Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs up Maximus VIII Gene: "00" QCode after a bios upgrade / flash

    Hey Guys,

    I had been using Maximus VIII Gene motherboard for few weeks so I know that the build which I have works (well, not now but you get the idea.)

    Long story short, I had been playing with PCI-passthrough so my Windows 10 VM (linux is the only OS which I have) would have full use of 980ti. I managed to get it to work, played few games but then stumbled on SecuRom issue when trying to play GTA IV.

    I wanted to sort this by doing bios upgrade, hoping that it's resolved in one of the latest updates but I think I had killed my motherboard :/

    Firstly I put 0907 BIOS on the USB stick, booted to BIOS and started an update. It restarted the box in the end but boot process was hanging, giving "99" QCode. I tried few times, did CMOS reset, no change. So I tried flashing some older bios using USB Bios Flashback - but right now after powering on, motherboard just hangs, showing "00" QCode.

    Is there anything which I can do to fix the board? Would it be the case of getting new BIOS chip? If yes, where? Could I do anything else maybe for this to work?

    As a side note, I think there's a bug in the manual for this board as the image on page 2-12 shows different USB port for doing flashbacks than the table on page 2-13 describes (tried both when doing USB flashback, only the one from 2-13 was working).

    Thanks,

    -- michal.
    Last edited by zeroDivisible; 10-26-2015 at 07:01 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    I would remove all power from the board....take out battery for a few minutes....then replace battery and clear CMOS and then restore power and flash the latest BIOS using BIOS flashback method...

    Then try to boot

    Make sure BIOS flashback is working...i.e. bios light flashes for over a minute...not just once or twice....

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I would remove all power from the board....take out battery for a few minutes....then replace battery and clear CMOS and then restore power and flash the latest BIOS using BIOS flashback method...

    Then try to boot

    Make sure BIOS flashback is working...i.e. bios light flashes for over a minute...not just once or twice....

    Hey there! Thanks for the reply - I thought that I did similar order of steps already, but just to be sure I tried them again, now. Sadly, no avail.

    I think that BIOS flashing is going ok - after holding the button which triggers it, light pulsates slowly in blue, then starts to go faster and faster until it turns itself off. I think that the whole process takes around a minute too, but I didn't measure it.

    At this stage I'm quite certain there's not much which I can do, beside maybe trying the same process again tomorrow, after leaving the mobo without CMOS battery and power for the night. Just to be sure that I'm not missing anything - would you maybe know a way to rule out that this is not i.e. a CPU issue, but really a motherboard one? I'm guessing that this must be BIOS, as nothing else changed - but you can never cross out things failing at the very moment of me doing a BIOS upgrade

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Ok, one other small update: I had checked LEDs described in the manual on page 1-23.

    BOOT_DEVICE_LED, VGA_LED, DRAM_LED, CPU_LED - all of them are off.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Seems weird mate. 00 is usually a code for CPU INIT FAIL, so it's possible that your CPU isn't supported by the older BIOS you have flashed (only really likely if you're using a Xeon, 1151 isn't old enough for real CPU compatibility issues yet).

    I'd take out your CMOS battery while you remove and re-seat the CPU, checking LGA pins as you do.

    I dunno if the Gene has it, but switching to the secondary BIOS should get you out of trouble, if possible.

    Let us know how you get on. Signed up just for you, but long-time lurker

    Justin

    EDIT: It seems code 00 isn't related to the CPU on newer boards - I learned today. Other users running into 00 have had luck re-seating DIMMs and setting DDR voltages manually. Try your RAM first, sorry for leading you up the garden path
    Last edited by juzz86; 10-27-2015 at 11:15 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by zeroDivisible View Post
    Firstly I put 0907 BIOS on the USB stick, booted to BIOS and started an update. It restarted the box in the end but boot process was hanging, giving "99" QCode. I tried few times, did CMOS reset, no change. So I tried flashing some older bios using USB Bios Flashback - but right now after powering on, motherboard just hangs, showing "00" QCode.
    When you tried to update the BIOS for the first time, did you let it finish?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    When you tried to update the BIOS for the first time, did you let it finish?
    I think it went till the end - i could see the progress bar, the machine rebooted, then it was hanging for ~20 mins on the 99 error, before I did anything.

    Quote Originally Posted by juzz86 View Post
    EDIT: It seems code 00 isn't related to the CPU on newer boards - I learned today. Other users running into 00 have had luck re-seating DIMMs and setting DDR voltages manually. Try your RAM first, sorry for leading you up the garden path
    No worries and I'm appreciating that you thought it worthwhile to reply

    So I tried what I could - multiple resets of BIOS, removal and resocketing of RAM, CPU & Graphics and now avail. I even booted the board with none of the above present in sockets and it appeared to be dead (not a single of mentioned leds blinked). Sadly, I can't think of anything else, so right now I will need to work out how I can send it on warranty

    Thanks for the help guys.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by zeroDivisible View Post
    I think it went till the end - i could see the progress bar, the machine rebooted, then it was hanging for ~20 mins on the 99 error, before I did anything.
    The second stage of the update process consists of a completely black background actually. But there should be a message at stating it's updating still and don't turn off the PC. I think you might have bricked your BIOS chip.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Yeah, it sounds like it. Sorry bud, delays on new rigs suck ☺

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •