Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array madmarc69 PC Specs
    madmarc69 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme BIOS 3501
    ProcessorIntel i7 6950x@4.2Ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB 3200Mhz CL14
    Graphics Card #1EVGA TITAN X SC@1506Mhz
    Graphics Card #2EVGA TITAN X SC@1506Mhz
    Sound CardASUS Essence STX II 7.1
    MonitorDELL U3818DW
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung SM951 AHCI M.2 512GB
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU-380i
    CaseLian Li PC-A76X
    Power SupplybeQuiet Dark Power Pro 11 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech DiNovo Edge
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    OS Windows 10 pro 64Bit
    Network RouterDraytek Vigor 2960 450Mbit/s
    Accessory #1 Intel i350-T2V2 Dual Port Server Adapter
    Accessory #2 External water cooling solution
    madmarc69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by GoNz0- View Post
    I added all 3 raid modules to the modded BIOS to rule out a missing module https://mega.nz/#!LhMFAB6Q!k3I0tk6l3...PN0C4m_BlzPLbs

    Give that a shot please.
    Hello GoNzO,

    your new bios fixed the problem. Than you. It works fine.

    MM69
    Last edited by madmarc69; 12-13-2015 at 08:57 PM.

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array GoNz0- PC Specs
    GoNz0- PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 9530
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930
    Memory (part number)[Ripjaws 4] F4-2666C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    CPU CoolerEk Evo Supremacy
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEnermax 1250w revolution 85
    Keyboard Logitech 710+
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    Headset Sennheiser PC350
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68u

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    568

    Quote Originally Posted by skypine27 View Post
    Gonzo:

    Im at least one user who is running your modded 1701 and thank you very much:
    Your bios fixed the 4TB ssd raid0 (2 x 2TB drives) issue where under heavy load (gaming) one drive would drop out of the raid and crash the system. Your 1701 totally cured that and I have been heavy gaming (the 4TB ssd raid is my /steam drive) ever since.

    Is there a reason to try your modded 1801 vs 1701? I dont want to "risk" the rock solid setup I have now.

    Thx
    I would leave it, I am terrible at being curious and trying to unfix things with the latest BIOS but have not updated it yet. Glad it is still going strong.

    Quote Originally Posted by madmarc69 View Post
    Hello GoNzO,
    your new bios fixed the problem. Thnak you. It works fine.

    MM69
    Cool, I figured one of the 3 modules had been overlooked

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    As I noted earlier, I had issues in both the new and modded BIOS where my 980Ti's weren't being recognized in UEFI mode. I went back to 1701. I've done a lot of research and experimenting since then, and found 2 things:

    1) The VGA issue I had is actually a fairly common symptom of an unstable overclock.
    2) That my previous 4.4Ghz overclock at the time I tried the 1801s out STILL wasn't completely stable even in 1701 (even 3 hours OCCT apparently isn't enough for true stability confirmation). In 1701, I had to go up to 1.25v vcore in BIOS (1.28v under load) and 1.90v input voltage to get pretty damn stable (8 hour OCCT, 1 hour Heaven in ultra 3D Vision benchmark, hours of Witcher 3 in 3D without a crash or unknown error in event viewer even when alt-tabbing in and out which used to freeze my game around 15% of the time) OC.

    I'm starting to think that what's going on is, 1801 is either more sensitive to instability, or it just changes what parameters you need to be stable. It might not even be voltage, maybe it's one of the settings like LLC or disabled SPVID or anything. Whatever it is, if you're having trouble with 1801, it's possible your previous OC simply isn't stable anymore under it, and 1801 isn't "bugged" so much as you just need to redo from scratch to find a good stable OC. Whether that OC is better or worse than the one you had is, of course, probably going to depend on your chip. Just my 2 cents.

    It may be helpful if folks post all their non-default settings under 1801, whether working correctly or not (though tell us which!). Might help find some common non-voltage setting that causes instability or stability.

    I may give the modded BIOS another try with my current stable 1701 OC. If I do I'll post my findings.
    Last edited by Qwinn; 12-13-2015 at 09:02 PM.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    204

    I found voltajes are looser in 1801 than 1701, even in 9 llc...
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 960 EVO 512, 860 EVO 1TB
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14 2TB, BDR-207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Avenger411 PC Specs
    Avenger411 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 5930K@4.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skills DDR4-3200 (16-16-16-36-1T) 1.375v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid AiO Liquid Cooler
    MonitorAsus RoG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1OCZ RD400A (Windows)
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro (Gaming)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1000w Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry-Mx Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Roccat 5.1 True Surround Digital
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC1900
    Accessory #1 Iphone 6S 64gb
    Accessory #2 Brainwave Headset Stand
    Accessory #3 Microsoft Xbox360 Pc Controller

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    617

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwinn View Post
    As I noted earlier, I had issues in both the new and modded BIOS where my 980Ti's weren't being recognized in UEFI mode. I went back to 1701. I've done a lot of research and experimenting since then, and found 2 things:

    1) The VGA issue I had is actually a fairly common symptom of an unstable overclock.
    2) That my previous 4.4Ghz overclock at the time I tried the 1801s out STILL wasn't completely stable even in 1701 (even 3 hours OCCT apparently isn't enough for true stability confirmation). In 1701, I had to go up to 1.25v vcore in BIOS (1.28v under load) and 1.90v input voltage to get pretty damn stable (8 hour OCCT, 1 hour Heaven in ultra 3D Vision benchmark, hours of Witcher 3 in 3D without a crash or unknown error in event viewer even when alt-tabbing in and out which used to freeze my game around 15% of the time) OC.

    I'm starting to think that what's going on is, 1801 is either more sensitive to instability, or it just changes what parameters you need to be stable. It might not even be voltage, maybe it's one of the settings like LLC or disabled SPVID or anything. Whatever it is, if you're having trouble with 1801, it's possible your previous OC simply isn't stable anymore under it, and 1801 isn't "bugged" so much as you just need to redo from scratch to find a good stable OC. Whether that OC is better or worse than the one you had is, of course, probably going to depend on your chip. Just my 2 cents.

    It may be helpful if folks post all their non-default settings under 1801, whether working correctly or not (though tell us which!). Might help find some common non-voltage setting that causes instability or stability.

    I may give the modded BIOS another try with my current stable 1701 OC. If I do I'll post my findings.
    Hey,

    If there is a micro-code update, no doubt your settings may change.

    Max
    Cpu : Intel 5930K@4.25ghz@1.2v / Cache @4.25ghz@1.20v
    Cpu Cooler : Corsair H100i
    Case : Corsair 780T
    Memory : G.Skills 32GB DDR4-3200mhz CAS 15-15-15-35-1T@1.370v
    Motherboard : Asus Rampage V Extreme (BIOS 3504)
    M2 : Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512gb (Gaming)
    M2 : SSD1 : OCZ RD400A 128gb (windows)
    SSD1 : Crucial MX100 512gb (data)
    Gfx : EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid Cooling AiO Liquid Cooler
    PSU : Antec HCP-1000W
    Monitor : Asus RoG Swift

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array SB[NL] PC Specs
    SB[NL] PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16 GB DDR4-3000 Kit
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX TITAN X
    Graphics Card #2Asus GTX580 DCUII
    Sound CardOn Board Asus RE5
    MonitorEizo CG241W
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 256Gb
    Storage #21 X Seagate 3Tb, 2 X Seagate 2 TB
    CPU CoolerNo Windows Phone App
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2013
    Mouse Razer Black Mamba 2012
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    66

    Guess I'm not one of the "luckies" with a slightly lower voltage with this modded BIOS, cause I had to apply the exact same OC settings as with 1701 to get it stable in Realbench

    But hell, I wasn't lucky with my CPU to begin with so a 0.05 lower voltage wouldn't make a difference for me anyways
    But seeing people with a newer batch seem to have more luck I will wait at least a year with the upcoming 10 cores
    Hopefully a R5E Black edition will be available by the end of 2016. So for now I'm just gonna enjoy my current system and pray I won't get anymore overvoltage errors with this modded 1801 BIOS 8)

    So thx again for sharing this BIOS with us 8)

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    "But hell, I wasn't lucky with my CPU to begin with so a 0.05 lower voltage wouldn't make a difference for me anyways"

    0.05 lower voltage is the difference between 1.25v and 1.30v. It's pretty damn huge. You should theoretically easily add another 100Mhz with that much. I don't expect I'll get anywhere near that improvement (or any, really) based on my previous brief experiment though.

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array SB[NL] PC Specs
    SB[NL] PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16 GB DDR4-3000 Kit
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX TITAN X
    Graphics Card #2Asus GTX580 DCUII
    Sound CardOn Board Asus RE5
    MonitorEizo CG241W
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 256Gb
    Storage #21 X Seagate 3Tb, 2 X Seagate 2 TB
    CPU CoolerNo Windows Phone App
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2013
    Mouse Razer Black Mamba 2012
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    66

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwinn View Post
    "But hell, I wasn't lucky with my CPU to begin with so a 0.05 lower voltage wouldn't make a difference for me anyways"

    0.05 lower voltage is the difference between 1.25v and 1.30v. It's pretty damn huge.

    Woops! 0.005 I ment You are absolutely right 0.05 would be a hugh improvement indeed

    Note for overclockers:
    The latest CPU Microcode has helped me achieve the same O.C. with 0.05 less voltage in both cache and frequency on a 5960X.

    I just can't believe 0.05 is possible with a Microcode update with the 5960X. Perhaps he did some other setting differently.

    Like I have to disable Asus MultiCore Enhancement I order to run 4.4 for 24/7 or 4.6 for benches.
    If I follow the Asus guide (to the letter ) I would probably hit 4.2 24/7.
    Last edited by SB[NL]; 12-14-2015 at 05:44 PM.

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array gene-iv-ocz-revo3-240 PC Specs
    gene-iv-ocz-revo3-240 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Envy 17
    MotherboardROG Rampage V Edition 10 Bios 0801
    Processori7-5820k 4.3 OC adaptive 4.0 Cache
    Memory (part number)Ballistix 32GB kit (8GBx4) DDR4-2666 CT6311990 CL12-12-12 33 1T
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX970
    Monitor4 AOC 2367M 2 top 2 bottom
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB OS Drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110iGT
    CaseCorsair 750D Airflow Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i + Link commander mini
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
    Mouse ROG GX1000 Laser Gaming Mouse
    Headset Wired Beats Studio 2.0
    Mouse Pad ROG GM50 Gaming Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Cerwin Vega XD4's
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinux custom
    Accessory #1 6 Kingston SSDNow V300 SV300S37A/120G intel raid0
    Accessory #2 4 case Noctua NV-P14s redux-1500 PWM, 2 AIO PUSH
    Accessory #3 4 Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM AIO PUSH/PULL
    gene-iv-ocz-revo3-240's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    I didn't test much with the stock 1801 but I have done some testing with the modded version and it has a few features some may not have noticed. Windows10 now sees the raid array as an ssd and is able to do trim if you run the defrag on it.

    I was able to push my 5820k up to 4.5 at 1.296v and only 2 cores hit 70C with the CPU package at 59c pulling 180W which is quite oddly low.

    I will test with this a bunch more when I have time. I also noticed when left default the CPU throttles down to 1194MHz using <10W and at times 0.00v which is quite nice.

    While I do my tests I run all kinda junk like browsers and AI Suite, I've even run Aida64 and OCCT at the same time.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	oc-4500.JPG 
Views:	27 
Size:	274.6 KB 
ID:	54094
    Last edited by gene-iv-ocz-revo3-240; 12-15-2015 at 07:04 PM.

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array GoNz0- PC Specs
    GoNz0- PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 9530
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930
    Memory (part number)[Ripjaws 4] F4-2666C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    CPU CoolerEk Evo Supremacy
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEnermax 1250w revolution 85
    Keyboard Logitech 710+
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    Headset Sennheiser PC350
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68u

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    568

    What are the temps is FPU is the only selected test, to me this is the max you should ever reach so I benchmark with that.

    Also the trim thing, well I have had that with 1701 and tbh never paid it any attention but it must have come in with the 14 series raid oRoms.

    Handy feature to have isn't it, I have 2 raid0 arrays with SSD's that both trim, a valuable asset to keep high end machines running at peak performance.

    Would be nice for Asus to add this by default if it is the case that 13 series do not support raid trim?

    I did think it was more do do with intel RST being installed though?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •