Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    G752VY-RH71 replacing default PCIE SSD Question

    Hi everyone. This will be my first gaming laptop and I don't know too much about computers. I was wondering if it would be possible to replace the default PCIE ssd with the Samsung SM951 SM951 NVME ssd or the new Samsung 950 PRO? And if that is possible which one is better? Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    No one knows?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    950 is the newer version. Lower power consumption and all. Supposedly 950 is faster.
    Since 950 and 951 both have immature drivers, we'll have to wait and see.

    Main difference is 951 is 64Gb FLASH and 950 is Vertical NAND 128Gb.
    For most part, 950 will outperform 951 except for 4k Random Writes except for AHCI mode.

    Source: http://www.anandtech.com/show/9702/s...ew-256gb-512gb

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by fiido View Post
    950 is the newer version. Lower power consumption and all. Supposedly 950 is faster.
    Since 950 and 951 both have immature drivers, we'll have to wait and see.

    Main difference is 951 is 64Gb FLASH and 950 is Vertical NAND 128Gb.
    For most part, 950 will outperform 951 except for 4k Random Writes except for AHCI mode.

    Source: http://www.anandtech.com/show/9702/s...ew-256gb-512gb

    Thanks for the reply. Do you think it's worth the upgrade from the stock ssd? Newegg is currently offering a promo on the new Samsung 950 PRO
    http://m.newegg.com/Product/index?it...w&gclsrc=aw.ds
    Last edited by bdotlum; 11-03-2015 at 05:32 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    94
    Posts
    2,447

    what will u gain ? for the cost . if it makes u happy upgrade ..and if u sold the stock SSD would it be a worth the upgrade ?
    bdotlum do u happen to live in TO? there is an Asus Service Center in Markham , Was impressed by what they had on display at their shop.
    Last edited by toronto699; 11-03-2015 at 07:33 PM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I was thinking of upgrading to a 512gb ssd since the model I'm getting only comes with a 128 gb ssd. A lot of people say that it's easy to burn through 128gb quick. No I don't live in TO though

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    94
    Posts
    2,447

    id replace the stock 128gb ssd to , 128gb is not enough

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Well, I will say at the moment, I cannot get this drive to work as an OS drive for the exact model you are reffering to (G752VT-RH71). Windows 10 just does not see the drive. I am somewhat upset and raising a stink in several locations (ASUS, Samsung, xoticpc) trying to get a response. Asus suggested I take it to Geek Squad to have them look at it. LOL!!!

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by travo5200 View Post
    Well, I will say at the moment, I cannot get this drive to work as an OS drive for the exact model you are reffering to (G752VT-RH71). Windows 10 just does not see the drive. I am somewhat upset and raising a stink in several locations (ASUS, Samsung, xoticpc) trying to get a response. Asus suggested I take it to Geek Squad to have them look at it. LOL!!!
    You need to have some defect, iam Reading forums and i am 100% sure full nvm disk is supported. Also, if you have ahci it is more than sure that it wuld work

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    This has been asked and answered many times. There are known problems with the G752 and the Samsung 950. It is not going to work.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •