Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    PG278Q wont turn on with rest of system.

    The last 2 weeks i have been experiencing a strange issue with my PG278Q monitor. After normal system shutdown, the monitor will stay turned off and unresponsive when i turn on my system. The only fix i have found so far, is unplugging and plugging the power from the socket. After 2-3 times it will blink and turn on with logo, and then work fine until system shutdown again.

    At least i found a way of getting an image on my monitor, but its not what i expected of a product in this price range.

    Should i RMA or is there a software related fix?

    I already tried setting the power settings to "never" in the display setting.

    Any help is Appreciated!

    My system:

    MB: Asus Rampage IV Formula rev 1.xx
    CPU: Intel Core I7-3930k
    GPU: Asus Gtx 780 ti DirectCU II OC
    OS: Windows 8.1 Professional Build 9600
    RAM: 4x 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600 / PC3-12800
    BIOS: Version 4901

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Spoonhandle PC Specs
    Spoonhandle PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15D-16GVR
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX980TI-DC3OC-6GD5-GAMING
    MonitorBenQ XL2420Z
    Storage #1Samsung 240 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Toshiba 3TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerSeidon 240M
    CaseCM 690 III
    Power SupplyV1000
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G502
    Headset A40
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterRT-N66U
    Spoonhandle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Exact same problem I've been having for the last week. Thought I solved it by disabling global GSync and setting Gsync per game in 3D Profiles, but GSync won't work that way apparently and it crapped out again tonight. Not quite sure what the problem is... bad power supply? bad monitor? No idea; I'm getting close to submitting for an RMA. Nice to see we're paying so much to beta test this monitor for ASUS.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I'm having exact same issue as well.. Also for 2 weeks now.

    Monitor won't turn on anymore after been in sleep mode in a while or after its shutdown for a while. Only way to turn it back on is remove the power cable from the socket so the ROG logo turns up. Can it be that the PSU is defective or the monitor itself?

    Also this has nothing to do with my PC, if you have DisplayPort disconnected and you let it go from no signal to sleep mode, it will shutdown permanently within 10 minutes or so. Afterwards you won't be able to turn it on again and need to do power cable reset again
    Last edited by bchocotoff; 10-03-2015 at 03:49 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Spoonhandle PC Specs
    Spoonhandle PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15D-16GVR
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX980TI-DC3OC-6GD5-GAMING
    MonitorBenQ XL2420Z
    Storage #1Samsung 240 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Toshiba 3TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerSeidon 240M
    CaseCM 690 III
    Power SupplyV1000
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G502
    Headset A40
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterRT-N66U
    Spoonhandle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    I wonder if this is a widespread issue, or we are just part of a bad batch.. how long have you had your monitors? Any idea what the mfg date of your monitors are? (Seems like I remember coming across that on the box or somewhere)

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I have the same issue but it does not seem to be the monitor but maybe the adapter. I already had 2 RMA trips but they fail to send a new adapter and all the screens i get in return are having lots of issues.

    In details check my post here:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...still-counting

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Bal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    I have the same problem, I did rma because I couldn't stand to rehook adapter every single time
    New monitor I just received today has 2 dead pixels (hard to see) and the power issue continues
    I updated mobo bios but that was irrelevant
    Can't be a psu or any other issue, that is merely with power adapter or the monitor cable where you hook to mobo
    Such a big disappointment, I will rma new one they sent and ask for all cables too.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Bal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Update: tonight when I wanted to turn the monitor on as usual (rehook the power cables) and I hated that, it doesn't work out anymore. Monitor did not turn on whatever I tried.
    I bought the item on January from amazon, I will try asking them to take it back and see what happens. I mean this is just not right.. it can happen after warranty and then I will be ****ed.

    So this is what gonna happen guys, it will not start after a point. (ones having same issue with me)

    I was wondering if you have the same model nr for your adapter as mine?


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0003.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	837.9 KB 
ID:	53335
    Last edited by Bal; 10-29-2015 at 11:14 PM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I have the same issue as Bal and the same adapter model number.
    Where can i issue a refund from asus, cause these issues are taking me 3 months already...

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Bal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by Jordy View Post
    I have the same issue as Bal and the same adapter model number.
    Where can i issue a refund from asus, cause these issues are taking me 3 months already...
    Well please let me know if they issue a refund, I'm hopeless about that as 9 Months has passed since I bought it. For replacement do an RMA from asus support, from this link
    https://eu-rma.asus.com

    Ask them to send a new adapter.
    Good luck
    Asus GTX 980 Strix OC III Intel Core I7-4790K 4GHz III Maximus VII Formula
    Corsair Vengeance Pro Rot 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133 MHz III Rog Swift PG278Q




    True wisdom is in knowing you know nothing

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Bal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    I did rma for second time, waiting for a replacement since 10/15

    Can you guys update, did you solve the power issue?
    Last edited by Bal; 10-29-2015 at 10:16 AM.
    Asus GTX 980 Strix OC III Intel Core I7-4790K 4GHz III Maximus VII Formula
    Corsair Vengeance Pro Rot 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133 MHz III Rog Swift PG278Q




    True wisdom is in knowing you know nothing

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •