cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommendations/Restrictions for M.2 SSD for ROG GL751JL

EntenEller
Level 7
Hi, friends. I'm a bit of a newbie on this level of tweaking, and after puzzling over many other sources of information, including Asus specs, I thought I'd turn to those I can really trust: you all who actually have a machine, and know what you are doing!

===My question: what M.2 SSDs will work with the ROG G951JL, and are there any special steps to get it to work?

I know that I can put in a SATA3 SSD (like Samsung 850 EVO), but would the M.2 version or mSata version fail, because the M.2 slot is PCIe? And if I can afford a PCIe SSD, would the 950 Pro work in this G751JL, or do I need to stick with the SM951 with ACHI (and what may or may not be the difference between those two, including performance)? I'm trying to learn, but I'm stretching here a bit out of my league, and don't want to make any dumb mistakes. 🙂

My apologies if this was already answered elsewhere... I couldn't find it in my searching, and thought I'd better be sure to ask since the GL752VW seems to only take the SM951 with ACHI listed (and not easily the 950 Pro). --Aeolisio, I'm already eyeing your 3D-printed bracket, in case I need it (thank you!), and Gps3dx, thank you for the UEFI installation thread (although I'll have to work through that once to make sure it all makes sense to me).

----
And, if any of you have the patience to help me with a related question... these machines are coming with Win10 Home. Since I have some legal licenses of Win7 Pro, I thought that I'd pull the new 1TB 5400 drive before even powering up, install the SSD, install Windows 7 Pro and activate it, upgrade to Win10 Pro and get that activation registered, then do a clean installation (UEFI of course) of Win 10 Pro, and when all seems well reinsert the original HDD in the second bay for storage, and format it.