Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 63
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    G751 help, black screen after powering on

    When I turned on my laptop It didn't do anything, there was a black screen and the keyboard was red as usual. I left it like this for like an hour and nothing happened. I had to turn it off on the power button

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    Is it new from the box? If so.. Swap for a new one. Sounds like a lemon.


    Otherwise provide more information.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    Is it new from the box? If so.. Swap for a new one. Sounds like a lemon.


    Otherwise provide more information.
    Ive been using it for like 3 weeks

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Mine started doing the same thing yesterday. It has happened a couple of times now and is usually fixed by a couple of reboots (holding power button down). I have no idea what's behind this. There have been no added hardware or software on mine for a couple of weeks now. I might reinstall it and see if that helps but if not I'll be contacting Asus for warranty options. Mine is also around the 3 week mark in age.

    The only thing I can say for sure is it doesn't happen if I power it off properly from Windows. I'm fairly certain it's not a hardware issue but seems to have to do with hibernation. A driver not waking up properly perhaps? I've not tried disabling it yet but there's an idea for you op.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Same problem here. got mine for a week now, and the problem started.
    Few reboots are needed to solve this problem though

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array CocoNutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Same here seems like the g750 series is unreliable.Im gonna go to the shop where i bought and demand my money back.Im thinking either i want a new laptop and compensation, punitive damages and all that.Or my money back plus punitive damages, there's to many threads on the net about problems with asus laptops i dont really trust asus anymore.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Guys, there are several Black Screen modes created by Microsoft Updates since August, Sept, Nov, Dec. It is sad to see all of this going on, and there are several causes / solutions.

    The best you can do is to back up all of your stuff and do an F9 OS reset and hope Microsoft doesn't shoot itself in the foot again

    This isn't Asus fault, and Asus aren't set up to do Windows debugging for users, so it is best to work it out yourselves by doing an F9 OS reset before calling Asus to see if that restores normal operation - as that is what Asus will ask you to do before approving RMA.

    If you get an ok boot occasionally and can get in to the OS to debug, then here is a long list of debugging / solution URL's

    https://www.google.com/search?q=wind...utf-8&oe=utf-8

    Please try the F9 reset, or the debugging / fix solutions - try to pick one that times with your failure - Nov/Dec ones are more likely by now.

    If the F9 OS reset works, then be sure and turn off Windows Updates for right now, and do Updates manually, being careful to note which ones you have done if the problem comes back - as you will want to make that update Hidden so it doesn't install again - the list of solution/fix sites will list KB updates known to cause the problem so don't install those.

    And, please come back and let us know how it works out
    Last edited by hmscott; 12-26-2014 at 01:54 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array CocoNutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Are you sure its because of the windows updates ? I have a desktop pc and 2 laptops but only my asus bricked.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by CocoNutty View Post
    Are you sure its because of the windows updates ? I have a desktop pc and 2 laptops but only my asus bricked.
    CocoNutty, there are lots of reports from non-Asus users affected. There might be a sequence of events/updates that contribute that doesn't affect everyone. There have been postings from ROG laptop owners about this since August, and they fixed the problem like the rest of those non-ROG afflicted PC owners.

    I haven't had the problem, because I don't auto install Microsoft Updates - I do it manually allowing only those I know haven't been causing problems - it is time consuming, but the only way to be sure.

    There are situations where a hardware failure can be the cause of similar symptoms, that is why it is so frustrating, but fortunately most/all have been solved by removing the most recent KB's installed, or doing an F9 OS reset.

    It would be more frustrating to return a perfectly good laptop just because of a bad Windows Update.

    Try the most recent Google solutions for Microsoft updates causing Black Screen, and see if you can get out of the situation that way first.

    Be sure to have the network disabled when doing the restore so that the bad updates don't reinstall, turn off Microsoft Automatic Updates and do them manually yourself after checking for problems with each update, at least until this recent series of bad updates from Microsoft stops.
    Last edited by hmscott; 12-25-2014 at 11:57 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array CocoNutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Ok thanks for the tip will try.
    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    This isn't Asus fault, and Asus aren't set up to do Windows debugging for users, so it is best to work it out yourselves but doing an F9 OS reset - as that is what Asus will tell you to do first thing
    When i called the customer service the first thing i heard was wait, they dident mention f9 os reset.
    Also i noticed a strange peak in my phonebill more then 13 euro for a phonecall that dident amount to nothing.
    I wanna like asus they create some nice looking high spec laptops but if they dont work : (

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •