Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    G751JL Memory Upgrade Question

    I am pretty new to this whole laptop thing having been a desktop guy for years. I recently thought I would upgrade the memory in this thing, so i purchased 2 8GB banks of Corsair Ram. Opened the back panel and installed one which worked then the other and nothing happened would not boot up. So then I removed the keyboard, removed the bank of Samsung RAM and installed both banks. Works great with the two on top of the motherboard. Now comes the issue. I purchased two more 8GB banks of corsair, tried to install them and anytime a third bank is in the machine it will not boot up, let alone with all 4 in the machine. I have used all four banks in the top slots and ran memtest, the banks all read good with the same specs.

    I am totally lost as to why it is doing this. What specs I can find say the board supports 32 not just 16.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,129

    It sounds like maybe the corsair ram may be 1.5 volts your notebook needs 1.35 only.
    Also to use all four slots you have to match up all 4 stick Same voltages and Timings
    This sticky thread at the top up there explains it all pretty well http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...(same-as-G750)
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Yes, I read the sticky which is why I bought four matching sticks. They are 1.35v. Wondered if it was something I was maybe missing. Not that I need 32 for any reason just OCD. There are four slots should be four sticks.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    612

    Quote Originally Posted by USMCSGT View Post
    Yes, I read the sticky which is why I bought four matching sticks. They are 1.35v. Wondered if it was something I was maybe missing. Not that I need 32 for any reason just OCD. There are four slots should be four sticks.
    If you read the sticky you would see multiple users saying corsair has problems with selling 1.5v memory and saying its 1.35v compatible not actually 1.35v and multiple people recommending gskill.
    3d printed parts and accessories for the G751. You know you want something better than OEM ->https://www.shapeways.com/shops/aeolisio

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    32GB of Gskill Ripjaw 2133 running flawlessly.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gskill.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	69.4 KB 
ID:	54468

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •