Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: G74sx 32gb ram?

  1. #41
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Forgetting you have 32 GB of RAM, @fostert, that is the quietest way of gloating about your RAM I know! Actually, thanks for the excellent advice! As to using that download, you simply unzip it and burn it to a blank CD. If you (like me) don't have any of those archaic optical media pieces lying around, there is another download that works for a USB key. Simply download (http://www.memtest.org/download/4.20....installer.zip), unzip, and run the .EXE with a blank USB key inserted in your computer. Keep in mind that it will format the USB key, so don't have anything on it.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  2. #42
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Not gloating...its true! And thats the best reason to buy 32GB, so you'll never know its there,until you watch your HDD to begin swapping like mad. But then I often forget my age, today's date, and brushing my teeth. I guess it just means that I have enough RAM for my daily usage (typically I think I run at least 8-24 GB used at any one moment of the work day).

    Good idea on the USB version of memtest86. Guess I am out of the times with an optical drive and all. Heck I still use Iomega JAZ disks at home!
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  3. #43
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    Good idea on the USB version of memtest86. Guess I am out of the times with an optical drive and all. Heck I still use Iomega JAZ disks at home!
    And I thought my 4 GB flash drives were starting to get out of date...LOL I will admit, 32 GB of RAM would be sweet, but not worth the expense to me, since when I run 16 GB out, it means a program has bugs.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  4. #44
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    also ich habe so eben 32GB RAM eingebaut in das asus G74SX und das system sagt 16 GB VERWENDBAR würde aber jetzt gerne wissen ob das system die 32 gb auch nutz ... auch wenn nur die 16 verwendbar angezeit wird

    freue mich scho auf die antworten

  5. #45
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    So a little question here...

    How many Ram ports in the G-74 SX 1ATZ...2or4...I know my pc runs with 8gig 1333mhz, how I can do to put 32 gig of Ram...God i'm so interested by that...Thats cool, but how, 2x16 or 4x8 or......I need help and can you send me links where to buy and what to buy COOL

  6. #46
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    It has 4 memory slots, but they run in dual-channel configuration, like most notebooks. To run 32 gigs of RAM, you have to totally disassemble the computer to get to all of the RAM slots. Key note, take your time and be careful. It will run with 32 GB of 1333 RAM, @fostert does it.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  7. #47
    ROG Enthusiast Array Spook50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by Zygomorphic View Post
    And I thought my 4 GB flash drives were starting to get out of date...LOL I will admit, 32 GB of RAM would be sweet, but not worth the expense to me, since when I run 16 GB out, it means a program has bugs.
    Or you're like me and running games from a RAM disk
    Which tells me that it's time to pop another couple GB in mine....
    Roses are red
    Bacon is also red
    I'm not good at poetry
    Bacon

  8. #48
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by Spook50 View Post
    Or you're like me and running games from a RAM disk
    Which tells me that it's time to pop another couple GB in mine....
    Please quit gloating about the amount of RAM that you have. LOL. I have 16 GB, and that is enough for me for now...
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  9. #49
    ROG Enthusiast Array Spook50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by Zygomorphic View Post
    Please quit gloating about the amount of RAM that you have. LOL. I have 16 GB, and that is enough for me for now...
    Haha, I actually only have 14, which limits me to a maximum 9GB RAM disk without getting low memory warnings from Win7. Once I can max out the 32GB limit and upgrade the CPU to use the 1666 data rate I'll be in really good shape for gaming and for being able to have more than just one game installed to the RAM disk at a time.
    Roses are red
    Bacon is also red
    I'm not good at poetry
    Bacon

  10. #50
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    I should probably try creating about a 6 GB RAM disk in LINUX and compiling the LINUX kernel in it. Can you imagine how fast that would go?
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •