Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 96
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    After a fresh install of Windows 7 home premium, had another freeze in battlefront.

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array UnknownEngineer PC Specs
    UnknownEngineer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Ranger
    Processori7 6700K
    Memory (part number)Crucial Ballistics Sport (2x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 970 Gigabyte G1
    Storage #1128GB Sandisk Ultra Plus
    Storage #23TB Seagate
    CPU CoolerCorsair h110i GTX
    CaseBitfenix Ghost
    Power Supply750W EVGA supernova G2
    Keyboard G170+
    Mouse G502
    Headset Creative Fatality
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Windows 10
    UnknownEngineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by Ruuuuuuube View Post
    I get slowdown in the battlefront beta and then freeze and crash. Running windows 10, uninstalled realtek driver. Lowered graphics settings and put refresh rate to 60hz (have 144hz monitor). Lowering the refresh sort of helped but still getting noticeable slow down. Tested memory using windows test and memtest. I put everything back to stock so no overclock and no xmp memory profile.

    Thinking of returning this board.
    Quote Originally Posted by Adampvp View Post
    After a fresh install of Windows 7 home premium, had another freeze in battlefront.
    I am starting to think that there is a manufacturing error with the Z170 series of boards, I have seen people with Ranger and Hero boards complaining about this issue. And there have been allot of people complaining. Even I just had another freeze in Armored Warfare, Ranger 8 BIOS 1001, everything stock with GPU UNDERCLOCKED!! I was using the generic audio driver, uptime was ~4 hours.

  3. #23
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I'm getting the same Event ID 56 and I get freezes at login and when rebooting. I also have this problem where the computer just takes forever to reboot. Seemed to get worse with Ai Suite or GPU Tweak installed. I wrote a post of my specific problem here if anyone is interested:

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...gin-Freeze-ups

    I've played a bit, Batman Arkham Knight but no crashes so far.

  4. #24
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I found this old thread with a similar issue with ACPI errors.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...le-ACPI-Errors

    Seems the motherboards from Asus have had this going on for some time. Interestingly there is a post where someone noticed that the ACPI errors became more frequent after installing AISuite 3. Kind of what I saw in my system. I'm trying a restore that doesn't have AISuite installed see what the event viewer looks like.

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Hey, how has it been since update KB3093266?

    It was a recent 500mb windows update, im hardly ever seeing error 56 and havent had a crash yet.

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    I found information from Microsoft Support Forum, they confirmed that Event ID 56 is caused by Z170 chipset (all z170 motherboard have this problem) , and case is passed to Intel for following up.

  7. #27
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    After researching this problem quite a bit I found out that it's very likely it's a Z170 chipset problem and not only affecting Asus boards but pretty much all the Z170 out there. According to a post by one of the users at the Microsoft Support site Asus will be rolling out a Bios update pretty soon for the Z170-P and Z170-K boards. Hopefully they will also update the MVIII boards as well. A lot of owners of these boards are complaining about freezes and boot and reboot problems, not sure if it's all related but I can't find any other explanation. Z97 or Z99 users don't have this issue and there was one forum user that had an AsRock Z170 board with the same problem then returned it and got an Asus Z170 replaced PSU, graphics card and memory and still got the error.

    I see many users in this forum that have these problems come to this forum for help even though this looks more an Intel problem than Asus it's a shame that ROG being an Asus brand has not been actively informing about any of this letting us users to continue to waste our time trying to dig up any information.

    here is the link to the thread over at Microsoft:
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...00dc160?auth=1

    Asus actually replied to one of the users saying this:

    "Dear Valued Customer,

    I'm so sorry for the delayed response due to I just got the feedback of our technician.

    Regarding this problem, our technical team has confirmed the same phenomenon.
    This problem will happen on every startup and reboot.

    It's not related with driver/software.
    It could be confirmed on Z170 and B150 chipset motherboards, not only ours, but also other makers' motherboard.

    Z97 series motherboards do not have such problem.
    We cosidered this problem is casued by chipset.
    We will feedback this issue to intel as we hereby inform you with this mail."


    Hope this helps someone.

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    The problem of AI Suite III initiating or making the problem worse is most likely due to that software utilizing the Intel Management Engine Interface drivers through the chipset, which houses the ACPI. The only way this is getting fixed is if Intel/Asus fix it through an Intel MEI driver update.

    If you guys want to experiment, try different or older Intel MEI drivers and test. Windows 10 will install a newer IMEI driver on a clean install. See if that one works, but if not, install one from Asus' support site and test.

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    I may have fixed the issue -

    I am using crucial ballistix sport ddr4 2400mhz ram (4x8gb).

    I have changed the clock speed to 2133mhz, whilst keeping the xmp profile on. (therefore keeping voltage and timings the same).

    This is on a fresh windows 10 pro install, no drivers installed (only stock/whatever windows update has downloaded, no Asus utilities).
    I have been stable for 24 hrs, receiving only 3 event 56 but NO FREEZES. In this time I have had my pc turned on for 14 hrs, 5 hours on guild wars 2, 2 hours on battlefield 4, internet browsing. Usually I would have crashed long ago.

    Therefore I suspect DDR4 and XMP profile support on the motherboard.

    Try setting memory to 2133mhz with the XMP profile turned on. If this doesnt work, maybe just try default ram settings (not rated or xmp, simply default)?

    I will update if I get another freeze.
    Last edited by Adampvp; 10-16-2015 at 10:49 AM.

  10. #30
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Maximus VIII Hero
    i7-6700k
    4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2666mhz
    BIOS 1001

    I wanted to chime in and say that AdamPVP is on to something.
    I just assembled my machine today and when I tried to run a 3dMark benchmark Win10 BSOD with a memory error. (100% stock settings in BIOS except disabling the cpu_fan monitor because I have an H110i watercooler)
    I booted up memtest86 and the tests failed on Test 5.
    I first thought maybe I had a bad batch of memory but decided to check online if others had issues, since this is pretty new setup so we're bound to have first adopter issues, and I found this thread.
    I did what adampvp said, enabled XMP but then set the clock back down to ddr4-2133 and now I don't have any errors in memtest..
    Going to let it burn for a while and then I'll attempt 3dMark again.

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •