Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33
  1. #11
    AntiMatter Guru ROG Array chrsplmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    295
    Posts
    6,113

    Dr. Z,
    With all due respect brother, Please allow me to introduce you to FlanK3r (http://hwbot.org/user/flanker/).
    In my humble opinion when it comes to AMD he is beyond reproach. (He is no intel slouch either.)

    That said, I personally believe you will find that your board is shutting down due to your cpu overheating.
    From there, I go with FlanK3r.

    Best of Luck. Keep us posted. .c.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array Crazyjedi PC Specs
    Crazyjedi PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Hero
    ProcessorIntel i5 Haswell 4670K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengence 2400mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 780
    MonitorAcer S271HL
    Storage #1Corsair 256gb SSD
    Storage #2WD Caviar 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerStock
    CaseSilverstone Raven RV03
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750M
    Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Razer Naga Hex
    Headset Turtle Beach
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterVirgin Media stock
    Accessory #1 Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by chrsplmr View Post
    Dr. Z,
    With all due respect brother, Please allow me to introduce you to FlanK3r (http://hwbot.org/user/flanker/).
    In my humble opinion when it comes to AMD he is beyond reproach. (He is no intel slouch either.)

    That said, I personally believe you will find that your board is shutting down due to your cpu overheating.
    From there, I go with FlanK3r.

    Best of Luck. Keep us posted. .c.
    I think I am going to take it apart and start again. It's been quite a difficult task to diagnose this one because, I did not build it in the first place and my area of expertise is on the Intel side of the fence....

    I will let you all know how I get on.

    Cheers

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    169

    Quote Originally Posted by Crazyjedi View Post
    I think I am going to take it apart and start again. It's been quite a difficult task to diagnose this one because, I did not build it in the first place and my area of expertise is on the Intel side of the fence....

    I will let you all know how I get on.

    Cheers
    Dont feel bad---even at stock speeds this cpu is a handful to get stable unless you have a beefy, quality PSU and great airflow all around the board from the very start.

    And at the very least, a corsair H70-class water cooler (push pull 120mm).

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array Crazyjedi PC Specs
    Crazyjedi PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Hero
    ProcessorIntel i5 Haswell 4670K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengence 2400mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 780
    MonitorAcer S271HL
    Storage #1Corsair 256gb SSD
    Storage #2WD Caviar 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerStock
    CaseSilverstone Raven RV03
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750M
    Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Razer Naga Hex
    Headset Turtle Beach
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterVirgin Media stock
    Accessory #1 Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by blppt View Post
    Dont feel bad---even at stock speeds this cpu is a handful to get stable unless you have a beefy, quality PSU and great airflow all around the board from the very start.

    And at the very least, a corsair H70-class water cooler (push pull 120mm).
    Unfortunately the guy who built this rig did pretty much the opposite of all the advice I gave him, and then hands it to me to fix when it all went wrong.
    When he first handed the PC to me he had plugged in the AMD9370 to £30 worth of Gigabyte mobo! The CPU socket on that board was just one 4-pin socket. The first thing I did was swap out the cheap mobo for a Crosshair but this thing has been nothing but a head ache for me and I just want to give it him back fixed so he can go away and play on it and let me get on with my own projects...

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    596

    good point is it, most of 9370/9590 going undervolting very well.
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    169

    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    good point is it, most of 9370/9590 going undervolting very well.
    I'd agree with that---especially if you leave turbo off. I've gotten the 9590 rock stable with LLC Regular, which is a HUGE voltage droop under full core load. Thats at 4.7.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array noobOC PC Specs
    noobOC PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z
    ProcessorAMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 1200.5 MHz (DDR3-2400 / PC3-19200) CMD16GX3M2A2400C10
    Graphics Card #1XFX Radeon R9 380
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master V8 GTS - High Performance CPU Cooler with Horizontal Vapor Chamber
    CaseRosewill THOR V2 Gaming ATX Full Tower Computer
    Power SupplyCorsair RM Series 1000 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G510 Series
    Mouse G100s Optical Gaming Mouse
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 (x64)
    Network RouterNetgear R6250

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    hold on now. I didnt read all this. but is it so that I need need to populate the 8 pin and the 4 pin plugs? and then possably the EZ plug also with duel vid cards?
    PC [BRICKED]
    B]Motherboard[/B] ASUS CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z Processor AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 1200.5 MHz (DDR3-2400Graphics Card XFX Radeon R9 380 [BRICKED]

    Laptop
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7 4720HQChipsetIntel® HM87 Express Chipset Operating SystemWindows 10 HomeDisplay17.3" 16:9 IPS FHD (1920x1080) anti-glareGraphicsNVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 965M with 2GB GDDR5Optical DriveSuper-Multi DVDStorage1TB HDD 7200 RPM(Dual HDD Support)

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    169

    Quote Originally Posted by noobOC View Post
    hold on now. I didnt read all this. but is it so that I need need to populate the 8 pin and the 4 pin plugs? and then possably the EZ plug also with duel vid cards?
    If all else fails, it wouldnt hurt to try and see if both plugs to the cpu would solve your problem. It did for me (was not stable even at stock speeds without both the 8 + 4 pins connected).

    As for the PCI-E power connector (Molex 4 pin, IIRC) it didnt really seem to make a difference when I had 2 290s in there, but if you can run a power cord over there without majorly hindering airflow, it couldnt hurt.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair vi Hero bios 6301
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 32GB 4X8 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    598

    try taking every thing out of the case and setting it up on a box like the one the motherboard came in. with the bare minimum parts one memory stik one video card and cpu. this will rule out any shorts in the case then see if you can get it to buut if so add one part at a time to find the problem
    amd ryzen 7 1800x
    CROSSHAIR Vi hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 32gb 4x8gb
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    LG DVD BURNER
    corsair obsidian 750d case

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array Crazyjedi PC Specs
    Crazyjedi PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VI Hero
    ProcessorIntel i5 Haswell 4670K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengence 2400mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 780
    MonitorAcer S271HL
    Storage #1Corsair 256gb SSD
    Storage #2WD Caviar 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerStock
    CaseSilverstone Raven RV03
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750M
    Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Razer Naga Hex
    Headset Turtle Beach
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterVirgin Media stock
    Accessory #1 Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Ok this thing is still not working.
    I have stripped it down. Replaced the PSU, removed the CPU and re-seated it and replaced the TIM.
    The first time I booted it up, all seemed well. I had a quick look through the BIOS and everything seemed OK.
    I rebooted it but as it started back up, The mobo cycled through it's "post code numbers" until it reached "FF" and then shut down. Everytime I tried to boot it the damn thing did the same thing. Cycles through to "FF" and shuts down. It won't stay on for long enough for me to check temps ar anything else diagnostic.
    Please help! I want this thing fixed and back to it's owner.... It's taking up a lot of room and time in my life atm...

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •