Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 29 of 29
  1. #21
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Wow cool, so chances are it might have worked? When I get home tonight Ill see what my bios version is. I didnt even think of booting it up and checking the version since I thought it didnt work. Thank you! Ill report back!

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    I would like to point out that I am the biggest idiot on 7 continents. I have been pushing the wrong button the entire time (just like the idiots on the videos I have watched).
    Im pushing the clear CMOS button. Now that I push the CORRECT button it is doing the blink as indicated in the manual.
    However when the light went out (indicating it was done), my system does not boot. no POST, no splash screen, no nothing. *sigh*

  3. #23
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    when I power down, disconnect all power, wait, then boot up, still nothing happens. Q code says "10" which the manual says PEI Core is started". But it just sits there.

  4. #24
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    sorry for all the posts. When I take the side cover off, there is an LED blinking that says "VGA". its the LED right near my serial number tag near the RAM banks

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,676

    Hello again.

    PEI core has started indicates to me that your bios is at least functional. You need to verify Bios version and that Flashback worked.
    Post has halted at 10 but MB VGA_LED is lit, and will not advance until rectified. Recheck and make sure it is the VGA_LED that is lit.

    Investigate your GPU and monitor setup, Can you test the card in another system?.
    Check or swap out the cabling and inspect slots for any contamination. Ensure GPU is seated correctly.
    Restart system to check if rectified. Does the VGA_LED still light up?

    If Post advances, What is the readout at now?, (should it halt again).
    Should post halt at a different Qcode, report here current Qcode error.

    One step at a time. We are looking for Qcode AA, which is a successful transition to ACPI and your OS.

    EDIT: You need ofc to get into Bios before OS, You may crash at this point if OS does not jell well with default CMOS settings.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 11-10-2015 at 01:21 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  6. #26
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Thanks Mean Machine. Im pretty close to 100% thinking its not the GPU or its slots since it worked fine before I did the BIOS flash. I did just reseat it though
    per your suggestion and no change. Nothing shows up on the screen whatsoever. The monitors dont even come out of power saving mode.

    Looking around though, I see this thread:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/...a-posting.html

    It seems its the CPU, which makes sense to me. My system crashed whenever the CPU got busy, then eventually just crashed pretty much any time. The fact
    that I can stay in BIOS setup forever without the system crashing (before I flashed it) kind of confirms that.

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,676

    [QUOTE= It seems its the CPU, which makes sense to me. My system crashed whenever the CPU got busy, then eventually just crashed pretty much any time. The fact
    that I can stay in BIOS setup forever without the system crashing (before I flashed it) kind of confirms that.[/QUOTE]

    I suppose the only way to tell is to swap the CPU. owch!!
    Benchtest before re-assy, in case it ain't the CPU.

    Good Luck.

    EDIT: If you are relying on that post you linked, don't forget he was NOT able to Post and access his Bios.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 11-10-2015 at 03:26 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Thinkpad T410
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 9590
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (8-8-8-24, 1866 MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 390 STRIX (OC, GAMING)
    Storage #1SG Constellation 6 TB (6x1 TB) RAID 0
    Storage #2SG Constellation 2 TB (2x2 TB) RAID 1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCaseLabs STH-10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X5
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Perixx 900x440x3 mm + Steelseries 320x270x3 mm + ALLSOP hard pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G930/Altec Lansing 5.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
    Dr. Zchivago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Benchtest before re-assy, in case it ain't the CPU.
    On that Hiren's Boot CD is a 'Mini Windows XP' installation - if I remember correctly, it is a full-support installation.

    Put Realbench or Aida64 onto a flash drive, boot to the Mini-XP installation on the HBCD, and see what you see. Performance will be terrible (you're booting to a CD - haha), but you should be able to test your CPU without replacement.

    Z
    Resistance is futile (at <1 Ohm).

  9. #29
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Dr Z. Unfortunately that wont happen... I cant get that far. And Mean Machine, thats exactly where I am right now. Cant POST, no BIOS, no nothing. Its basically giving me the big middle finger

    I ordered a new CPU, so it should be in soon and I can report back here.
    Bob

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •