Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Have you tried the second bios, these boards have 2 bios chips, little red button on bottom right of board
    Yup switched bios from the motherboard and forced booted bios 2 from the motherboard both led to code 00 .-.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    154

    It didn't ask me to enable them, the boards intel controller is either in AHCI default or Raid mode which opens up the Raid Bios interface during booting and will show the HD's connected to the intel raid controller and the first 4 ports.

    Not had any joy installing onto a SSD raid 0 array it just hungup accessing the array, though 1 SSD has just gone up in smoke, and both were new so that may have had a underlying issue and been the cause.

    But the Dropping of Ram sticks and my other SSD seemed to be related to the overall system stability or lack it and the memory kit and system voltages.

    If your just getting 00 then you've got some major issue, I'd go back to the basics with 1 stick of ram in and one vid card and start from there, pull every USB device out including the keyboard, as apparently this board also has some nice hidden treats with some USB devices being connected, and see how you fair.

    Make sure your cooler isn't overtighted and skewing the CPU in its slot, no real need to swing on a screwdriver to fix into place.

    Ensure you have the E-Z power molex plug plugged in at the base of the board.

    If you still get no where pull the gpu and try a different stick of ram, and I'd avoid using the OC panel completely.

    If your still getting 00 then you have a non starter and there's a problem with either the CPU and or the mobo, because with just one stick of ram and the cpu in, you should at least get the sod off no Video card beep code. (having a speaker connected is always helpful too.) and you should get past 00.

    If that still doesn't work then I'm sorry your done, its RMA time, and you've basically got 2 candidates the cpu or the mobo or both.

    Make sure you follow the single dimm installation guidelines as far as the manual goes for which slot to slap the one dimm in. A1 if I remember correctly.

    Hope it doesn't end up being like mine, I seem to have sorted my problems for now and the system is behaving itself, hope you have the same luck.
    Last edited by Hawkstorm; 11-30-2015 at 12:05 AM.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Hawkstorm View Post
    It didn't ask me to enable them, the boards intel controller is either in AHCI default or Raid mode which opens up the Raid Bios interface during booting and will show the HD's connected to the intel raid controller and the first 4 ports.

    Not had any joy installing onto a SSD raid 0 array it just hungup accessing the array, though 1 SSD has just gone up in smoke, and both were new so that may have had a underlying issue and been the cause.

    But the Dropping of Ram sticks and my other SSD seemed to be related to the overall system stability or lack it and the memory kit and system voltages.

    If your just getting 00 then you've got some major issue, I'd go back to the basics with 1 stick of ram in and one vid card and start from there, pull every USB device out including the keyboard, as apparently this board also has some nice hidden treats with some USB devices being connected, and see how you fair.

    Make sure your cooler isn't overtighted and skewing the CPU in its slot, no real need to swing on a screwdriver to fix into place.

    Ensure you have the E-Z power molex plug plugged in at the base of the board.

    If you still get no where pull the gpu and try a different stick of ram, and I'd avoid using the OC panel completely.

    If your still getting 00 then you have a non starter and there's a problem with either the CPU and or the mobo, because with just one stick of ram and the cpu in, you should at least get the sod off no Video card beep code. (having a speaker connected is always helpful too.) and you should get past 00.

    If that still doesn't work then I'm sorry your done, its RMA time, and you've basically got 2 candidates the cpu or the mobo or both.

    Make sure you follow the single dimm installation guidelines as far as the manual goes for which slot to slap the one dimm in. A1 if I remember correctly.

    Hope it doesn't end up being like mine, I seem to have sorted my problems for now and the system is behaving itself, hope you have the same luck.
    I will just take out the mobo, attach only power cables to it and then update bios again with the ROG connect. Will not over tighten screws and will add 1 RAM stick at a time. If this doesn't help then well RMA is my only option left. Can't believe a $600 mobo from ASUS doing this..

    Isn't the ez molex power plug for multiple GPUs?

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    154

    The E-Z plug supply extra power to the PCI bus if I remember correctly but yes, its there for multi gpu setups but certainly won't hurt you to have it plugged in.

    I'd steer clear of the OC panel there's another thread in here about that, and trying to reflash the bios in your shape might not be a good idea.

    As for believing its not possible with a board of this price this experience has taught me 1 never to buy another Asus mobo, and that anything is and will happen.

    This base unit cost me around £1600+ without replacing the Vid cards so its the most expensive machine I've built for myself by far, the weeks of issues with this board haven't endeared me to Asus products that's for sure, never had such problems with any Gigabyte board I've had.

    Though still touching wood my problems seem to be at a end, well for now anyway.

    Personally I'm not a fan of balancing boards on boxes to test, safer to do in your rig, really miss the pullout trays with the motherboard don't seem to see them much anymore.
    Last edited by Hawkstorm; 11-30-2015 at 02:01 AM.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,457

    Quote Originally Posted by 0Shin0 View Post
    I will just take out the mobo, attach only power cables to it and then update bios again with the ROG connect. Will not over tighten screws and will add 1 RAM stick at a time. If this doesn't help then well RMA is my only option left. Can't believe a $600 mobo from ASUS doing this..

    Isn't the ez molex power plug for multiple GPUs?
    Only look Newegg and Amazon...
    ASUS employers not answer to people any more because every 3rd customer have no problems with board.
    I had tones of boards and in rear situation when something didn't work I knew that was mistake from
    manufacturer and something what I or other people can't fix.
    I don't recommend to people any more Rampage 5 Extreme because I don't want someone to enter in problem.
    It's sad that today you can't find solid board without bugs, only with more or less RMA cases and all of them suffer from some bugs and arrive with serious weak sides. From first to last board, all brands... Only with Rampage 5 Extreme fault rate is insane.
    The worse of all is because exactly same happen with Z170 series and always boards with more bugs are high end boards.
    And I have no some special hope that situation with Rampage 5 Black will be different or boards for Broadwell-E.
    I have more feeling that now on board work someone who don't know to do that as people before and that will only continue similar situation with next motherboard series.
    Same what happen with Rampage V Extreme, Rampage V Extreme USB 3.1 now happen and with Maximus VIII Hero and Maximus VIII Extreme... 3 bad experience, one good, 4 bad one good, 2 bad one good.,...
    If you look other ASRock X99 OC Formula, MSI X99A XPOWER AC/USB 3.1, GIGABYTE X99 SOC Champion situation is not excellent but better than with ASUS ROG motherboards from last two Intel chipset.

    Such behavior is not fair and because Intel. They launched so good and affordable series nice for overclocking and main motherboard manufacturer joke with customers and launch one premium board full of buggs.
    Last edited by Vlada011; 11-30-2015 at 02:11 AM.


  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Avenger411 PC Specs
    Avenger411 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 5930K@4.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skills DDR4-3200 (16-16-16-36-1T) 1.375v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid AiO Liquid Cooler
    MonitorAsus RoG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1OCZ RD400A (Windows)
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro (Gaming)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1000w Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry-Mx Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Roccat 5.1 True Surround Digital
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC1900
    Accessory #1 Iphone 6S 64gb
    Accessory #2 Brainwave Headset Stand
    Accessory #3 Microsoft Xbox360 Pc Controller

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    617

    Quote Originally Posted by Vlada011 View Post
    Only look Newegg and Amazon...
    ASUS employers not answer to people any more because every 3rd customer have no problems with board.
    I had tones of boards and in rear situation when something didn't work I knew that was mistake from
    manufacturer and something what I or other people can't fix.
    I don't recommend to people any more Rampage 5 Extreme because I don't want someone to enter in problem.
    It's sad that today you can't find solid board without bugs, only with more or less RMA cases and all of them suffer from some bugs and arrive with serious weak sides. From first to last board, all brands... Only with Rampage 5 Extreme fault rate is insane.
    The worse of all is because exactly same happen with Z170 series and always boards with more bugs are high end boards.
    And I have no some special hope that situation with Rampage 5 Black will be different or boards for Broadwell-E.
    I have more feeling that now on board work someone who don't know to do that as people before and that will only continue similar situation with next motherboard series.
    Same what happen with Rampage V Extreme, Rampage V Extreme USB 3.1 now happen and with Maximus VIII Hero and Maximus VIII Extreme... 3 bad experience, one good, 4 bad one good, 2 bad one good.,...
    If you look other ASRock X99 OC Formula, MSI X99A XPOWER AC/USB 3.1, GIGABYTE X99 SOC Champion situation is not excellent but better than with ASUS ROG motherboards from last two Intel chipset.

    Such behavior is not fair and because Intel. They launched so good and affordable series nice for overclocking and main motherboard manufacturer joke with customers and launch one premium board full of buggs.
    Hey Vlada,

    I feel what you're saying. But look at it this way. Professionnal boards like these, are bought by people who are supposed to know how stuff works. Also, people who buy these kind of boards, tend to overclock their stuff. That brings more problems and if you lack knowledge like 99 out of 100, you'll end up having problems and coming here asking help like me. Sure there are bugs. I think the biggest bugs got ironed out and it's quite alright right now. I remember when i was on bios 602, god damn it was hell for me. Now it's smooth sailing. Would i recommend this board to someone who wants the best ? YES. Will i tell him, "you need to know what you're doing" YES. I've had evga's, msi's and gigabyte's boards, and from my experience the best ones are ASUS, strong build, and RnD that i better than africa's military budget.

    Max
    Cpu : Intel 5930K@4.25ghz@1.2v / Cache @4.25ghz@1.20v
    Cpu Cooler : Corsair H100i
    Case : Corsair 780T
    Memory : G.Skills 32GB DDR4-3200mhz CAS 15-15-15-35-1T@1.370v
    Motherboard : Asus Rampage V Extreme (BIOS 3504)
    M2 : Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512gb (Gaming)
    M2 : SSD1 : OCZ RD400A 128gb (windows)
    SSD1 : Crucial MX100 512gb (data)
    Gfx : EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid Cooling AiO Liquid Cooler
    PSU : Antec HCP-1000W
    Monitor : Asus RoG Swift

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,457

    I hope ASUS will change something, because I'm only really happy when ASUS is inside case or EVGA but situation there is not better at all.
    ASUS BIOS was always closer to me than others, and on cheaper boards when I install OS to someone and need to set only basic settings I always like more when I deal with ASUS board.
    I have some weird impression that mid and low tange motherboards are less problematic instead to be opposite.
    I really look good for X99 motherboards and for me is most important VRM, controllers, nice BIOS and nice look.
    And R5E have best possible power section. I didn't find better board on beginning and now I can't find better.
    Only they need to find where is problem with so many complains of people and to fix that.


  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Not sure how that helped the topic.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    154

    Quote Originally Posted by 0Shin0 View Post
    Not sure how that helped the topic.
    Quite.

    How goes it you had any joy yet?

  10. #20
    ROG Enthusiast Array Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus
    MotherboardLGA2011 Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel - Core i7-5960X
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardMotherBoard
    MonitorAsus 3 27"
    Storage #1C - Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #2All WD Black - 1 Intel Raid & 1 Startech Raid plus 2 6t
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110
    CaseCM Strrom Trooper
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Plantronics Savi 700 - Dragon Compatible
    OS Windows 10 professional
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Here it is going on a year and half later and Asus is still ignoring the problems of the Rampage V Edition 10. I know this is the Rampage V Extreme but I happened across this topic out of desperation. It's probably of little surprise but here I said with a RAM page V edition 10 with the same issue, half memory does not show. And still no cure. I'm using G.Skill128GTZKW. Has anybody found a cure for this problem. Calling the Asus tech support is like asking an ice cream vendor in 110° heat how to keep the ice cream from melting all over your hand.
    Bob

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •