Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Looking for a guide to format my windows 8.1 (clean) and upgrade to windows 10

    My G750 is starting to bog down so looking to wipe it clean and upgrade to windows 10.

    Are there any good guides out there to do this? Not sure what the process is, if I can go straight to windows 10, or do I have to go back to windows 8.1 then to 10.

    Also whats the best way to re-install drivers? Asus auto updater thing?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,653

    Ummm.. well. You're in trouble if you wiped already. You need to UPGRADE FROM Win 7 or 8.1 to get Win 10 free.

    The process is what upgrades your product key.

    So you need to reinstall 8.1 and upgrade, then clean install 10 since there's so many bugs with the upgrade method. Clean is always best.

    The best partition method for installing if you get the option is UEFI and GPT. If you need more info ask, I'm half asleep >x3
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    2,493

    Last edited by toronto699; 11-15-2015 at 07:12 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Thanks for the input. I haven't wiped it yet, still on 8.1. So I will upgrade to 10 then wipe it. What's the best way to know which drivers I need to update afterwards?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    2,493

    W10 will install drivers but go to your driver page and see what W10 drivers there are , id go to device manager and make note of my hardware and who made them or brand before u install W10 , that W10 version in the link I posted is the latest W10 version its a completely New W10, station-drivers.com have many W10 hardware drivers.
    http://www.station-drivers.com/index.php?lang=en
    Last edited by toronto699; 11-16-2015 at 06:37 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,653

    Yep, your drivers will be automatically installed. All you need to do is upgrade the NVidia Driver, Install your ATK and possibly your audio driver if Maxx Audio isn't present.

    Also yes, keep note of what drivers you have currently with Device Manager.

    Here's your best friend

    http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/driverview-x64.zip

    Just extract n' run.

    Hit 'Product Name' to sort them in an understandable order.
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Maxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    598

    I read that with the Threshold 2 update (the November one that just got out), you should be able to use any Win7,8, and 8.1 key to activate Windows 10. Since the key is embedded into our Mobo, this should be automatic... (I'm giving too much belief in MS probably).
    Somewhere in the threads I wrote the steps on how to get Win10 cleaned installed. Look for it... total time should be about 2 hours on a modern computer to do everything needed.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    is reformatting windows 10 via a media creation tool or the "reset this pc" option in windows the same thing?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Wulff PC Specs
    Wulff PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170-A
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-6600K
    Memory (part number)4x4GB G.Skill TridentZ 3000MHZ DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus Matrix GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi HD
    MonitorSamsung U28D590 UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS)
    Storage #22x256GB SanDisk SD6SP1M256G1102
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15s
    CaseSilent Base 800
    Power SupplyCorsair Rm850x
    Mouse Steelseries Kana
    Headset/Speakers KRK Rokit5
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link Dir-868L
    Accessory #2 WD Elements 5TB
    Accessory #3 Seagate Expansion Desk 4TB

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    190

    i tried to install win 10 pro on a friends machine and used a 8.1 pro serial when it was asking for a serial and it didnt say that the serialwas invalid and windows activated with that numbers, however... this was after the upgrade was already done before. so im still not sure if it would work with a non upgraded machine. will try it on another machine perhaps

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Wulff PC Specs
    Wulff PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170-A
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-6600K
    Memory (part number)4x4GB G.Skill TridentZ 3000MHZ DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus Matrix GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi HD
    MonitorSamsung U28D590 UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS)
    Storage #22x256GB SanDisk SD6SP1M256G1102
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15s
    CaseSilent Base 800
    Power SupplyCorsair Rm850x
    Mouse Steelseries Kana
    Headset/Speakers KRK Rokit5
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link Dir-868L
    Accessory #2 WD Elements 5TB
    Accessory #3 Seagate Expansion Desk 4TB

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    190

    using the media creation tool and create your bootable usb gives you the option to realy clean install the machine. reset this pc would just set the current operating system installed back to factory default settings

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •