Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Qcode dd

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Qcode dd

    Hi All,

    Would anyone be able to tell me what the postcode "dd" stands for on the Maximus VIII Extreme?

    I keep getting stuck on that during boot.

    Also, do you need both a 4 pin and an 8 pin CPU power connector?

    EDIT: I'm now past dd, but keep getting 99, even with drives installed.
    Last edited by Hungry93; 11-16-2015 at 09:44 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    List your complete system specifications for me please. Also when your system is stucked at the 99 QCODE, please look beside the 24 pin power connector and indicate if any of the 4 QLEDs remain lit.

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello Hungry93

    The 8 pin cpu power cable is mandatory, the 4 pin is only needed for extreme overclocking but it won't hurt anything if you want to connect it.

    Code 99 usually has to do with the gpu area whether it be power to your gpu or connectivity with your monitor.

    Do you have the pcie power cables connected to your graphics card?

    As Chino suggests your system specifications would be helpful.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array 10scor71 PC Specs
    10scor71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/USB 3.1
    ProcessorIntel i7-5930K
    Memory (part number)64gb G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce 980TI Windforce
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorTwo Dell U2515H
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro SSD boot drive
    Storage #2Two WD Black 4TB Performance HDDs (mirrored)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000P2
    Keyboard Logitech K800 Illuminated wireless
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Pecham Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 8TB Seagate Archive HDD
    Accessory #2 CyberPower 900W UPS

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    postcode "dd" doesn't stand for anything. I went through the same issue and contacted Asus about it. Their reply (after many emails) was that "dd" was a placeholder code for any future needs. It means absolutely nothing other than that there's an error that Asus has no answer for.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •