Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    What method are you guys using to do the bios update? In bios itself or via the bios flashback usb option?

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I always use my favorite method i.e. Ez flash utility from the bios and never have problems using this method.
    Last edited by salman31; 09-16-2015 at 01:29 AM.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Tumas View Post
    Thank you for your answer. Unfortunately AI Suite 3 still crashes on my system. I was using the suite with the 5 way optimization function (Target-Mhz to 4300 on my 6600k) before the update and did not change anything else. After upgrading from the 501 (not sure aboutthe exact number) to the 801 version without changing anything else AI Suite 3 crashes. It autostarts minimized with windows 10 but after a few minutes it "disappears" from the taskbar. Or if i open the interface up it will give me the error message after a few minutes.
    I tried to re-run the opimization but there was not difference regarding the crashes.
    Same problem here. Any news/fixes or should I just stick to editing anything Ai Suite related inside the BIOS?

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    So i even went a step further and reloaded the default bios settings. I then clean installed windows 10, but the issue remained. But today i noticed that the little taskbar icon did not disappear (even when i hover over it, which usually refreshes the taskbar and resulted in a disappearence of the AI Suite icon = crash). Meaning AI Suite 3 did not crash this time. But i did not change anything since yesterday so i am not really sure what's happening here. I usually takes a few minutes (~5min) after a fresh reboot when the crash happens.

    The other thing about BIOS vs AI Suite 3 on my system is, that the fan optimization is not the same. With Ai Suite 3 the fans seem to "work better" (they are quieter) than when i only use the bios without the AI Suite 3. Maybe it's only my imagination but i prefer AI Suite 3 then

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Try uninstalling AISuite, update to the latest beta bios, reinstall the motherboard drivers, then reinstall AISuite

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    210

    Quote Originally Posted by salman31 View Post
    I always use my favorite method i.e. Ez flash utility from the bios and never have problems using this method.
    I just got a ranger board, trying to update to 0801, i tried update in the bios using ez flash 3, because i tried updating but keep getting selected file is not a proper bios!, i tried renaming file to M8R.CAP and not renaming file and leaving at MAXIMUS-VIII-RANGER-ASUS-0801.CAP, but still no go any ideals ?

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I just put MAXIMUS-VIII-RANGER-ASUS-0801.CAP on a USB drive and it upgraded fine within BIOS.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    210

    Wonder what my problem is then

  9. #19
    niROGi Array d5aqoep PC Specs
    d5aqoep PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z270 Mximus IX HERO
    Processori7 6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1070 FE

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    New bios 0905 is out guys.

    Link here

    I installed it and reset all settings to default. Rebooted ans selected XMP 3000 Mhz profile as my RAM is G.Skill Ripjaws 4 PC2400 3000 Mhz.

    Then I booted into Memtest and RAM passed at 3000 Mhz. Previously it used to error out.

    But my PC takes good 20 seconds to POST (From press of power button till the display to appear on monitor) when RAM is running at 3000 Mhz. Something to do with motherboard struggling to apply XMP profile.
    However, it POSTS in just 2-3 seconds when XMP is 2800.

    Overall 0905 is a good BIOS.
    Last edited by d5aqoep; 10-02-2015 at 12:47 PM.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    210

    Did you use usb flashback to update the bios ?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •