Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Samsung 950 Pro and 4TB WD Black x2 on Raid 0

    Hi,

    I need help here, I was trying to make Raid 0 with my 4TB WD Black x2, everything worked well in the bios but the
    950 Pro stopped booting, i had windows installed on it before creating my raid 0, i tried everything to fix this issue, help me, please

    I'm running Asus Rampage V extreme with i7 5820k, Corsair Dominator DDR4 32GB.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Halodies View Post
    Hi,

    I need help here, I was trying to make Raid 0 with my 4TB WD Black x2, everything worked well in the bios but the
    950 Pro stopped booting, i had windows installed on it before creating my raid 0, i tried everything to fix this issue, help me, please

    I'm running Asus Rampage V extreme with i7 5820k, Corsair Dominator DDR4 32GB.

    Cheers
    It would be worth taking a look at this article.

    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/sto...0-pro-review/1

    "The problem turned out to be something as simple as our overclock settings. We use Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 modules rated at 2,800MHz, and we were using their built in XMP profile for our system's overclock. However, this automatically sets the base clock to 125MHz, which is a requirement when using high frequency memory (i.e. above 2,666MHz) on X99. However, this also affects the speed of other parts of the CPU, not just the cores, and one of those parts is the onboard PCI-E Gen 3.0 controller. In turn, in order to maintain PCI-E stability at this clock, our motherboard was downgrading the PCI-E interfaces to Gen 2.0. You can force the graphics slots back to Gen 3.0, but there's no such option for the M.2 slot, which makes sense since storage devices require perfect stability. We have not been able to confirm exactly how other motherboard manufacturers handle the situation, but it's probably safest to stick to 2,666MHz DDR4 on X99 when using a PCI-E 3.0 storage device. It should also not be a problem on Z170, where the PCI-E controller's clock is separate to the CPU BCLK. "

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Halodies View Post
    Hi,

    I need help here, I was trying to make Raid 0 with my 4TB WD Black x2, everything worked well in the bios but the
    950 Pro stopped booting, i had windows installed on it before creating my raid 0, i tried everything to fix this issue, help me, please

    I'm running Asus Rampage V extreme with i7 5820k, Corsair Dominator DDR4 32GB.

    Cheers
    You'd need to use one of those M.2 to PCIe adapter for your Samsung 950 Pro to make it work.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array gene-iv-ocz-revo3-240 PC Specs
    gene-iv-ocz-revo3-240 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Envy 17
    MotherboardROG Rampage V Edition 10 Bios 0801
    Processori7-5820k 4.3 OC adaptive 4.0 Cache
    Memory (part number)Ballistix 32GB kit (8GBx4) DDR4-2666 CT6311990 CL12-12-12 33 1T
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX970
    Monitor4 AOC 2367M 2 top 2 bottom
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB OS Drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110iGT
    CaseCorsair 750D Airflow Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i + Link commander mini
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
    Mouse ROG GX1000 Laser Gaming Mouse
    Headset Wired Beats Studio 2.0
    Mouse Pad ROG GM50 Gaming Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Cerwin Vega XD4's
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinux custom
    Accessory #1 6 Kingston SSDNow V300 SV300S37A/120G intel raid0
    Accessory #2 4 case Noctua NV-P14s redux-1500 PWM, 2 AIO PUSH
    Accessory #3 4 Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM AIO PUSH/PULL
    gene-iv-ocz-revo3-240's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    I have the 950 Pro and can boot fine with it in the M.2 slot with a raid0 drive. It's possible the boot order changed in the bios and you need to switch it.

    Also I installed Windows10 on the 950PRO in UEFI bios mode I have not tried any other method.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    If you changed your storage controller settings to RAID after installing windows that maybe your problem.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by BeltFed View Post
    It would be worth taking a look at this article.

    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/sto...0-pro-review/1

    "The problem turned out to be something as simple as our overclock settings. We use Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 modules rated at 2,800MHz, and we were using their built in XMP profile for our system's overclock. However, this automatically sets the base clock to 125MHz, which is a requirement when using high frequency memory (i.e. above 2,666MHz) on X99. However, this also affects the speed of other parts of the CPU, not just the cores, and one of those parts is the onboard PCI-E Gen 3.0 controller. In turn, in order to maintain PCI-E stability at this clock, our motherboard was downgrading the PCI-E interfaces to Gen 2.0. You can force the graphics slots back to Gen 3.0, but there's no such option for the M.2 slot, which makes sense since storage devices require perfect stability. We have not been able to confirm exactly how other motherboard manufacturers handle the situation, but it's probably safest to stick to 2,666MHz DDR4 on X99 when using a PCI-E 3.0 storage device. It should also not be a problem on Z170, where the PCI-E controller's clock is separate to the CPU BCLK. "
    This kinda make sense

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    You'd need to use one of those M.2 to PCIe adapter for your Samsung 950 Pro to make it work.
    I'm going to upgrade my processor, maybe the new one will have more lanes

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by LiveOrDie View Post
    If you changed your storage controller settings to RAID after installing windows that maybe your problem.

    I tried to do the raid first before installing windows, didn't work either

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by gene-iv-ocz-revo3-240 View Post
    I have the 950 Pro and can boot fine with it in the M.2 slot with a raid0 drive. It's possible the boot order changed in the bios and you need to switch it.

    Also I installed Windows10 on the 950PRO in UEFI bios mode I have not tried any other method.
    The problem isn't the boot order, in some cases i can't even see the 950 pro in my bios and other times i can but i can't boot from it

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Halodies View Post
    I'm going to upgrade my processor, maybe the new one will have more lanes
    Just keep in mind that the article I posted was using a 5960X, I dont think you can upgrade any more from there, and they still had the issue with the XMP profile setting the BCLK to 125 and downgrading M.2. You either downclock your RAM down to 2666MHz or 2400Mhz with a BCLK of 100 to allow M.2 to work at full capacity, or like Chino said, you could try using a M.2 PCIe adapter card on that 4th PCIe graphics slot, and force it back to Gen 3.0, since there isnt an option to force M.2 back to PCIe 3.0. With this last method you should be able to keep your XMP profile, emphasis on "should".

    I do not know if there is any performance hit by using a PCIe adapter card. Maybe someone else can chime in on that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •