Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Crazyjedi PC Specs
    Crazyjedi PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Hero
    ProcessorIntel i5 Haswell 4670K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengence 2400mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 780
    MonitorAcer S271HL
    Storage #1Corsair 256gb SSD
    Storage #2WD Caviar 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerStock
    CaseSilverstone Raven RV03
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750M
    Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Razer Naga Hex
    Headset Turtle Beach
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterVirgin Media stock
    Accessory #1 Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    CrossHair Formula-z AMD 9370 FX shuts down after a few seconds

    Hi

    A friend of mine decided to try and build his own rig. He has never done so before (and probably won't again).
    Things did not go well..

    I am trying to rescue the situation for him but as it stands the PC shuts down a few seconds after being powered up.

    Currently his core components are AMD FX9370 | Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z | corsair 600W PSU (can't remember which one) | 8Gb Corsair Vengence RAM

    I am thinking that the PSU might be the cause of the problem atm The PSU has an 8-pin CPU plug but the board has another 4-pin CPU socket too. would a change of PSU for a bit more power plus an extra CPU plug help?

    Sorry this is a bit sketchy but I don't have the documentation for the parts in this PC.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    169

    "I am trying to rescue the situation for him but as it stands the PC shuts down a few seconds after being powered up."

    Just a quick check---make sure all of your fan/cooling connectors are seated properly---what you describe sounds a lot like what has happened to me when i've put one in cockeyed , and its contacting the wrong pins. Its easier to do that than you might think.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by Crazyjedi View Post
    I am thinking that the PSU might be the cause of the problem atm The PSU has an 8-pin CPU plug but the board has another 4-pin CPU socket too. would a change of PSU for a bit more power plus an extra CPU plug help?
    Yes indeed, the PSU is borderline and the 4pin plug should be populated.
    Recommend a min 850W gold or platinum PSU or 1000W for dual GPU and further expansion.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Thinkpad T410
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 9590
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (8-8-8-24, 1866 MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 390 STRIX (OC, GAMING)
    Storage #1SG Constellation 6 TB (6x1 TB) RAID 0
    Storage #2SG Constellation 2 TB (2x2 TB) RAID 1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCaseLabs STH-10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X5
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Perixx 900x440x3 mm + Steelseries 320x270x3 mm + ALLSOP hard pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G930/Altec Lansing 5.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
    Dr. Zchivago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    609

    You should also make sure that the heat from the CPU is being dissipated adequately.

    Z
    Resistance is futile (at <1 Ohm).

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    596

    whats your GPU? If you have not some power hungry GPU, the PSU will be not issue (example I have 850 PSU Corsair and FX-9590)

    1)If you open with start of WIndows Coretemp, whats your temps at cores (what show your Coretemp, not whats real , because there is difference around 15C) ?
    2)be sure, your VRM area of MB is not too hot
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Crazyjedi PC Specs
    Crazyjedi PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Hero
    ProcessorIntel i5 Haswell 4670K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengence 2400mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 780
    MonitorAcer S271HL
    Storage #1Corsair 256gb SSD
    Storage #2WD Caviar 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerStock
    CaseSilverstone Raven RV03
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750M
    Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Razer Naga Hex
    Headset Turtle Beach
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterVirgin Media stock
    Accessory #1 Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    6204

    Sorry forgot to mention the GPU = Nvidia GTX 780

    Thanks for all the replies. I will double check all the connectors are seated properly and advise my mate that we need to order a new PSU. His current PSU only has the one 4+4 CPU power connector.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    596

    its OK, its not need to join 8+4pin, only 8. 8+4 is for extreme LN2. I have in board 8 pin join only and no issues with PC after year is long . Keep check your temps and VRM temps. I think there could be problem. And settings of the digi+ control in BIOS.
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Thinkpad T410
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 9590
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (8-8-8-24, 1866 MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 390 STRIX (OC, GAMING)
    Storage #1SG Constellation 6 TB (6x1 TB) RAID 0
    Storage #2SG Constellation 2 TB (2x2 TB) RAID 1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCaseLabs STH-10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X5
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Perixx 900x440x3 mm + Steelseries 320x270x3 mm + ALLSOP hard pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G930/Altec Lansing 5.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
    Dr. Zchivago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    its OK, its not need to join 8+4pin, only 8. 8+4 is for extreme LN2.
    There's a strong number of people here who disagree, including myself, especially with the 9000 series FX CPUs - it's always better to have the extra power support. Each CPU is different, even those of the same model.

    @CrazyJedi: What is your cooling solution? The only time I've experienced the issue as you describe it has been when cooling is inadequate, or when power supplied to the CPU is insufficient (ie: only the 8-pin is populated). The only way you can be sure to write those two things off as possibilities is to ensure you have adequate cooling, and to populate the 4-pin socket. There are adapters available for less than $10 US on eBay/Amazon.

    THIS LINK TO ONE

    Z
    Resistance is futile (at <1 Ohm).

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    596

    man, I tested around 10+ FX chip of Vishera and many of Zambezi. Believe, I have some experience with tweaking of CPUs (I started with Athlons 64 and after I had every generation of CPU in 1 or more pieces).
    Before he will try to bought the PSU will be better check the temperatures in Coretemp and VRM setings in BIOS+temps on VRM area. If these will be OK, after we can thinking about PSU.
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Thinkpad T410
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 9590
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (8-8-8-24, 1866 MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 390 STRIX (OC, GAMING)
    Storage #1SG Constellation 6 TB (6x1 TB) RAID 0
    Storage #2SG Constellation 2 TB (2x2 TB) RAID 1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCaseLabs STH-10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X5
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Perixx 900x440x3 mm + Steelseries 320x270x3 mm + ALLSOP hard pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G930/Altec Lansing 5.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
    Dr. Zchivago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    man, I tested around 10+ FX chip of Vishera and many of Zambezi
    I'm not trying to suggest you don't know your stuff. But, MY 9590 is not stable at stock settings without the 8+4 populated - I don't know why exactly, and it probably has something to do with the fact that I can't keep my system stable with the CPU clock above 5.0 GHz.

    Also, I didn't say anything about replacing the PSU - I said: (1) temperatures, and (2) populate the 4-pin (adapter - much cheaper than a new PSU).

    However, I agree with you that the VRMs might be running hot, but they can stand (should be able to) temperatures above 100 C, and that CPU runs hot as a furnace and needs adequate cooling (CPU cannot stand temperatures above 100 C). TYPICALLY, that particular CPU will overheat and shut the system down before the VRMs do the same.

    Z
    Resistance is futile (at <1 Ohm).

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •