some pressure to get the mobo in place, but it all worked out. The padding foam on the IO shield is pretty thick.

    I have installed Windows 8.1 and was about to upgrade to 10, when I realised that I have no audio..

    Using BIOS 0508. that came with the board. Installed the latest audio drivers - showing as 6.0.1.7629, under Realtek High Defintion Audio & 6.3.9600.16384 under High Definition Audio Device in Device Manager..

    PS - I do have audio on the front panel, just not from the back..

    PPS - So this is becoming a monologue. Seemed to start working after tinkering in the Supreme FX settings. I am 100% that I had set it to default device, but maybe not... Sound isn't as good as my old ASUS P5N-E SLI though, and that is OLD!
    Last edited by Optimus2; 12-09-2015 at 09:56 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •