Page 15 of 17 FirstFirst ... 5 13 14 15 16 17 LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 161
  1. #141
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Hello there,

    It's been a long time since I did my Win7Pro/Win10Pro UEFI dual boot, based on these instructions (https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...982#post560982). Now, the need for the Win7 has passed, so I'd like to delete it. The installations are both on the same SSD which I partitioned into two partitions (see attachment; sorry, it is in Finnish). I believe I installed Win7 first and then Win10. I am using Win10 boot menu. If I choose Win7, the computer restarts into Win7. If I choose Win10, it loads directly into Win10.

    I have googled quite a lot and have seen quite many different approaches. @Gps3dx: How would you suggest I should proceed?

    Thanks!
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos system_disc.png  


  2. #142
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    772

    Quote Originally Posted by Saipher View Post
    Hello there,

    It's been a long time since I did my Win7Pro/Win10Pro UEFI dual boot, based on these instructions (https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...982#post560982). Now, the need for the Win7 has passed, so I'd like to delete it. The installations are both on the same SSD which I partitioned into two partitions (see attachment; sorry, it is in Finnish). I believe I installed Win7 first and then Win10. I am using Win10 boot menu. If I choose Win7, the computer restarts into Win7. If I choose Win10, it loads directly into Win10.

    I have googled quite a lot and have seen quite many different approaches. @Gps3dx: How would you suggest I should proceed?

    Thanks!
    that's easy problem - just wipe win7 partition, (if you wish, it isn't mandatory) extend win10 partition onto the wiped area - BOTH OF THE OPERATION IS RECOMMENDED TO DO USING A WINPE OS - NOT THROUGH THE ACTUAL INSTALLED WINDOWS.

    Then reboot with win10 installation disk to fix the bootloader & BCD ( look here for more info ).

    you can also use an app like EASYUEFI to edit the BCD ( and wipe win7 boot line ) through the installed windows 10.

    lastly - since you're UEFI booting - in the laptop/PC bios boot screens there might be still a win7 boot line, even that you've wipe it from the bcd and its dedicated partition.... there should be a way in the bios to wipe that boot option.

    in the end the you need 3 things to boot win10 correctly:

    1. an EFI bootloader file in the ESP (1st partition)
    2. a BCD with correct boot info on the win10 partition ( to boot win10, and w/o win7 boot lines )
    3. changing bios (UEFI) default EFI to boot after bios startup - I.E setting window's EFI bootloader as default "boot file" ( instead of win7 line, if exist and not wiped from ).

    G.L.

  3. #143
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    772

    VERY IMPORTANT TIP for everyone with Win10 1709, 1803+ editions - if your games are extremely slow and laggish:

    1. WIPE your current Nvidia drivers using DDU -> reboot.
    2. download latest NVIDIA driver v378.xx ( which is v378.92 ) install
    3. STAY ON THAT NVIDIA DRIVER VERSION - DO NOT UPDATE TO ANY NEW VERSION TILL MS FIXES THEIR DAMN WDDM 2.2/2.3 !

    I'm personally using win 10 x64 1803 on my G751JT-
    I got ~29 FPS in one of my games's benchmark, when I used any of the latest nvidia drivers ( 398.36 / 398.58 beta ).
    Immediately after wiping driver and installing nvidia driver v378.92 I got ~56 FPS !!! using the same game benchmark and using the same HW/SW configuration (but that nvidia driver change ).

    Source for that tip HERE & HERE

    UPDATE -
    although downgrading to v378.92 did solve the low FPS issue, I think I managed to solve it as well with the latest v398.58 beta driver ( which I didn't before ).
    it's not that it's due to a beta version or being latest driver - but because of DAMN windows !

    I solved it by doing 2 things that I think are related -
    1. Edit registry, and mainly changing "GameDVR_FSEBehaviorMode" and "GameDVR_FSEBehaviorMode" to 0 value instead of default 2 - under registry "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\System\GameConfigStore".
    To make your life easy, copy the following to a txt file, rename it with .reg extension and run it. ( please BACKUP previous values )
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\System\GameConfigStore]
    "GameDVR_Enabled"=dword:00000000
    "GameDVR_FSEBehaviorMode"=dword:00000000
    "GameDVR_HonorUserFSEBehaviorMode"=dword:00000000
    "GameDVR_DXGIHonorFSEWindowsCompatible"=dword:00000000
    "GameDVR_EFSEFeatureFlags"=dword:00000000
    "GameDVR_FSEBehavior"=dword:00000000
    "Win32_AutoGameModeDefaultProfile"=hex:02,00,01,00,00,00,c4,20,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00
    "Win32_GameModeRelatedProcesses"=hex:01,00,01,00,01,00,c0,00,c6,02,50,54,c7,02,\
      70,00,61,00,6e,00,65,00,6c,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00,65,00,00,00,8c,00,4e,8d,e1,\
      74,b8,ed,d2,02,18,4c,c7,02,1e,00,00,00,b8,ed,d2,02,1e,00,00,00,0f,00,00,00,\
      30,e7,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
    2. Open SETTINGS -> Gaming -> Game Mode -> Graphics Settings -> Choose "Classic app" from the drop-down-list then BROWSE and add each of your games execute to the list -> click each of them AND SELECT OPTIONS -> HIGH PERFORMANCE.

  4. #144
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    772

    MORE TIPS for getting higher FPS when gaming on Win 10 1709 or 1803 releases:

    • Open SETTINGS -> Gaming -> Game Mode -> Graphics Settings -> Choose "Classic app" from the drop-down-list & BROWSE and add each of your games execute to the list -> click each of them AND SELECT OPTIONS -> HIGH PERFORMANCE.
      ( please "play" with that settings, as ppl on the web complained that if a game is on that list, actually games performance got worse - SO YOU MIGHT WANT TO DISABLE ENTIRELY THE WINDOWS GAMING MODE !!!)
    • Open SETTINGS -> Gaming -> Game Bar -> DISABLE "record game clips ...using gamebar".
    • DISABLE "core parking"
    • DISABLE "Windows Defender" ( but have other BETTER A/V app installed, I recommend FREE comodo internet security ).
    • While gaming, lower TIMER RESOLUTION to 0.5ms using THIS APP.
    • Empty Standby Memory using a 5-min repeated task which runs EmptyStandbyList.exe OR EVEN BETTER, USE "Intelligent standby list cleaner" ( by the same developer of DDU )
    • Disable FOCUS ASSIST by right click the right-most icon in the systray and choose OFF.
      ( AFAIK it's only for win 10 1803 - it mainly solves games crashes when alt+tab, don't think it effects FPS )
    • Disable LargePage - might help against micro-stutter


    2 Oct 2018 - UPDATE: Windows 10 1809 (SR5) released to the public !
    I've personally upgraded my G751JT from 1803 to 1809 - the transition was mostly smooth, I only had to reinstall the special audio drivers to enable back digital 5.1 audio through SPDIF.
    Gaming experience IS MUCH MUCH BETTER ! NO MICRO-STUTTER IN 3 different games ( which I had on 1803 ) and slight higher FPS in-game. ( tested with Nvidia graphics driver v411.70 ).
    while testing, I only used standby list cleaner, reduce timer resolution, and DISABLED both core parking & ANY gaming mode.

    Also, I noticed that when G-sync is configured to work for 'windowed' apps, many windows built-in UWP app's buttons are changing into black rectangles and any text I input being changed as well. ( THIS ISSUE EXISTED ON 1803 AS WELL ! )
    To solve it, one must toggle G-sync to "full screen mode" ONLY ( i.e NO windowed ! ).
    UPDATE in related to G-sync & UWP: I manage to solve it even better by toggling back global G-sync settings so that it can work for windowed apps as well BUT I'VE EXCLUDED G-SYNC (disabled it selectively) FOR EACH PROBLEMATIC UWP APP in the Nvidia control panel ( same as you control G-sync option for games there ).

  5. #145
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I've got a G703GI-XS98K coming in this Friday and want it to be the best it can be.

    You think I can follow this guide "for the most part" for a nice sweet clean OS install?

  6. #146
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    772

    Quote Originally Posted by SerosRDPS View Post
    I've got a G703GI-XS98K coming in this Friday and want it to be the best it can be.
    You think I can follow this guide "for the most part" for a nice sweet clean OS install?
    if your laptop inc NVME SSDs OR RAID ( either AHCI or NVME ) you might need to read some more... which is the same for most G752 laptop as I linked in the top of the 1st post in my guide.
    GL.

  7. #147
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,108

    Quote Originally Posted by SerosRDPS View Post
    I've got a G703GI-XS98K coming in this Friday and want it to be the best it can be.

    You think I can follow this guide "for the most part" for a nice sweet clean OS install?

    You'll cause yourself more aggravation by clean installing a new OS on a new notebook. Totally unnecessary Any Bloatware you don't like you can uninstall easily. and probably will give you some issues. Much better you install Macrium Reflect Free and Image you OS SSD before you screw everything up. at least that way you can easily get back to where you were before you started screwing things up. With windows ten clean installs are not helpful unless your totally screwed up and have no other way out. Thus the Macrium Reflect Image. Will take you all of 20 minutes to get back where you were when you created the Image!!! Good luck with our new notebook.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  8. #148
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    192

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    You'll cause yourself more aggravation by clean installing a new OS on a new notebook. Totally unnecessary Any Bloatware you don't like you can uninstall easily. and probably will give you some issues. Much better you install Macrium Reflect Free and Image you OS SSD before you screw everything up. at least that way you can easily get back to where you were before you started screwing things up. With windows ten clean installs are not helpful unless your totally screwed up and have no other way out. Thus the Macrium Reflect Image. Will take you all of 20 minutes to get back where you were when you created the Image!!! Good luck with our new notebook.
    Does that image program generally provide the best image option? I have nvme and an extra storage ssd. Apparently I can't use the windows image utility to create an image anymore? It says I can't do it and save to my storage drive.

  9. #149
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,108

    Quote Originally Posted by Guitarmageddon888 View Post
    Does that image program generally provide the best image option? I have nvme and an extra storage ssd. Apparently I can't use the windows image utility to create an image anymore? It says I can't do it and save to my storage drive.
    What OS are you using? I'm on windows 10 1809 and have no issues with creating Images or differentials to full drive or partitions. I'm running daily backups on 4 computer well 5 now and haven't seen the issue your typing about perhaps it was the software you were trying to use. MR just works Period.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  10. #150
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    772

    Quote Originally Posted by Guitarmageddon888 View Post
    Does that image program generally provide the best image option? I have nvme and an extra storage ssd. Apparently I can't use the windows image utility to create an image anymore? It says I can't do it and save to my storage drive.
    when you wrote "windows image utility" you meant the app from MS that downloads the windows installation image which then suppose to help you to create a bootable USB ?

    if that's the issue - you can manually download the ISO, then use 3rd party FREE apps to create such bootable USB ( see RUFUS in the lower part of that guide )
    Lastly, please make sure you understand how to UEFI boot and install an OS - read the OP to learn more.

    P.S - if you're getting win10 1809, please download ONLY 177663.107 (NOT *.1) otherwise if making an upgrade from previous windows versions, you're risking possible files deletion ( with *.1 version that is ).

Page 15 of 17 FirstFirst ... 5 13 14 15 16 17 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •