Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    G20AJ i5 Version - Removed Graphics Card and now it's not being recognised

    As the title says I removed the Graphics Card (GTX750), so that I could get access to the SATA III port, but once I had finished and put the pc back together, the card is no longer being recognised. When I connect the HDMI, there was no display on my monitor. I took out the card again so that I could run the display from the integrated Intel Graphics and change the BIOS setting so that it is re-allowed once an external graphics card is enabled.

    Sound also no longer works unless I plug in headphones, and under playback devices it says that it is not plugged in. Does anyone know what the problem is and/or and possible solutions? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    116

    Is it possible that you didn't properly seat the riser card for the GPU?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
    Is it possible that you didn't properly seat the riser card for the GPU?
    Initially I thought that was the problem, since the card looked like it could go in further (although I'm a noob so idk), but the whole graphics card unit itself would not go down any further.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array a100 PC Specs
    a100 PC Specs
    MotherboardH97 Asus
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790 3.6GHZ
    Memory (part number)16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX980Ti Reference OC`d GPU: +210MHZ - Memory: +300MHZ
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T Gaming LED Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung Evo Pro 850 512G SSD
    CPU CoolerRog Dual Fan
    CaseG20AJ
    Keyboard Asus
    Mouse Asus
    OS Win 8.1 Core Single Language
    Accessory #1 Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    146

    Is the GPU powers up and fan starts spinning or its fully out?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by a100 View Post
    Is the GPU powers up and fan starts spinning or its fully out?
    I just tested and originally the fan wasn't spinning, but as I went to stand up I accidentally kicked my desk and now it spins, but is still not recognised.
    Last edited by SNB43; 11-24-2015 at 04:40 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array a100 PC Specs
    a100 PC Specs
    MotherboardH97 Asus
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790 3.6GHZ
    Memory (part number)16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX980Ti Reference OC`d GPU: +210MHZ - Memory: +300MHZ
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T Gaming LED Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung Evo Pro 850 512G SSD
    CPU CoolerRog Dual Fan
    CaseG20AJ
    Keyboard Asus
    Mouse Asus
    OS Win 8.1 Core Single Language
    Accessory #1 Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    146

    No I meant when you power on the G20, does it pass the first start up test? I wanna know if your GPU is getting the power.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by a100 View Post
    No I meant when you power on the G20, does it pass the first start up test? I wanna know if your GPU is getting the power.
    Are you asking if, when I switch the pc on, does the fan on the GTX750 spin? If so then yes, but it didn't before I kicked my desk.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array a100 PC Specs
    a100 PC Specs
    MotherboardH97 Asus
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790 3.6GHZ
    Memory (part number)16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX980Ti Reference OC`d GPU: +210MHZ - Memory: +300MHZ
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T Gaming LED Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung Evo Pro 850 512G SSD
    CPU CoolerRog Dual Fan
    CaseG20AJ
    Keyboard Asus
    Mouse Asus
    OS Win 8.1 Core Single Language
    Accessory #1 Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    146

    Then I suspected it correctly.

    If your GPS is still not working properly, unbox the G20 remove and this time firmly attach Power Pins into your GPU make sure you hear the locking sound.

    Also check for other power attachments to be firmly in.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by a100 View Post
    Then I suspected it correctly.

    If your GPS is still not working properly, unbox the G20 remove and this time firmly attach Power Pins into your GPU make sure you hear the locking sound.

    Also check for other power attachments to be firmly in.
    I didn't have any power connectors connecting the graphics card to the computer. I had a 6 and 8 pin in the box though. Do I need to use these and if so where do I connect them?
    Last edited by SNB43; 11-24-2015 at 09:46 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array a100 PC Specs
    a100 PC Specs
    MotherboardH97 Asus
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790 3.6GHZ
    Memory (part number)16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX980Ti Reference OC`d GPU: +210MHZ - Memory: +300MHZ
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T Gaming LED Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung Evo Pro 850 512G SSD
    CPU CoolerRog Dual Fan
    CaseG20AJ
    Keyboard Asus
    Mouse Asus
    OS Win 8.1 Core Single Language
    Accessory #1 Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    146

    Of course!!!!

    Depends for instance if your card is a GTX980Ti you need to connect those 6 and 8 pins power connectors to the end of your card.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •