Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array PhilG55vw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    G703GI - Set Default Clock

    Setting up my new G703, I can't get the default CPU/GPU clocks to default to the Standard setting in the Gaming Center. No sense running at Extreme when you're just installing software. any guidance appreciated.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    No point really, since GPU Boost governs your GPU's clock, right now yours would be doing 100-200MHz if not gaming.

    CPU you can force to not use HyperThreading by setting a Power Option, and putting your CPU's max power at '99%', anything below 100% disables HyperThreading, making your CPU sit at base clock.. being 2.6GHz for a 6700HQ

    Otherwise, used 'Balanced Mode' or 'Power Saver', but it's always nice to make your own custom profiles. ;d

    Wait, you have a G703 Chimera? :f

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sdfsdfsdfsf.PNG 
Views:	7 
Size:	54.4 KB 
ID:	75256
    Last edited by Darnassus; 08-16-2018 at 04:59 AM.
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array PhilG55vw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    No point really, since GPU Boost governs your GPU's clock, right now yours would be doing 100-200MHz if not gaming.

    CPU you can force to not use HyperThreading by setting a Power Option, and putting your CPU's max power at '99%', anything below 100% disables HyperThreading, making your CPU sit at base clock.. being 2.6GHz for a 6700HQ

    Otherwise, used 'Balanced Mode' or 'Power Saver', but it's always nice to make your own custom profiles. ;d
    Great, thanks, but Gaming Center is showning around 4500Mhz with only this running. I guess I need to understand Gaming Center better.

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    Wait, you have a G703 Chimera? :f
    Ahh, yeah.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    Gaming Center I think just shows your max value achieveable.. I am uncertain.. I have it installed because as of now I believe it is supposed to be there for some functions, next reinstall I might just cut it, and use the GameCenter key and bind it to something else more useful.

    If you want to see what your actual GPU's current clock is, and track it.. use this. http://openhardwaremonitor.org/

    Then open the Graph, or Plot, and tick your GPU so you can track its performance.

    Post a picture here of when your system's idle without playing a game. ;d

    Also well done on the Chimera, I can't put myself to spend over $2500 ha. ;d
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    117

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilG55vw View Post
    Setting up my new G703, I can't get the default CPU/GPU clocks to default to the Standard setting in the Gaming Center. No sense running at Extreme when you're just installing software. any guidance appreciated.
    Congratulations on the g703. It's a marvelous machine & I absolutely love mine.
    I just change the profile to standard whenever Im not gaming & have it plugged in. External power makes the gaming center default to extreme.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array PhilG55vw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    Gaming Center I think just shows your max value achieveable.. I am uncertain.. I have it installed because as of now I believe it is supposed to be there for some functions, next reinstall I might just cut it, and use the GameCenter key and bind it to something else more useful.

    If you want to see what your actual GPU's current clock is, and track it.. use this. http://openhardwaremonitor.org/
    Great link, thank you!


    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    Also well done on the Chimera, I can't put myself to spend over $2500 ha. ;d
    Yeah, I hear ya. I had a GL702 for that reason but it rolled over and died after 3 weeks, but it ran very hot running Destiny2. The GL series are too thin to get enough air flow. Thought about building another desktop but I really like a laptop for where I'm using computers now. So far this sucker is one bad machine. I also have a G55VW that is still going strong, but it can't handle the new games.

    Thanks again for the help

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array PhilG55vw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by Weirdoutworld View Post
    Congratulations on the g703. It's a marvelous machine & I absolutely love mine.
    Yes it is! Thanks for the note. Did you get the i7 or i9 version?
    Last edited by PhilG55vw; 08-18-2018 at 02:52 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array PhilG55vw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    Then open the Graph, or Plot, and tick your GPU so you can track its performance.

    Post a picture here of when your system's idle without playing a game. ;d
    Chart at idle.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos G703_Idle.jpg  


  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    Huh, weird.. :f 1300 MHz on idle? Mine sits at 180 idle, a YT video brings it to 600-900, gaming up to 1900.
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array PhilG55vw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    Huh, weird.. :f 1300 MHz on idle? Mine sits at 180 idle, a YT video brings it to 600-900, gaming up to 1900.
    Something I had done previously I think. Just took another look and core is at 139. Waiting impatiently for the new Destiny2 release in September.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •