Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    2,497

    W10 V1511 , 10586 Install

    W10 released a major update yesterday w10 V1511, 10586 , my install reach 100 percent install but then PC froze , I had to reboot . upon reboot Action Center said update failed, Now the update does not appear in W10 updates , I read in another forum if update fails it will not reappear again in W10 Updates , My ? is does the W10 Version # change with this update ? Could some check for me please. I still have Windows Version 10240 , listed I'm unsure if the update installed or not. Thanks in advance
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...9-cri4shxw85)()
    Last edited by toronto699; 11-13-2015 at 02:45 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    113

    Yes, it's called Windows 10 version 1511 Build 10586. There will be another Windows update that will take it to 10586.3 after you install. What you should do is download the Windows TechBench ISO of 10586 and then do a in-place upgrade.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/1...e-upgrade.html

    I have the ISO but waiting for Windows Update to show the upgrade, just want to see how long it will take.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    2,497

    Almighty1
    Thanks don't know why the update failed @ 100% install , ill uninstall antivirus and firewall see if that helps. Ill try in-place-upgrade .

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    113

    in-place upgrade is basically choosing a upgrade on the installer. In any case, now I know why I'm not seeing the update as my last in-place upgrade install was done on October 26, 2015 which means I still have 2 weeks to go as Microsoft doesn't want people to not be able to revert within that 30 day period as if my installs ever worked for 30 days anyways since my Start Menu will fail before then...

    http://news.softpedia.com/news/how-t...ampaign=buffer

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    113

    Oh, the answer to your original question:
    http://www.tenforums.com/windows-10-...t-answers.html

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    2,497

    this has the v1511 , 10586 update


    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...9-cri4shxw85)(
    and I believe I read the in-place upgrade does as well
    I just noticed all my System Restore Points are gone after trying to install W10 V1511, 10586 with failure
    ill try it after I finish my edit session of CBC TV news story I'm working on
    Last edited by toronto699; 11-13-2015 at 07:07 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    113

    Yes, you can use MCT or the Tech Bench... The Tech Bench ISO is larger by about 0.7 gigs because I think the MCT one is compressed.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    113

    Someone confirmed that if the install fails, it will still show up on Windows Update as someone had the update fail 3 times and it always shows up again on Windows Update, just that they have to re-download again each time. Also, new info here:
    http://www.askvg.com/fix-windows-10-...your-computer/

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    2,497

    I do not want to do a clean install , ill wait to see if the update reappears in W10 update. although I'm sure it will not reappear we will see. Still can not figure out why install failed @ 100%.
    Thanks for your help.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII Hero
    ProcessorIntel 1070k @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    437

    Quote Originally Posted by toronto699 View Post
    I do not want to do a clean install , ill wait to see if the update reappears in W10 update. although I'm sure it will not reappear we will see. Still can not figure out why install failed @ 100%.
    Thanks for your help.
    You don't have to do a clean install. Just use the media creation tool or pick up the iso and install it from there, telling the install to keep your file (and apps). It will preserve your settings and apps.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •