Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 41 to 47 of 47
  1. #41
    ROG Member Array Wizzzzard PC Specs
    Wizzzzard PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorSkylake 6700k
    Memory (part number)16gig 3200mhz gskill ripjaws
    Graphics Card #1GTX980oc ed
    Sound CardAuzentech XFI Forte
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 256mb
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 256mb
    CPU CoolerThermalright Venomous-X
    CaseThermaltake Chaser MK-I
    Power SupplyToPower T-750 Modular
    Mouse Logitech G5
    Headset Superlux 668B
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z506
    OS Windows 7 64
    Network Router100mbit Netgear cable modem with onboard gigabit router

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Thank you

    Before I tell you to try adjusting some voltages does your pc boot all the time at default settings? That is to say with your ram at 2133MHz?

    In the bios hit the F5 key to reset to defaults and see how it boots, if it boots every time then try this:

    Extreme Tweaker Tab

    AI Overclock Tuner - XMP

    VCCIO voltage 1.15v - 1.20v
    CPU System Agent voltage 1.15v - 1.20v

    Start with both at 1.15v then F10 and Enter to save and exit, if it's still giving you problems try both at 1.20v.

    Is it any better?
    I changed the ram speed to 2133 and it's now loading to windows every time.

  2. #42
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Ok, this tells us your ram is unstable when enabling XMP.

    Try setting both the VCCIO voltage and CPU System Agent voltage at 1.20v, then enable XMP and F10 and Enter to save and exit.

    Are you able to boot to windows?

    If not try them both at 1.25v.

  3. #43
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hero alpha

    Hey I have similar issues with the motherboard,

    My PC doesn't shutdown even after reinstalling Windows 10 and clearing CMOS. I have tried many solutions but didn't work either. Please help!


    My PC specs

    I7-6700k
    Corsair dominator platinum 16gb
    Strix 1070
    Maximus 8 hero alpha
    *

  4. #44
    ROG Member Array Wizzzzard PC Specs
    Wizzzzard PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorSkylake 6700k
    Memory (part number)16gig 3200mhz gskill ripjaws
    Graphics Card #1GTX980oc ed
    Sound CardAuzentech XFI Forte
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 256mb
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 256mb
    CPU CoolerThermalright Venomous-X
    CaseThermaltake Chaser MK-I
    Power SupplyToPower T-750 Modular
    Mouse Logitech G5
    Headset Superlux 668B
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z506
    OS Windows 7 64
    Network Router100mbit Netgear cable modem with onboard gigabit router

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Thank you

    Before I tell you to try adjusting some voltages does your pc boot all the time at default settings? That is to say with your ram at 2133MHz?

    In the bios hit the F5 key to reset to defaults and see how it boots, if it boots every time then try this:

    Extreme Tweaker Tab

    AI Overclock Tuner - XMP

    VCCIO voltage 1.15v - 1.20v
    CPU System Agent voltage 1.15v - 1.20v

    Start with both at 1.15v then F10 and Enter to save and exit, if it's still giving you problems try both at 1.20v.

    Is it any better?
    I thought I better leave it and make sure it boots for a week or so, yesterday it failed to boot again so it's not stable even at stock settings, I wonder if there's a bios update that may help.

  5. #45
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Sure you can try updating the bios, it can be found at the asus support center.

    https://www.asus.com/us/support/

  6. #46
    ROG Member Array Wizzzzard PC Specs
    Wizzzzard PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorSkylake 6700k
    Memory (part number)16gig 3200mhz gskill ripjaws
    Graphics Card #1GTX980oc ed
    Sound CardAuzentech XFI Forte
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 256mb
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 256mb
    CPU CoolerThermalright Venomous-X
    CaseThermaltake Chaser MK-I
    Power SupplyToPower T-750 Modular
    Mouse Logitech G5
    Headset Superlux 668B
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z506
    OS Windows 7 64
    Network Router100mbit Netgear cable modem with onboard gigabit router

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I have updated the bios from 1202 to 2202, there were a few stability fixes between 1202 and 2202 so hopefully that helps.

    I re-enabled xmp, put the ram back to 3200mhz then loaded windows and rebooted 10 times and then did a half dozen cold starts with no issues.

    I just finished getting intel speedstep working again, it took me days to figure this out the first time, intel speedstep isn't enabled by default in the bios and instead Asus MCE is, who in their right mind wouldn't want the cpu to throttle back to save power when the system is idle by default, especially when Asus MCE doesn't seem to work properly on the 6700k, it's meant to overclock all cores to 4.2ghz under load but instead the cpu is stuck at 4ghz and never changes. I wish Asus would not enable this by default.


    Do you know of any other bios settings that should be changed from stock?

  7. #47
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    That is sounding great Wizzzzzard !

    If your cpu is ramping up to 4200MHz under load and throttling the speed and voltage when at idle then there isn't much to change.

    You can disable Bluetooth and WiFi if you don't use those, advanced tab, onboard device configuration.

    You can set pcie to GEN 3, enable fast boot and little things like that.

    You can probably lower the cpu voltage to 1.20v for stock settings and in DiGi+ set LLC to level 3 or 4.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •