Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    G751JY; 209 BIOS Update 2Tb platter SATA drive not present in OS post load

    Hi folks,
    As per subject.
    After doing a 209 BIOS update, the only way I can get my secondary 2Tb platter SATA drive to be recognised in Windows, is to first enter BIOS.. Make absolutely no changes, and just issue an 'F10' to save and quit, and then let Windows boot after that.
    Platter is present then.
    If I don't do this, then Disk Management shows no platter drive or volumes..
    Every power on, I need to step into BIOS first, save and quit, and then continue..

    :/

    Anyone else noticed something similar

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    784

    Hello,
    I'm going to throw here a wild guess: Do you work with the pre-installed windows you got since you bought the laptop ?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Gps3dx View Post
    Hello,
    I'm going to throw here a wild guess: Do you work with the pre-installed windows you got since you bought the laptop ?
    Correct. Untouched Win 8.1. Have not gone to Windows 10.. nor.. (which I was going to search the rog forum on).. have I received the Windows 10 taskbar tray ever welcoming me to Windows 10.. Though it's an eligible OEM/Retail version .. I would have though I would have been welcomed to it..
    *Separate matter .. don't care about that yet*

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    784

    Quote Originally Posted by mpgioia View Post
    Correct. Untouched Win 8.1. ...don't care about that yet*
    So my gut was right... your 2TB is formatted with the MBR scheme and it should be formatted to GPT to solve the issue ( at least that is my idea with the current data you provided ).
    You can READ HERE in more details about the root of the problem ( it is an old era tech limitation ).

    If i'm not mistaken, An OS that runs from a MBR formatted drive ( through BIOS boot method ) CAN read other drives, that are formatted with GPT layout. ( BUT the OS itself, cannot be booted from GPT drive if you boot from BIOS instead of UEFI, the *latest*-tech-bios-replacement)

    thus, if your OS sits on a different drive then this 2TB HDD, then you can use a bootable LIVE-"disk" USB of a linux distro ( like Ubuntu ) to be able to get access to a formatting software (Gparted in the case of Ubuntu ) that can recognize your 2TB drive & format it with the GPT layout. ( NOT as MBR ).
    You might need to boot that LIVE-USB using "UEFI:xxxxxxxxxx":
    I.E, 1st set in the the BIOS the "CSM" option to "DISABLED" ( I.E to disable bios-legacy mode which causes the UEFI mechanism to work ), then reboot, press ESC to get the boot-selection-menu, then you'll be able to boot the LIVE-USB of ubuntu through UEFI boot method by choosing "UEFI:xxxxxxxxxx" in the boot-selection-menu.

    now... to understand a bit better why UEFI is a good thing to have, Please read the following sticky thread I wrote: How to install windows 8/8.1/10 on any UEFI supported laptop the PROPER way

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    staffort

    Quote Originally Posted by Gps3dx View Post
    So my gut was right... your 2TB is formatted with the MBR scheme and it should be formatted to GPT to solve the issue ( at least that is my idea with the current data you provided ).
    You can READ HERE in more details about the root of the problem ( it is an old era tech limitation ).

    If i'm not mistaken, An OS that runs from a MBR formatted drive ( through BIOS boot method ) CAN read other drives, that are formatted with GPT layout. ( BUT the OS itself, cannot be booted from GPT drive if you boot from BIOS instead of UEFI, the *latest*-tech-bios-replacement)

    thus, if your OS sits on a different drive then this 2TB HDD, then you can use a bootable LIVE-"disk" USB of a linux distro ( like Ubuntu ) to be able to get access to a formatting software (Gparted in the case of Ubuntu ) that can recognize your 2TB drive & format it with the GPT layout. ( NOT as MBR ).
    You might need to boot that LIVE-USB using "UEFI:xxxxxxxxxx":
    I.E, 1st set in the the BIOS the "CSM" option to "DISABLED" ( I.E to disable bios-legacy mode which causes the UEFI mechanism to work ), then reboot, press ESC to get the boot-selection-menu, then you'll be able to boot the LIVE-USB of ubuntu through UEFI boot method by choosing "UEFI:xxxxxxxxxx" in the boot-selection-menu.

    now... to understand a bit better why UEFI is a good thing to have, Please read the following sticky thread I wrote: How to install windows 8/8.1/10 on any UEFI supported laptop the PROPER way
    Hang on...
    Pre BIOS update.. boots fine.
    Post BIOS update.. suddenly, I need to press ESC to issue boot order menu. I simply select the Drive 0.. the M2 256Gb drive.. which is the default placeholder anyway.. and then when OS loads. I can see my platter. If i don't do this seemingly very cursory step of issuing boot order selection then platter does not load.
    No configuration changes.. nothing changed in BIOS. Just a manual force of boot selection menu where i'm selecting the only option present anyway.. just doing so manually... and then platter loads in OS..
    I appreciate the reply.. but not of it applies to me.. Or am I not understanding something..

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by mpgioia View Post
    Hang on...
    Pre BIOS update.. boots fine.
    Post BIOS update.. suddenly, I need to press ESC to issue boot order menu. I simply select the Drive 0.. the M2 256Gb drive.. which is the default placeholder anyway.. and then when OS loads. I can see my platter. If i don't do this seemingly very cursory step of issuing boot order selection then platter does not load.
    No configuration changes.. nothing changed in BIOS. Just a manual force of boot selection menu where i'm selecting the only option present anyway.. just doing so manually... and then platter loads in OS..
    I appreciate the reply.. but not of it applies to me.. Or am I not understanding something..
    And on that note.. implies partition table was never changed/altered. And BIOS vs UEFI is never altered..
    Nor do I know what is my boot software choice (i'll check) or partition table.. But it doesn't matter.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    784

    Quote Originally Posted by mpgioia View Post
    Hang on...
    Pre BIOS update.. boots fine.
    Post BIOS update.. suddenly, I need to press ESC to issue boot order menu. I simply select the Drive 0.. the M2 256Gb drive.. which is the default placeholder anyway.. and then when OS loads. I can see my platter. If i don't do this seemingly very cursory step of issuing boot order selection then platter does not load.
    .
    I see.
    well , you can always flash the old bios back - do you really got the need to use the latest bios ?
    you can search our sub-forum for other thread that discussed & guide how to perform this bios downgrade process.

    P.S - what do you mean with "platter" - is it a drive's partition ? or a drive ?

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Platter being the 2Tb platter secondary drive.
    The non-bootable drive. Not a separate partition.. the literally separate drive the G751's come with.. i.e. from your specs your publicising I can see 1Tb HDD 7200rpm.. my version of this. Which is a 2Tb SATA 7200rpm 'PLATTER' drive. Not solid state flash.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Buh... Changed BIOS fast boot disabled.. and it boots with both physical drives showing just fine now...
    Note to any rog'ers out there incase they have a similar issue...
    210 was released recently for an additional BIOS update.. applied that and it didn't make a difference.. just this altered boot setting seems to have fixed it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •