Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    ASUS ROG G751JY 210 Bios memory issue

    Hi,

    I've upgraded my ASUS ROG G751JY BIOS to the latest version 210.
    But now the laptop only detects 24GB of the installed 32GB memory.

    Is this a known bug in the latest bios? What shall I do with it?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    784

    Hello there and welcome to the forum.

    Thank you for this info.
    In the long run:
    To help any other G751JY owner, it may be smart to let Asus know about this bug, and ask them to release a fixed bios.

    To help you case, ASAP:
    You can reflash OLDER version of the bios -> download it from asus official support page inc. WinFlash, the bios flashing app, which I guess you already have it.
    To downgrade the Bios, you MUST run winflash with "/nodate" switch - so it may enable you to flash older bios version.
    (I.E "c:\Program Files (x86)\ASUS\WinFlash\WinFlash.exe /nodate" )

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Gps3dx View Post
    Hello there and welcome to the forum.

    Thank you for this info.
    In the long run:
    To help any other G751JY owner, it may be smart to let Asus know about this bug, and ask them to release a fixed bios.
    I thought that's what I'm doing here. What good is an official forum if they don't have an official rep. monitoring it?
    To help you case, ASAP:
    You can reflash OLDER version of the bios -> download it from asus official support page inc. WinFlash, the bios flashing app, which I guess you already have it.
    To downgrade the Bios, you MUST run winflash with "/nodate" switch - so it may enable you to flash older bios version.
    (I.E "c:\Program Files (x86)\ASUS\WinFlash\WinFlash.exe /nodate" )
    Thanks but that's just what I want to avoid. Flashing different BIOS versions blindly without knowing which version actually introduced this bug, as the laptop had a very early bios version, there are at least 5 in between. And now there is even a new one: 211.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    310

    Bios 209 works perfectly, flash it and use it

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Flashed it to 209, still only 24GB, three of the 4 modules work.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    310

    Next, you can try following:
    1) Reinsert the modules, change positions of the RAM modules you can access.
    2) Boot from a bootable Ubuntu USB drive, see if it can detect 32 GB of ram.

    I'm on bios 209, and all my 32 gb of ram are detected, therefore I don't think it's bios related.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    321

    Faulty RAM

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Julskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    388

    Try to remove the 2 accessible modules and see what happens. Isolate the problem one by one, start with the easiest.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •