Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 142
  1. #91
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Can you post a screenshot of the options that you've changed in the BIOS?

  2. #92
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    6700k

    Hi,

    Changed the Core Ratios to 44/44/42/42. CPU Voltage to 1.25V, Cache A to max of 255, TDP limits to 130W and max turbo time...

  3. #93
    ROG Member Array ricemanhk PC Specs
    ricemanhk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700k @ 4.6GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 256GB M.2 PCIe x4
    Storage #2WD Blue 3TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 400C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W B2
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Overclocking 6700k

    Hi everyone, new joiner here, just got my new PC build last week and starting to play around with the OC settings. I've followed Chino's guide and have some questions.

    First the background: I started with 1.3v manual CPU core voltage, 4.6GHz worked right away for the ROG Realbench benchmark, but 4.7 would crash it. Got it working at 1.35v for 4.7GHz (1hr ROG stress test), but temps were reaching 80C even with my AIO cooler and room temp around 25C. Since it can get quite hot here when I don’t have the aircon on, I decided to stay with 4.6GHz and try to get as low voltage as I can go, ended up with 1.26v stable (again 1hr ROG Realbench stress test). Max temps around 70, which gives me some leeway when I leave the PC on without aircon. My questions then:

    - Seems there’s quite a huge voltage jump to go from 4.6 to 4.7 (1.26 vs 1.35v), is this normal or just the peculiarities of my chip?
    - How do I check the actual vcore voltage being used? I know HWMonitor only shows VID, and indeed this fluctuates a lot (~0.8v at idle, can peak to 1.35v or so even when I set manual at 1.26v). The CPU voltage in AI Suite 3 is generally lower, peaks around 1.29-1.3v but being java based it lags like crazy when I’m running the stress test so I can’t be sure if the number is in real time or even updated…indeed AI Suite 3 is quite laggy even when I’m not running stress tests
    - I’ve read that the peak voltage may be higher than what I set due to LLC, which I’ve kept on Auto for now in the BIOS. Should I set this to a specific level? The Digi+ section in AI Suite seems to indicate it’s set at level 7 but BIOS says auto.

    I’ve been running 4.6GHz with 1.28v adaptive mode in normal use for a day now, no crashes yet but the core VID in HWMonitor does jump around when under load. My main goal is to get 4.6GHz at the lowest actual voltage (and thus lowest temp and longest life span) used as possible, but of course including a little headroom as buffer.

    Any advice or suggestions? I’ve followed Chino’s guide to the dot other than using XMP mode (with Asus defaults) in Ai OC Tuner as suggested in another OC guide.

  4. #94
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Normally your CPU voltage scales in a linear pattern as you start increasing your CPU frequency. But eventually you will get to a point where it needs a hefty increase in voltage for that extra 100MHz. That’s the point where I normally stop since it's not really worth it. For monitoring Vcore, CPU-Z or AI Suite III works fine. As long as you don't run 2 or more monitoring utilities simultaneously, you're fine. For LLC, it's a matter of preference. Some users leave it as it is and others run a medium setting.

  5. #95
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Got 2 questions:

    Core ratio: 46

    1) Is it normal that VID and VCORE are jumping around much higher value than vcore set in BIOS? I set mine to 1.350 but during 1h stress test it was sometimes spiking to 1.40. VID had a spikes of 1.45+ but in majority of time it was jumping from 1.300-1350. Stress test completed with no crashes.
    2) When I changed the settings to adaptive mode as 1.360, the VID and VCORE is sometimes maxing out to 1.393/1.394.

    EDIT. Nevermind, I educated myself a bit and will play with LLC tomorrow (im a noob no flame )
    Last edited by njuub; 10-04-2016 at 11:13 PM.

  6. #96
    ROG Member Array wmakaiwi PC Specs
    wmakaiwi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Home built PC - Dime Bolt
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7 6700k 4.6 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 970 FTW 2.0+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 970 FTW 2.0+
    Sound CardOnboard - SupremeFX
    Storage #1480 GB SSD
    Storage #2960 GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 300R Windowed
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1300W G2
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker
    Mouse steelseries RAW sensei
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3100

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Thank you for your guide.

    Thank you for this guide it was tremendously helpful! These are my results:
    BCLK: 100.02 MHz
    Core Multiplier: 46
    Cache Multiplier: 44
    Core Frequency: 4601.1 MHz
    Cache Frequency: 4401.1 MHz
    VCORE UEFI BIOS: 1.35v adaptive + 0.020v(1.37v)
    VCORE WINDOWS/CPU-Z: 1.376v
    VCORE 100% Load: 1.378v
    FCLK: 1 GHz
    RAM Speed: 3200 MHz 16-18-18-36-2T XMP 2.0
    VDRAM: 1.35V
    Motherboard: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO Z170 - BIOS 2202
    LLC: Level 5
    VCCIO: 1.224v
    VCCSA: 1.216v
    VPCH: 1.000v
    VSTB: 1.237v
    Cooling solution: H100i v2 - Push/Pull (4 fans/ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut)
    CPU-Z Validation: http://valid.x86.fr/ez4v5d

    Unfortunately, my I cannot stabilize my chip at anything higher than 4.6 GHz. Idle temps are 25-28C, gaming temps are 44-55C, max load temp is 80C during stress testing, average temps while testing are 75C-77C. I also ran prime95 26.6/28.7 for an hour, 1hr Realbench stress test, 6 loops of Realbench benchmark, 20 passes of IBT on very high and finally 1.5 hrs LinX on maximum to test stability. It can run at 4.4 @ 1.265v, 4.5 @ 1.28v, and 4.6 @ 1.370v(1.35v +0.020v adaptive). Any tips to get it stable at 4.7 GHz? I've tried 1.395v, while trying to stay below 1.4v and I'm stumped at what to do next or just be happy at 4.6 GHz.
    Thanks again Chino!

    @njuub
    Try LLC 5 or 6.
    Last edited by wmakaiwi; 10-07-2016 at 07:30 AM.

  7. #97
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array FonzieBulldog PC Specs
    FonzieBulldog PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Homebuilt and named The Bulldog
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero VIII
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K 4.6 Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X
    Graphics Card #2Sometimes a Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Graphics Card #3Sometimes a Nvidia GeForce GTX 980
    MonitorAsus 3D
    Storage #1M2 SSD 512GB
    Storage #2SSD 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    Keyboard Razer
    Mouse Razer
    Headset Razer
    Mouse Pad Razer
    Headset/Speakers Razer
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro
    Accessory #1 Updated Asus G20CB (The Midget)
    Accessory #2 GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Accessory #3 Intel i7-6700K
    FonzieBulldog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    180

    Fam alcantara

    4.6 Ghz with 1.3V and running surprisingly cool and steady around 27C at idling with a Corsair Hydro H80i V2.Didnt run any benchmark test by this date but instead i run Star Wars Battlefront and it worked great.
    Last edited by FonzieBulldog; 10-07-2016 at 02:03 PM.

  8. #98
    ROG Member Array wmakaiwi PC Specs
    wmakaiwi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Home built PC - Dime Bolt
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7 6700k 4.6 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 970 FTW 2.0+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 970 FTW 2.0+
    Sound CardOnboard - SupremeFX
    Storage #1480 GB SSD
    Storage #2960 GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 300R Windowed
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1300W G2
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker
    Mouse steelseries RAW sensei
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3100

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    @FonzieBulldog,
    SW BF 2016 is a good game if you want to test your overclock for stability. I even used it to stress test my GPU's. If the game crashes after 2-4 hours, I know my OC is not stable.

  9. #99
    ROG Member Array dolfan058 PC Specs
    dolfan058 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 (total of 64 GB RAM)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix 1080 OC
    MonitorASUS ROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960 GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logiterch G502
    Headset Sennheiser RS 180
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM300
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti USB Microphone - Silver
    Accessory #2 Logitech HD Pro Webcam C920

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Adaptive issue

    • Motherboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    • CPU: i7-6700K


    So I successfully stress-tested at 4.5 OC with 1.3 volts . I set adaptive voltage to be 1.30 and yet I'm seeing my CPU VCore shoot all the way up to 1.376?
    My LLC is level 5, which was perfect during manual voltage. What am I missing? Should I use offset instead? I like the idea of adaptive as it'll allow my voltage to go down when idling, but not if I'm seeing my voltage shoot up to 1.376.

    See below for some images of my BIOS settings and HWMonitor showing the high VCORE

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	D8jqTUx.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	85.4 KB 
ID:	59954

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	33TKDnX.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	193.3 KB 
ID:	59955

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GfPRdXp.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	177.8 KB 
ID:	59956

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	jcsgbFd.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	181.6 KB 
ID:	59957

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LYqrYc5.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	170.1 KB 
ID:	59958

  10. #100
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi dolfan058

    You got it bud, you can use a cpu voltage offset in adaptive mode, try setting the offset to -0.070v and see if it keeps you close to 1.30v.

Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •