Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Ram kit 16x2 or just one 32 kit - Maximus VII Hero i7 4790k

    Hello everyone I just bought 2 x CMD16GX3M2A1600C9 to get 32gb of ram on my desk , everything seems to work correctly . But I wanted to know because now returned to my provider available one kit 32gb ( CMD32GX3M4A1600C9 ) which compared to my two kit supports quad channel .
    My question is : is more convenient to use one kit 32 ? and also whether I should take this one kit 32 with my 4790k and Maximus VII Hero I could exploit the Quad Channel or would normally 2xDual Channel ?
    Last edited by michele.miele1991; 10-11-2015 at 09:20 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,686

    HI michele.miele1991

    Recommend you use one kit. Mixing kits, even of the same spec can be problematic. Check the DIMMs you choose are on the ASUS QVL.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    thanks for the quick response , I consulted the instruction manual of the ram compatible and popped what I just bought CMD16GX3M2A1600C9 . So I bought 2 sets of this series placed on manual so basically I built myself kit 32gb . Now that I found the kit available directly from 32gb would like to know whether it is worth taking that although not shown in the manual of the ram , partly because the latter is able to support quad channel feature that I doubt I can exploit my hardware but I since you retroadattano also dual channel so I ask you what should I do if staying with two kits from 16gb to 32gb or take directly

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Hello michelle.mielle1991

    If it's working with two 16GB kits I don't see the need to return it. As MeanMachine says though you want to get a single kit rather than combining two identical kits to avoid potential problems, sometimes you get lucky and sometimes you don't.

    In this case if it's working for you, might as well use it.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    I activated the XMP profile for now is fine but I got to run long session games or something before you run into a problem I would fix by installing the kit 32gb which by the way is also quad channel even with my cpu and mb not believe either possibiel get it ... I am tempted to buy the kit 32gb

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array LordofPressure PC Specs
    LordofPressure PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)normal PC
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core I7-4790K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M2A2133C9 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1GTX 770 Vendor=Gigabyte, name=Windforce3x
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqmax II 240
    CaseSharkoon Big Tower
    Power SupplyEnermax Platimax 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech
    Mouse LogiLink optical usb
    OS Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    hello michele.miele1991

    please listen and read the posts from Natel52 and MeanMachine.
    Maximus VII Hero with I7-4790K (i have the same components too) don't support Quad-Channel. Ever higher the capacity from a single RAM-chip , so much more can cause it problems.
    One RAM-chip in a slot =single-channel , two RAM-chips (example: 2x16GB as Kit) = 32GB Dual-Channel. 4 Slots with 4 RAM-chips (4xKit) = 4x8GB = 32GB Dual.
    I7-4790K supports only Single or Dual-channel. i think you don't need more than 32GB capacity ,when you add all RAM-chips.

    but you can do all what you want.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    If it's giving you problems then yes you should return it no ifs, ands or buts.

    Can they exchange it for this G.Skill Trident X 32GB 1600MHz kit? It's what I'd recommend for your motherboard if it doesn't interfere with your cpu cooler.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231629
    Last edited by Nate152; 10-11-2015 at 04:00 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    thank you all for the answer, then I will have to opt out of one kit from 32gb to avoid future problems , the G.Skill I had noticed before but I was not so much attracted despite the relationship True quality / price and latency better than the Corsair . In any case I would like to keep myself on the Corsair Dominator Platinum but at the same time, I ask the G.Skill what they have in most excluding the latency ?

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    G.Skill is one of the top high performance ram manufacturers.

    http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-1600c7q-32gtx

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    If your build is just for gaming, 16GB is more than enough...32GB would be overkill.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •